We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor alligators!”

Smugglers Cove Adventure Golf
Ranked #6 of 29 Fun & Games in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An 18-hole Adventure style miniature golf course with a live educational alligator exhibit. Open 365 days a year. Explore 18-holes of mini golf while winding through a tropical setting with waterfalls, caves, and 25 real American Alligators! You can even purchase food to feed the alligators with an old style bamboo cane fishing pole
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor alligators!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We made the mistake of going when it was hot and the middle of the day, the sun was literally making us sick. There were only 2 caves to seek shelter. As we got to hole 9 or so we saw a little tank with this poor alligator inside. Basically just in water. I stared at the alligator, almost into his soul and started to cry. It made my entire family sad to see an innocent creature in such a small habitat. 1 of 30 in the world. I understand some animals are born into captivity but to keep it in a tiny tank with nothing not even a rock is pathetic. It was very off putting and a distasteful tourist attraction!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Stiggetystanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great family outing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you're looking for a clean fun mini golf place then this is it. Added bonus for everyone is the alligators that you can feed. We play a lot of mini golf during the summer months and I would have to rank this place in the top 3 places!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Under Renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went to the smuggler's cove golf course for some putt putt and alligator feeding after our dinner. We had to pay full price, which was very expensive to golf; then discovered some of the course was under construction and we had to skip those holes. We didn't get to enjoy all the caves, as we were directed around them through the parking lot. There were a few fun perks though. They had a pirate ship as part of one hole. The kids also enjoyed feeding the alligators with fishing poles, and the alligators were very active. One thing to note, however, if you have small children is that no strollers are allowed on the course. Unfortunately, I had to carry or chase my little one around the course due to this policy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Expensive !! WOW !!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We took the kids and sis-in-law for some mini golf. Either prices have changed a LOT since I last played a few years ago or this place gouges tourists.. $80 for 3 adults and 3 kids !!!! That's $13 each !!! For mini golf !!!! It was a nicer course for sure but for $13 each I would expect a cart and caddy !!! Maybe it's just me but I can find better value than paying $80 for an hour. We won't go back...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HipD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool place to take the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice mini golf place! Staff was very attentive. The hole's designs were very cool. Definitely would not recommend for a summer thing to do because of the heat! Nice mini store where you can get refreshments. If you happened to be in the military they honor military discount at 35%off! You can also feed the gator on site! Very clean and well maintained area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jwcancel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smugglers Cove Adventure Golf also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Smugglers Cove Adventure Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing