We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast and lunch--bad iced coffee”

First Watch Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 1,045 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great breakfast and lunch--bad iced coffee”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We often frequent first watch for great breakfasts with wonderful pots of good steaming hot coffee that we can pour several cups to enjoy.
Last week we decided to come for lunch. I had a wonderful omelet and my husband had the soup and salad which were good too.
But he made the mistake of getting the iced coffee which was new on the menu. We didn't know it was way over sweetened and had perhaps almond or hazelnut or something he hates in it.
Why can't they serve plain iced coffee that you put your own mild and sugar into a glass with ice and just coffee?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kippi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
kippi10 - Thank you for all of your visits! We are very happy you always have a delicious breakfast or lunch when you are with us. We will pass along your comments and suggestions about our iced coffee as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    91
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
3,309 reviews
1,901 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,133 helpful votes
“Another great place for breakfast”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Bill Carter, the owner of the condominium we rent in Sarasota, keeps us apprised of good places to eat and makes frequent recommendations before each of our visits. A breakfast person, he tipped us off to Millie's a few years ago. This year, he tipped us off to First Watch, which has two locations in the Sarasota area, one conveniently located downtown. But he recommended the First Watch located in the first strip mall south of the large Sarasota Square mall on Tamiami Trail. It is large and located on a lake. And it has a very interesting menu, not the usual breakfast fare, but very satisfying. My wife chose the Belgian waffle. I passed up the Eggs Benedict to try the hash. It wasn't the traditional and conventional corned beef hash. It was a hash of potatoes and onions and lots of tasty ingredients that I had ever seen put together before. I couldn't get enough of it. I'm not a coffee drinker but my wife said her cup was as good as she has ever had. Me? The fresh-squeezed orange juice was excellent. If you don't get fresh-squeezed orange juice in Florida--on our trip, I was given a concentrate at the Florida Welcome Center of all places--why would you go to that restaurant?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Taylor B - We're so happy Mr. Carter sent you our way! We are thrilled your breakfast experience lived up to the high expectations he set. We hope to see you back for another delicious and filling meal soon!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecksville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty and consistent with the chain! Great experience!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good service and quality food that measures up to the one in my local area. When in Sarasota for pleasure, we were looking for a quick omelet from a reliable breakfast spot. My aunt was looking for the Cracker Barrel and I’m thinking…oh GOD..help please!!! Luckily, there was a First Watch down near our hotel. I guaranteed her she’d like the food- and she was not disappointed! At home in Ohio, it is a great stand by when one is not interested in cooking breakfast..but in need of an egg white omelet to perfection, and this location provided identically tasty food and excellent service. There are lots of healthy choices, indulgent selections which include made to order waffles and pancakes and fresh fruit as a choice with any meal. Pleased as always, I was happy to add this dining selection to my aunt’s dining portfolio.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mimi823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Mimi823 - Thank you for coming in on your travels and for introducing your aunt to First Watch! Regardless of the city, we are thrilled you can always count on us for great service and a delicious breakfast. See you again soon!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nice clean restaurant in superb location.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I had a breakfast plate called the market hash, portions were just right, and the coffee was great. We were here on a Sunday morning, off season and seated right away. Lot of choices for breakfast here to satisfy any appetite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James99946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
James99946 - Thank you for starting your Sunday with us! We are very happy you had a satisfying breakfast and we hope to see you again soon.

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee with flavored cream! 3.5 rating”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The coffee was wonderful! We did have to ask the waitress 3 times for another cup...
I ordered the Greek Fetish Omelet with Spinach, Feta Cheese, Onions, Tomatoes and Black Olives. There were about 2 pieces of Spinach in mine when I opened it up. The potatoes were not fully cooked, but edible. I tasted my husband's fruit and that was very good. Mine also came with an English Muffin.
I did use the Ladies room and the one regular stall was occupied so I did use the Handicapped stall. The paper towels were across the stall from the sink-it was a larger area. I am all about making things easier for any handicapped person. If I was in a wheelchair with wet hands scooting across the room in a wheelchair to dry my hands... I would recommend changing that.
There was coffee grounds available for purchase, but none available with just coffee beans. It really was good and we would have bought some coffee beans.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Lucky0420 - Thank you for your visit! We appreciate your feedback and will share your suggestions about our bathrooms and coffee with the team. We do hope you continue to dine with us in the future.

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Watch Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to First Watch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing