We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ice Cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orange Octopus

The Orange Octopus
Ranked #2 of 42 Dessert in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This old fashioned, family owned coffee and ice cream shop is located in Captain Curt's Village a few hundred yards south of the Stickney point (south bridge). It is beside the bike and kayak rental shop. They are super friendly and have a gourmet coffee bar, 24 flavors of hand churned, homemade ice cream. It is my favorite local coffee shop! I've never left disappointed.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great place to go for ice cream on Siesta Key! I had the Butter Pecan and my wife had the Salted Carmel Ice Cream. Every time we come down to Siesta Key we always have to stop in (at least once).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    32
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely home made ice cream (if not they fooled me) the sponge Bob cookie dough and butter pecan is amazing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orangeelement04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great place - many many flavors - they make homemade waffles cones right there - ice cream very creamy and lots of flavors - there is an area for many tables and chairs if you wish to escape the heat and eat inside. HUGE scoops!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandybeach777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Like many other things in this great country, American ice cream is a bit over the top, packed with all sorts of flavors, nuts, fudges, ... and far from the much more simple Italian gelato, but if you like that (too) the one served at The Orange Octopus is fabulous. We have tried a few of the other ice cream places in the area (Sarasota & Siesta Key) and The orange octopus is the winner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,601 reviews
1,435 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,680 helpful votes
“We all scream for ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

There are plenty of good ice cream parlors in the Sarasota area to help residents and tourists get relief from the 90-degree heat in June and July. Kilwin's and Big Olaf's are two of the best and most successful. But don't forget the Orange Octopus, which has been doing business under one owner or another and one name or another for several years on Old Stickney Point Road on Siesta Key. Located in a strip mall that is fronted by Captain Curt's Oyster Bar, the Orange Octopus has gone through a few renovations. But some things never change. The new owners feature the same great ice cream with about 20 flavors. I can't resist filling a quart container with two scoops each of butter pecan, orange-pineapple and butterscotch. But another big seller is smoothies. My wife loves the raspberry and mango flavors. I enjoy raspberry and strawberry. I also highly endorse the orange julius, a couple of scoops of vanilla ice cream with fresh squeezed orange juice poured over it. There is ample room to sit down and enjoy your ice cream or shake or float or smoothie in an air-conditioned room. During our 30-day stay at Siesta Dunes, only a short walk from the Orange Octopus, we made the trip at least a half-dozen times. And we usually took some ice cream or a smoothie home with us. The trick is to go there before or after the beach crowd invades. The beach is just across nearby Midnight Pass Road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orange Octopus also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Orange Octopus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing