We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Baked Goods” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jim's Small Batch Bakery

Jim's Small Batch Bakery
Ranked #2 of 25 Bakeries in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Soups, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small batches, real ingredients, and a deft hand... no proof & bake croissants, no muffin mixes, no Sysco cookie dough and no fake whipped cream. It's all from scratch and it's all made on premise. From authentic all-butter hand laminated croissants and perfect carrot cake, to fresh fruit sorbets and candied bacon BLTs on true artisanal bread, the variety, freshness and execution may surprise you at this humble little place.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Baked Goods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I went in to see what this small bakery was like. I was amazed at the variety and how good everything looked. It was so hard to decide what to get. I purchased five different goodies and they were all out of this world. I can only go on Saturdays because of their hours,but it is always worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pilllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    25
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
401 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“So many choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Although the shop is small, they have a large assortment of pastries and breads. It was hard to choose because everything looked so good. I selected a variety and was pleased with my choices. The owner was friendly and helpful when I explained that my husband had food allergies.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Batmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
307 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fabulous bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Had lunch here today. Soup and chicken salad were very good, but the bread was out of this world. Have had nothing to match it in Sarasota. The display case was full of the most beautiful pastries I've seen outside of Paris. Couldn't help myself. Had to have the cheese Danish. Note that this is not a restaurant. Seating is very limited, so best to take out or come at off hours.

Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This Bakery is Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is the best bakery ever. The bagels, croissants and breakfast items are to die for. We love the melt- in- your- mouth chocolate croissants and tart, crumbly cranberry muffins. The fresh baked bread is really fantastic. and best of all is the candied bacon BLT. You cant believe this till you try it, it is awesome. A whole different take on the BLT, and it is fantastic. Oh the candied bacon croissants are pretty awesome too (really, what isnt better with bacon? Candied sweet, salty, spicy bacon? To die for) Jims stays open sometimes late on weekend for dessert. Try this place you wont believe it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Carrot Cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Jim's was discovered late one night when Googling "best carrot cake in Sarasota". I was thrilled when I called the next morning and found out that they could make one that day for our 10th wedding anniversary. Carrot cake was our wedding cake and Jim's was out of this world! No doubt about it-it has got to be the best in town! Thanks Jim!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim's Small Batch Bakery also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Jim's Small Batch Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing