We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cheeseste”

Gentile Bros Authentic Cheesesteaks
Ranked #45 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cheeseste”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon this place after seeing a menu. We lived in South Jersey for a few years and experienced authentic Philadelphia cheesesteaks, which are hard to find elsewhere. We ordered a cheesesteak and an eggplant/mozzarella and marinara hoagie. They were both delicious. The bread is flown in from Philly, the marinara is homemade and the steak is top quality. The owner and his son are very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with them. We will definitely be back! Try this little gem, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfoster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    36
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Haze, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Philly cheese right here in Sarasota”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have eaten here three times -just found the place a month ago

River with wiz n great onion i'm addicted


Only disappointment
the fries - order chips - fries might be coated in rice flour or something
if this place used real spuds I would come more often
the sandwich is fab

The guys are great really concerned that their customers are happy

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Philly Cheese Steak in Sarasota!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Clean and Friendly Atmosphere with Fresh Food. True Philly Cheese Steak Sandwich with Cherry Peppers on the side! They fly the bread in so it has to be great!! Very good prices and they offer delivery. These guys got it right!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Plains, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best I've had yet...”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Owner is a pleasant fellow from Philly, they slice the rib-eye fresh everyday, the bread comes down from philly. Ultra good sandwich, meat was tender, bread was wonderful. A must have when you're in town....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Food was great. Service was great also. The place is nothing fancy if that is what you want but once you try the food it doesn't matter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gransm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gentile Bros Authentic Cheesesteaks also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gentile Bros Authentic Cheesesteaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing