We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time, awful food.”
Review of Mrs Chen's Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Mrs Chen's Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Sarasota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Waste of time, awful food.”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Lunch at Mrs. Chens, todays lunch was yesterday leftover dinner. Everything was dry and tastless, poor quality, poor taste, poor presentation. This place is just aging in place and needs to be either torn down or redone, call Gordon quickly.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank richannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    36
    7
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is a very inferior chinese buffet. The food sn't very tasty. Some common items like egg roll are not even recognizable as such. Crab ragoon was incorrectly prepared. How this ever got rated first is unbelievable. Staff and atmosphere, price are nice but we expected a delicious food experience and were sorryly disappointed. We'll never return. jlo

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Joann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would not go back.”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

After hearing from serveral people that they have good food and reading reviews, I decided to try it. From my experience, I would say, you get what you pay for! Yes, the food is cheap and the taste of it certainly relects the price. Pot stickers were hard, the food was bland & somewhat dry, and the fruit was not ripe.

I would not go back again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Quality & Value”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great value, choice and quality. The staff are really nice, too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fitznoogly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I keep coming back for more!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The food is delicious. If it seems cold/dry, they are usually on their way with a new tray. My favorite is the honey chicken. I've ordered it in other places, but it's never the same. The owners are usually there and very friendly. Waiters are on the ball. When I asked my mother to pass the tea, the waiter came and poured it for me! Awesome. It's also a great value. I wish they would move to a new location as it seems a little dirty. I'm sure they could afford it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AutumnLeaves18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mrs Chen's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing