We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only pizza we eat in Sarasota”
Review of Pontillo's Pizzeria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pontillo's Pizzeria
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The only pizza we eat in Sarasota”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We eat pizza almost every Thursday night from Pontillo's. In all these years, our order has never been wrong. They use really good cheese and sausage (never greasy) and the Tomato Florentine (my hubby calls it the "girly pizza') is soooo good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kbofsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT takeout!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We love this place... good food... good prices.
Don't have delivery which is a bummer... but.. it is WORTH the trip!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in Sarasota”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We've had many pizzas from Pontillo's and all were flawless. We have searched and tasted many, many pizza joints in this area and Pontillo's comes out on top. They have many locations in New York and New Jersey where pizza is king.
Our favorite is the 18" chicken florentine, a white pizza with breaded chicken, ricotta cheese and spinach. It's a nice thin crust pizza made with fresh hand-tossed dough. This will EASILY make two meals for $23.50. The 18" cheese pizza is $17.50.
I urge you to try Pontillo's and compare it to your current favorite pizza!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richie66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome pizza”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

the spices on the crust "makes" it! Best to eat in, when it's fresh

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DJCat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pontillo's Pizzeria also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing