We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Simplest Review Ever”

Jim's Small Batch Bakery
Ranked #2 of 25 Bakeries in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small batches, real ingredients, and a deft hand... no proof & bake croissants, no muffin mixes, no Sysco cookie dough and no fake whipped cream. It's all from scratch and it's all made on premise. From authentic all-butter hand laminated croissants and perfect carrot cake, to fresh fruit sorbets and candied bacon BLTs on true artisanal bread, the variety, freshness and execution may surprise you at this humble little place.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The Simplest Review Ever”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Folks, here's the skinny - Walk, Drive, Fly…skip, hop, and jump if necessary, but the bottom line is GO TO JIM'S SMALL BATCH BAKERY. Everything - and I mean EVERYTHING - is delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janconover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    25
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went there to get his top rated deli sandwich.
We were too late for that,
but we bought some pastries to go.- They were great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurelandbetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummmmm!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Took my picky teenage son for the candied bacon BLTs, two sandwiches on two different and equally delicious breads. He even ate the tomato in it. With Derby pie suggested for dessert, everything was good and we will both be happy to go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Today I told Jim I loved him... the croissants made me do it”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Jim is the owner and baker and his food is superb. I live on Longboat Key (a it of a distance) and stop at the bakery as often as I can. I've spent a few moments watching him make the croissants, all by hand, rolling and folding and rolling the dough. It's an art as much as it is a skill and he's an expert. The croissants are flaky and buttery and Paris-perfect. No machine-pressed pie crusts here - he rolls out the crusts and forms the edges by hand. The bread is as bread should be: crusty on the outside and chewy on the inside. Great "as is" or toasted with jam and butter. The employees are very enthusiastic about the quality of the food. So grateful to have this in Sarasota and wish it were closer to me!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So so good”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Liked everything I tried. Wish my stomach was bigger because I wanted to try everything. The young lady at the counter was great... She is a great salesperson!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gransm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim's Small Batch Bakery also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Jim's Small Batch Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing