We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean Feeling!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coquina On The Beach
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caribbean Feeling!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful feeling like being back at my Island. Many palm trees everywhere, and shade! Some rooms are kept better than others. Pool or ocean view are better than garden view. Good for family vacations, but make sure you get groceries before checking in. No restaurants or convenience stores within walking distance.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ladyescorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    71
    39
    21
    11
See reviews for
111
80
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because we have a senior dog and did not want to put him in a kennel.it was outdated and kind of run down but it was clean.was quiet the first couple of nights so we were willing to overlook the rest.then godzilla and friends moved upstairs.this motel will put as many people in a room as they can.pool was nice but there were tons of kids.they really need another pool.most of the time it was way too crowded.this is right on beach which is a plus.we complained numerous times about upstairs neighbors.no results.this place is good for pets and kids.get upstairs room.we are so glad we didn't get room by pool.we left early will not come back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was in town on business and didn't make a reservation, as I was undecided of where to stay. After my appt, I went to Siesta Key. I enjoyed a great lunch, but found the hotels very expensive and not directly on the beach. I prefer a smaller, quiet hotel. We looked on tripadvisor and found this little place. I was a little apprehensive when I pulled in. I took a regular/standard room and after taking a walk around, decided on a pool side room. What a treat! It was older, but had tile, which I prefer on the beach and in a hotel. The beds were comfy and we were literally steps to the sand! I highly recommend this as a great little get away, on a budget. It had character and I was very comfortable staying here. If you are looking for a lot of fluff, don't stay here. If you are looking for a great value in a clean place, this is it! The little kitchenette would make it a great money saver also!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Love this place , very clean, very dog friendly, each room has kitchen , great pool right on the beautiful beach !!! Shelling is fab here!!
Stayed multiple times always relaxing and quiet!!!
Great shopping nearby. Walking distance to restaurants and bars right in the gulf!!!
It is not a loud party place which we love !!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Butterat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

It's a little tired but we had a great time. The location is great and parking is easy even if you can't get in the lot. It literally is on the beach. They even offered us a discounted rate for our extended stay. Towels provided for pool and beach. It's a great hidden gem if you don't mind it being a little dated.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Joebattipaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I had stayed there before, about 10 years ago. This was a last minute getaway in peak season and they had a room by the pool with a beach view for $269/night plus tax. It was clean but very dated. The bed was comfortable and the sleep sofa was fair. There was an odor to the fabric on the sofa. The first night there we saw a huge palmetto bug in the kitchen and could not catch him. So we put every speck of food in the refrigerator. The towels were thin but clean. The beach was great - never had to fight for a chair. They provided a beach towel per person. It is such a great location that I am surprised that they don't do some updating to make it more appealing and to control the bugs. I have been to Florida or the Islands for the past 10 years and this is the first bug I have seen in the hotel! The last night that we were there, there was a group partying around the grills. They were very loud and disruptive until 12:30 in the morning and we had to be up at 5:00 for a flight. Don't think I will return here!

Room Tip: Stay near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had just got off a wonderful and relaxing cruise, but wanted to experience that side of Florida. The weather was cool, but you could still walk on the beach so we wanted someplace that was on the beach that didn't cost a fortune. This is an older motel that has a fresh coat of paint on the rooms to create a more modern feel, but it didn't cut it. We had hope to spend a couple of nights, but the beds were so awful. They were lumpy and squeak with every move. It was so bad that we want to catch the next flight out and go home. When will hotels realize that if the place is clean (which this one was) and provided a great bed to sleep in that their success would be nonstop! You don't have to be the biggest or the fanciest. Just provide these things.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tredwards99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coquina On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coquina On The Beach

Property: Coquina On The Beach
Address: 1008 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2298
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coquina On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, old-Florida style beach hotel on Gulf of Mexico with studio and suite efficiencies. Nestled on beautiful Lido Key in Sarasota, FL, just minutes from renowned St. Armanda's Circle and Downtown Sarasota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Coquina On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coquina On The Beach Hotel Sarasota
Coquina On The Beach Sarasota, Florida
Coquina Beach Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing