We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent neighborhood restaurant”

Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 1,046 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Don't miss this great new restaurant!
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been to Carmel numerous times and have always come away satisfied. The specialty is a modern take on Middle Eastern food and there is a variety of dishes on offer. The fixed price menus available on Sunday and Monday evenings are an especially good deal. Service is generally good with only an occasional lapse. Don't let the location in a modern strip mall put you off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    98
    28
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
staffs, u.k.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about the beer.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Good, upmarket food and plenty of wines to choose from. Despite menu, which we consulted online before coming, saying ask your server about draft beers they only serve bottles.
How about it Carmel Cafe? If I want a craft bottled beer I can get one at the supermarket for 1/6 the price. Eating out let's you sample different drafts and every other place we ate at had at least 5 on tap.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank veggie-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great spot for brunch”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had brunch here. It was really quiet and not alot of people. Ordering off the ipads was kind of cool. I had crab benedict, very delicious. Items on menu looked unique. Price was a little high but I enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eihpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good Again”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Dined here for the second year in a row attending a rowing event in Sarasota. Atmosphere, wine,and service were excellent. Food very good. I love ordering with the iPad, it is cool and efficient. The chick pea fries, with two different sauces, are innovative and extremely tasty. The beet salad was fine but not great. The short rib flat bread was good, but could have used more arugula. The Temperanillo was outstanding and I love that you can choose a 3, 6, or 9 ounce pour. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradNelsonJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great reunion”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I met some of my elementary school friends what a great place to have a few bottles of wine. Food and reminisce about our young days

Helpful?
2 Thank Irish56_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing