We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable Excellence”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 1,045 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stickney Point Road
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Dependable Excellence”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Took a chance and went there for a Mother's Day celebration. Of course, the place was mobbed, and we thought that the servers would be a little swamped. However, we had the same usual excellent service with all courses presented just as ordered (the steaks were superb). We also had a very elderly guest with us who presented some challenges for the wait staff. Nevertheless, they responded beautifully. I did something different for my appetizer and tried the "crabtini." Good choice - a large martini glass filled with large shrimp in a roulade sauce - delicious starter. I also asked for a "baseball cut" filet because I like it rare with a char on the outside. Presto - just as I requested. I am not a big dessert guy, but we had several in our party who are and they were all very satisfied. Now, this is a premiere steakhouse and it is not an inexpensive night out. However, all things considered (steaks, sides, wine, desserts) and great service, I think there is good value here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    44
    44
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Osprey, FL
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mother's Day Dinner”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Ruths' is always the best to celebrate an occasion. Not only was it Mother's Day but we were celebrating our daughter's college graduation. The reservation number increased almost last minute and David, the GM, was most accommodating. Great round table in the corner allowed us conversation. Plus it was decorated with graduation confetti.
The Chop salad was excellent, sides hot and steaks prepared to perfection. Our server brought out the graduation cake, we dropped off earlier, at the right time to surprise the graduate.
Only slight negative is we didn't receive our complimentary roses when our check was paid and we were leaving.
There is NO other restaurant in Sarasota that equals the level of service and food quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SRQtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Happ[y Hour in Sarasota”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great Happy Hour selection Crab Sandwich with Zuchini fries are delicious.Steak salad and Filet Sandwich are very good. All plates are the size of a good lunch for 7 bucks. Couple that with some descent wines for 7 bucks and hyou have got a great value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have dined at this Sarasota location innumerable time and the steak is phenominally delicious. It is tender, abundantly flavorful and expertly prepared. In our opinions it is the best steak place in all of sothwest Florida.

The service is both attemntive and professional, accompanied by a nice ambience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonySansone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“God, I love Ruth Chris”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was raised in New Orleans (Metairie, to be exact) where the ruth chris classy enterprise first began
- the 'powers-to-be' can be very pleased with this restaurant just south of Sarasota:
--nice atmosphere, as to be expected
--timely and knowledgeable attention by servers and (repeat And) supervisors
--best medium-rare rib eye and filet mignon - anyplace !!! (not at Morton`s , not smith and wolinsky (sp?, etc,)
--and wifie says their Chopped Salad' is her favorite anywhere - I agree

this is not a 'western sizzler' dining establishment - it costs more - but,, my friends --"you get what you pay for !" --- we go south to longboat key every winter - no way would wifie and I miss this restaurant

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jettie925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing