We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God awful”
Review of Don Pablo's - CLOSED

Don Pablo's
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“God awful”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Don't ever stay at a restaurant where there's only a few people there at 9 at night. Beef taco no seasoning, pork taco just gross. Chipolte and taco better taste better. Don't waste your time or money. Poor waitresses need to find another place to work. It won't last a second time.

Helpful?
2 Thank totterd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    16
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little bit of Tex-Mex”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Since moving to Sarasota the family has been trying to find a Mexican food restaurant that reminds us of the food we would get in San Antonio at Mi Tierra or at least a good El Fenix in Dallas. There are quite a few Mexican food restaurants (and we plan to try them all) but many have a South American or Cuban influence. Having traveled to Guatemala and the Dominican I recognize the errant black bean in my burrito!

Tex-Mex is all about the frijoles! Re-fried pintos!

So on to Don Pablo's. First, vey nice decor, family friendly. Dress up, dress down, bring a one year old..it all goes here. Second, the wait staff and hostess were all very friendly, very accommodating (yes, we were the one with the handsome 1 year old boy) and very efficient.

We bypassed the alcoholic drinks but they have the full complement and the ones that I saw looked very good.

I order the Tejas plate: beef enchilada, chicken enchilada, crispy beef taco with refrieds and rice. Son-in-law went for the Chicken enchilada and daughter had the taquitos. But first, a round of dips: guacamole, queso, queso blanco and refrieds. All were delicious but the refrieds..a little bland.

Meal arrives and I am completely satisfied. The chicken enchilada was the best of the two and the taco was big. Son-in-law was dismayed by the amount of sour cream on his chicken enchiladas so you might want to ask for any topping on the side unless you really love it!

Daughter said the taquitos were a winner and would order again.

All in all a great meal, good prices and we would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oilmaven51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
194 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A very good dinner experience”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Ate here with my family on a Tuesday night. Restaurant was slow with many open tables. We were given an option of a booth or a table and quickly seated with menus. Our server, Al, was immediately at our table asking about a drink order. We had the special margarita with fresh lime juice and it was delicious. Chips and salsa we're brought with the drinks. Salsa was classic chunky style Don Pablo's fare. Wish the Chips had been hot.

We ordered grilled fish tacos (delicious), mushroom and cheese quesadillas (very good- entree size visa huge portion, and a veggie bowl with portabella mushrooms (special order change that was very tasty). We enjoyed the food, had good service and would return.

Helpful?
Thank FloridawithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average at best.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I know this is a chain restaurant so one takes ones chances. We ate here last year after it had re-opened (3/13) and it was really good. Great service, fresh, hot food. Good cocktails. This trip, not so much. Chicken fajitas delivered to table warm at best, (you order the fajitas to hear the sizzle and get the aroma) greasy chips (even on the second try) and cold rice and beans. Flour tortillas seemed to be in limited supply. All on a Tuesday night when things weren't that busy. I really like Don Pablo's but I'll be surprised if this one is still open next March when I return to Sarasota.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moviecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Fun Time with Good Food”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We had fun participating in the trivia contest and enjoyed a great meal once again. Taco salad was excellent .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Pablo's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing