We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful crab cakes”

Barnacle Bill's Seafood
Ranked #230 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful crab cakes”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you like crab cakes you need to go here. They were amazing! Service was good. You should definitely put this down as a place you need to visit while you are there!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    211
    112
    40
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I need to confess that I like my fish sandwiches a certain way and if they are not that way I don't care for them.

The atmosphere is fairly casual and well lit. The tables and booths are well spaced.
We hush puppies as an appetizer and they were VERY good. In my opinion the best part of the meal. They also brought out complimentary bread which was nice and warm.
I had the cod sandwich with cheese with fries. The sandwich lacked flavor and was disappointing. I had my wife try to get a second opinion and she thought it was bland as well. she had a crab cake sandwich which she said was very good. The kids had shrimp and chicken and both we're satisfied with their meals. The rating is based on their happiness with their meals. For me it was three stars but like I said I am hard to please when it comes to seafood

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
320 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood and friendly waitstaff”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The main reason we chose this restaurant was the location, a few minutes from our hotel (Courtyard by Marriott), but we returned because of the variety of items on the menu and the fresh fish selections. We enjoyed fresh salmon, cod, mussels, and other dishes. We dined there three times that week. If you're not into seafood, they offer steak, chicken and other dishes. Good size portions, nice wine and beer selections. Full bar. Knowledgeable waitstaff. It was a bit pricey, but not unreasonable for the quality. Nice casual atmosphere. Can accommodate larger parties, families.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We purchased shrimp and red fish, they were all very fresh. The seafood stand had many types of fish and other seafood available. It was a bit pricy, but it was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hallfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed... Expensive but NOT good...”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel so we gave it a try. The service was very good but the food was average at best... The mussels appetizer was probably the best part of the meal. They did a nice job with presentation of the entrée but didn't like the fish or mashed potatoes and for the price we paid, it should have been excellent! Overall, disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RelocatefromRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnacle Bill's Seafood also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Barnacle Bill's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing