We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, fresh food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grasshopper Restaurant & Lounge

The Grasshopper Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #188 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Grasshopper Lounge opened it's doors in 1971 by owners Jesse and Cleo Rosales in Downtown Adrian, Michigan. There my family acquired the other half of the structure and "El Chapulin the Tex Mex Restaurant" was launched. Still in business and operated by our entire family, we have since opened a second location in Wauseon, Ohio and our third in Sarasota, Florida. Grandma's secret: prepare everything in small batches, so we never jeopardize the art form of our food.
FL
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good, fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family enjoyed our dinner here. Nice, mexican atmosphere! The server promptly brought chips and salsa. The only low point was the margarita....I ordered a regular, on the rocks. The glass arrived filled to the brim with ice, and the drink was super weak. Probably the worst margarita I've had in years. If I go again, I guess I'll stick to Corona. The rest of the meal was delicious. I had the shrimp tacos, and they were super tasty. The rest of the family had burritos and quesadillas....very good. The Grasshopper serves better rice than most Mexican places, but the beans are nothing special. Overall, a very good meal at a good price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunAndShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    55
    37
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
arverne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly happy with the choice we made to eat here tonite. Unsure of what to pick I choose the a chalupa a fish taco and a shrimp taco.Everything was fresh and delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank brusa419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visitedwhile car was being serviced at Wilde Honda (2 doors south... E side of US41/Tamiami Trail).
About 3pm so not busy; had lunch people... staff was great... food was great... (got the pequeno plate with sautéed pork... comes with beans/rice/flour tortillas... YUMMY!)
Will be back. Apparently they have Margarita Monday and Happy Hour (dubbed "Fiesta Hour," of course!) everyday 4-7pm.
iOle!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eighty Four, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Grasshopper service, food and beer selection are great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have visited the Grasshopper-El Chapulin several times and each visit has been a great one. The Tex-Mex food is great and reasonably priced. The beer selection is very good and the service at the bar from Bianca is fantastic!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Sarasota”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything was great besides the free salsa and chips they brought upon first arriving. The salsa was too watery and the mild was very bland. However, every other item couldn't have been better. We happened to go on a Monday and the 3$ margaritas on Mondays were great. I only tried the original I can't comment on the 4 other flavors (maui, strawberry, peach, and raspberry). I had three enchiladas all ground beef topped with their meat sauce and they were done perfectly. The meat sauce was top notch and full of flavor, I normally don't like corn tortillas at all, but our server recommended them saying they were different than typical corn tortillas here and he was right! Very good. The rice and beans were also great. They were the best refried beans I've ever eaten. My fiance had the combination platter with pork and loved it. I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AcaciaM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grasshopper Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Grasshopper Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing