We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have to go Sarasota/Lido Key this is the place to stay!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coquina On The Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coquina On The Beach
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you have to go Sarasota/Lido Key this is the place to stay!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2005

The Staff at the Coquina on the beach are the best!!! They always went out of thier way to help us. It is an older hotel that was built in the 50's. It has been taken care of very well. The showers are great!! altho it is so hot there you have no need for using the hot water.. You can take your pet no matter the size... I have a 115 lbs Rotty and they were so nice to her...
The hotel is in a great location on the beach but if you need a store it is a drive to Sarasota..

The reason for the heading of my review...

I will never visit this city again!!! It is way too hot that far south in Florida.. I am not too young but am in my 30's.. There is nothing to do for people my age... Everyone was old! The people in the business were all rude.

The beaches were not taken care of by the city and there were dead Horseshoe crabs everywhere.. The smell was very bad... the water was not like any of the pics I have seen...

So if you have to visit Sarasota or Lido Key.. I would highly recommend Coquina on the beach!!! It is not fancy but it is very clean!!!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnolaGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    70
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
107
76
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2005

YES, we live on Indian Rocks beach, so, when we want a close getaway! It does it every time. We can bring our dog, Tasha, she can't wait to go. The staff are warm, so is the weather. I'll be back on the, 6/20, for a little rewinding. Thank you Cyndi! Rose Longiaru.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Grove, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2004

just returned from a week at the Coquina on the Beach, located on Lido Key, just outside of Sarasota. After mixed reviews of this place, we were pleasantly surprised. We requested a room with a view of the beach and got a room in the "Beachview" building- not the closest building to the beach, but with a view from the balcony of the pool area, and beyond that, the beach. Very nice room- styled like a suite with a bedroom, and separate living room with sofa, chair 27" television(no VCR). It's really an effi ciency with a kitchen and nice eating area with table and 4 chairs. There is also a desk by the balcony door. Sliding door to the the nice sized balcony with chaise and two chairs. Bathroom was decent size with clean fixtures and very nice showerhead with plenty of pressure. Very bright sink and vanity area- no hair dryer- you might be able to get one from them- we brought our own.
Staff(Amy and Cindi) were excellent and provided everything we needed without a problem and cheerfully. Free coffee and the local newspaper every morning in the office.
Only problem- we were on the second floor of the building and there are no elevators. We had HEAVY luggage and noticed there was a ramp to the second floor used by the maids. Asked if the gates could be unlocked for our use to wheel our luggage upstairs. We were told that because of "insurance reasons" guests could not use the ramp. Very inconvenient, but we lived through it.
All in all, a great to stay in the Lido Beach area- convenient to St. Armand's Circle and 5 minutes from downtown Sarasota.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2004

Five beautiful days and four starry nights spent on Lido Key in Sarasota at the relaxing Coquina On The Beach. Coquina OTB is a cozy 35 unit two story hotel which is located as the name implies directly on beautiful Lido Key beach.

We stayed in one of six available "Beachview" suites for 3 nights. Our unit was one of three on the second floor but there are three on the ground floor as well.The accommodations included a separate bedroom(with king size bed), living room area with a small couch,two armchairs, TV,dining table with chairs, a fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony with lounge chair seating for four adults overlooking the pool.The bathroom was accessible directly from both the living room and the bedroom.The combination bath/shower had wonderful shower pressure with hot or cold water as desired.There was plenty of room provided for both personal hygiene items and for clothing.The suite was adequately furnished and was sparkling clean and would accommodate four adults easily.Maid service was available daily and the maid staff was pleasant and hard working.The air conditioning worked well and we actually had to shut it off on several occasions to warm the room up even though it was 95 degrees or hotter outside.The hotel pool was small but appeared clean and well maintained.

Our only complaints were that bed's mattress was a bit on the firm (hard) side and that our "beachview" suite which does indeed sit directly overlooking the beach has it's ocean view obstructed by palm trees leaves overhanging the balcony.What you truly have from these suites is a view of is the hotel's pool and palm trees.A completely unobstructed and beautiful view of the ocean is available from the balcony of most of the second floor "Poolside Bldg" rooms which have been angled to achieve the best ocean view available for each unit.This information regarding views was provided to me by the office staff when booking the room so there was no surprise when checking in.

The "Poolside Bldg" units (where we stayed on the fourth night) are smaller and less expensive than Beachview Bldg rooms but are still roomy and clean efficiency style accommodations with two queen/double sized beds.The second story rooms in the poolside building appear to be newer and in better condition than the garden view rooms with a better view of the ocean.However from the first floor poolside rooms you just step out your French doors and you are at the pool or on the sandy beach depending on which end of the building you are located.We did not stay in or visit anyone in the" Patio Building" where there did not appear to be a view of the ocean or the pool and the units overlook the parking area.

Regarding the pool I must mention that there are wonderful shade trees,lounge chairs and two hammocks available for relaxing in the shade or in the sun.Floaties are stocked poolside for children.Lounge chairs free to Coquina guests are available beach side as well as at the pool and there are rental cabanas if you would prefer those on the beach.There are two shaded tiki huts and two BBQ grills provided by the hotel.

The hotel is pet friendly. Bring your canine companion and you can both enjoy your accommodations and a stroll on the beach. Although county ordinance prohibits pets on the beach it appears that the ordinance may not be well enforced in this location. We frequently viewed pets on leash being walked on the beach as well as about the grounds and at the pool(NOT IN IT). The hotel office provides poop bags to guests upon request per the office staff.

The office staff was unfailingly pleasant,polite, patient and informative from point of contact (initial lengthy phone call inquiry) until check out.Do note that if you want to use one of the Coquina's internet advertised rate reductions listed on their site you must request the availability of the special prior to your arrival.

I would especially recommend this hotel to friends with children and pets. Because the pool was often crowded with children, pool floaties and their parents and because the children were often loud while playing games (Marco!Polo!Marco! Polo!) which lasted well into the evening(no pool hours?) it may be distracting or irritating to some individuals. You know who you are. You may want to consider other accommodations if you are single or a couple looking for a quiet retreat or wanting to meet other adults without children (or pets...) along for the vacation.Children and pets do not normally pose any problem for us when vacationing so we will return again to Coquina On The Beach when ready to visit the Sarasota area.

I would also like to add that we considered the new tower of the Radisson on Lido Key (we actually had reservations that we cancelled to stay at the Coquina). For fifty to one hundred dollars more a night we could have had an efficiency style room(a Jr. Suite) in the Radisson Tower which would have been much smaller than our suite at the Coquina and also had the opportunity to wait on the elevators servicing 10 floors followed by a nice long hike to the beach. What's your style?
Enjoy your stay at the Coquina! We did.

Helpful?
33 Thank videoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2004

A very friendly, competent staff. The beach is at your door. The accomodations were roomy and well kept. What more could you ask for a short getaway?

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2004

We just returned from a 5 night stay and we absolutely loved it!! It is very clean and the service is superb. The beds were so comfortable we slept late 2 mornings which is unheard of for us on vacation. The beach is great and the sunsets are beautiful. This is a small resort so no matter where your room is you're just a few steps away from the sand and a comfy lounge chair.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank sjl330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2004

The marquee reads “Paradise Found”…… and the Coquina on the Beach lives up it. This hotel is absolutely the best vacation getaway that can be found in Florida! From the front desk to the daily maid service, the people are no less than the friendliest, courteous, and helpful than you’ll find anywhere. The rooms were outstanding and very clean. The hotel is located on Lido beach, of which, is one of the most beautiful beaches in Fla. You will not go wrong staying here for a short or long getaway vacation.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coquina On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coquina On The Beach

Property: Coquina On The Beach
Address: 1008 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2298
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coquina On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, old-Florida style beach hotel on Gulf of Mexico with studio and suite efficiencies. Nestled on beautiful Lido Key in Sarasota, FL, just minutes from renowned St. Armanda's Circle and Downtown Sarasota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Coquina On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coquina On The Beach Hotel Sarasota
Coquina On The Beach Sarasota, Florida
Coquina Beach Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing