We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family Brats!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geier's Sausage Kitchen

Geier's Sausage Kitchen
Ranked #173 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: German, European, American, Delicatessen, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly family Brats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for the Saturday afternoon Brat grill. Veal sausages and Brats grilled outdoors in front of retail store served in large bun with sauerkraut and German mustard. Delicious! And at $2.50 and $3.00 a great deal. Plus the sisters at the grill were providing a complimentary German beer tasting. It's like you died and went to German Heaven! Will be back for the retail store and more grill.

Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A staple of every trip to Sarasota”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Each trip south I make sure to stop and stock up on German Potato salad and a selection of other German sausagesm, beer and treats. This time our timing was perfect for a stop at lunch time. On the Grill outside were a variety of german sausages and fresh rolls. A $3 lunch of bratwurst with kraut on a fantastic fresh roll topped of a nice visit. Ther have a smaller shop on Rt 41 in Venice also.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgbdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good selection of German Foods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have had the sausages from Geier's at a restaurant in Tampa, so we decided to make he trip down to Sarasota and stock up on our favorite meats. We were not disappointed! What a selection of meats and dry goods. We will be back for their cookout and to do a little more shopping!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mimi48Minneapolis_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
193 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sausages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stopped in looking for fresh polish kielbasa and perhaps a bratwurst or two. The deli cases were filled with homemade sausages like brats, bockwurst, head cheese, tongue, blutwurst, krakowska and so many others that we knew and loved from our grandparents kitchens. They also have a great selection of smoked hams, salamis and other lunch meats and so many other items. Since we were traveling and have limited freezer space we bought the coarse bratwurst, and fresh polish kielbasa. The brats were great, very traditional and spiced correct. Delicious! We waited until Easter to cook the fresh kielbasa and when we did found that it was a very well prepared polish sausage, perfect garlic and salt and pepper. We have made our own fresh kielbasa and have also bought them from many Old World deli’s and can say that Geiers is one of the best sausage makers we’ve found!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2RVers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAYETTEVILLE
Level Contributor
144 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unbeatable, master sausage maker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Based on a friend's advice, we drove from Fort Myers to Sarasota to try Geier's. Easter bock wurst is truly to die for. My wife and I agreed that the meats and deli products were competitively priced compared to grocery stores. Sausages, liver wurst, potato salad and sauerkraut all beyond first rate- truly unbelievable! Worth the drive from anywhere in SW Florida. We will drive up a few times a month. They gave us ice (no charge) but bring a large cooler to stock up.

Helpful?
1 Thank dmeische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geier's Sausage Kitchen also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Geier's Sausage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing