We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Sarasota”
Review of Kazu's 2.0

Kazu's 2.0
Ranked #330 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Bar
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best in Sarasota”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I don't need to go into too much detail. Simply put....fresh food, knowledgeable friendly staff and good prices. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Man, I love this place”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I didn't even like miso soup until I tried it here, and now I order it every time. Of course I have some of my favorite generic rolls that I would get anywhere, but anytime I try a new one here I absolutely love it, and it has become hard to order just a couple rolls instead of the whole menu. The staff is awesome and totally sweet; they all look happy and relaxed in their environment. I loved this place on Siesta Dr, and I love it even more in gulfgate; it is completely and extremely worth the longer drive. Absolutely love this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hodeybodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is Outstanding...”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The sushi is outstanding which is why we have gone back for a few meals. The service is lacking... don't expect to get in and out quickly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank McCoySRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARASOTA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tastey Small Plates and Great Beer”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I love the kind of place where you can enjoy a variety of small dished and a variety of beer. Kazus 2.0 hits that mark very nicely. The prices are reasonable adn the qualtiy very good. Great place to stop in with a small group and grab some bites and a couple of beers. We ordered a large variety of things and shared. There is something for everyone een if you are not a Sushi lover. We need more places like this in Sarasota!

P.S. They also have a late night happy hour where draft craft beers are just $3!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMES K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kazu 2.0 - A Great Place For Sushi”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I ate at Kazu 2.0 for the first time last week (May 25,2013) and I'm extremely happy that I tried it.

The location is in the Gulf Gate area in Sarasota and the inside is relatively small but putting that aside it's a fun place to grab some amazing fresh sushi without spending a small fortune. My experience was really good minus the sushi taking kinda long to make because of everyone in the restaurant placing large sushi orders. This wasn't a major problem for our table or the majority of everyone in the restaurant since we were helping ourselves to some good beer and sake but to my surprise the servers handed out free appetizers to the entire restaurant (even to people that already got their sushi) to apologize for the delay (**note that we got the free app and then about 5 mins later we got our order - total wait time was about 20-25mins, not terrible for good sushi in my opinion).

So here's the break down:

Pros:
+ fresh and great tasting sushi
+ inexpensive prices for sushi rolls and drinks
+ fun, relaxed atmosphere (set up is more of a bar setting instead of standard restaurant)
+ friendly staff
+ good selection of beer and saki

Cons:
- small dinning area and limited seats available
- restaurant can get a little noisy and not very personal / romantic seating available
- only wine, beer, and sake - no liquor available (personally not a problem for me)

Overall:
I personally love this place. If you're looking for a very romantic sushi place to bring a date, this might not be the right place for you - depending on your or your date's personality. Also if you only drink liquor and/or don't like a relaxed "bar" atmosphere and you're looking for a more upscale experience then you might not like it here either. BUT, if you're looking for a fun and inexpensive place to eat good food and have some great beers or sake then you NEED to try out Kazu 2.0 if you haven't already.

I will definitely back again!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kazu's 2.0 also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kazu's 2.0? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing