We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for relaxing stay”
Review of Lido Islander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lido Islander
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for relaxing stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Fairly priced, has everything you need - not fancy but very nice and definitely clean! Extra sundries available complimentary. Pool, walk to the beach, and the variety of rooms available makes it easy to accommodate pretty much anyone's needs. Laid back check-in/honor system and just what you might hope for!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    74
    44
    22
    39
See reviews for
57
113
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Unfriendly: no front desk person, the only way to communicate is by email or phone voicemail. When they reply to your email. No good manners in their communication, for example they don't write Hi, or Mr. Xyz..... They don’t answer your questions and don’t address your concerns. Nobody there to make sure that there is no noise after 11 pm, to follow their rules. The three nights I slept there were awful for the noise until 3 or 4 am. One night I had to call the police to intervene.
Not clean. Black and gray marks on the door and door frame, dirty bedside and dining tables and dirty bed cover. And even though I complained about that the first night by email, nothing had been done about it the next two days.
I don’t recommend it. Next time I’ll come to Lido island I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidoislander, Manager at Lido Islander, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have staff on site daily to assist you. In order to expedite the responses to your emails, we skipped a formal introduction. If that offended you, we do apologize. When we received your email after your first night, a staff member addressed the issues you had, and checked back the next day (although you were gone during the both days when they stopped by) including the other guest making noise (which you thanked us for in your reply email). Although we made every effort to assist you, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The room was slightly larger than the bed. There was no thermostat control, when we could smell the man in the room next to us use the bathroom, called the manager who was rude and because of the deplorable conditions w could not stay- STRICT NO REFUND POLICY. a stay here is like going to jail in a tropical paradise only smaller rooms and dirtier.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnyoninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidoislander, Manager at Lido Islander, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
You were scheduled to stay at our property. You arrived to check in on a Friday night, you had booked earlier in the day and were informed at the time the reservation was non-refundable. You arrived well after midnight, being loud and belligerent. You were speaking to the owner of the property. She attempted to address your concerns, while at the same time asking you to calm down so you did not disturb the other guest. However, you did not settle down and in fact disturbed other guest in the early morning hours. Without giving the staff time to address your needs, while still being loud and belligerent, you said you wished to cancel. At this time, you were reminded of the cancelation policy which you had already agreed to. You stated you wish to cancel. As you left the property, you continued to scream and proceeded to kick over trash cans, in front of another guest, as you exited the property (your actions caused people at a neighboring property to call the police and we can send pictures of your damage if you wish). We regret the circumstances of your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

It not a 5 star hotel ,but for the price it's ok,rooms are small but cozy,close to the beach , shopping and restaurant .Check in in the mailboxe was perfect A/C need to be improve and towels ,next time I going bring my own,but we had a nice time there and we save a lot of money .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yohanita72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

After staying four days at this place, I can honestly say that it was not enjoyable. I came in with an open mind wanting to give it a chance, but after the third day I just wanted to get out of there. I didn't like the "checking in through a mailbox" process. It made the place feel cheap.Yes, the best thing about this place is that its walking distance to everything, but that's it! Not being able to control the A/C in your room is a major problem. Trying to sleep in your sweat, even with a fan at max speed, is no way to enjoy a vacation. The paper-thin walls do not help either. The towels that were provided were stained and counted for, meaning bring your own towels. It didn't matter if we could have gotten other towels from the rinky dink towel shed that was on the first floor, those were not cleaned properly either. Having to clean up after yourself is not great either, plus if you don't, your charged with a cleaning fee after checking out. Not saying that we trashed the room we stayed in or anything, but its ridiculous to not have someone come in at least once during your stay to check up on the room. Overall I will not be returning to this place or recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: This place is not for young couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I love Lido Key and Lido islander Inn gave us the perfect location, very close to down town with many good places to eat.Walking distance to Lido beach. The one bedroom that we rented was clean and comfortable, Is great to have your own kitchen to cook breakfast or dinner.
Wi-Fi worked great. My wife and I looking forward to visit Lido Key again and book the same room at Lido Islander Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It's not the Ritz, but neither are the rates. Cute small hotel in a beautiful residential location. Close to the Beach and Armand Circle which is THE place in Sarasota for shopping and restaurants We did lots of morning walks on the beach and evening walks to catch the sunset just before walking to dinner. Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable. Yes walls are a bit thin, but Room 6a was great.

Room Tip: Room 6a was a one bedroom with kitchen. Upgrade to the one bedroom if thinking of standard room. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.9 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
4.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.2 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#27 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Islander

Property: Lido Islander
Address: 528 S Polk Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2037
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Islander 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful studio apartments to 3 bedroom apartments tucked away on exciting Lido Key. The units are steps from the beautiful white sands of Lido beach, with the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico just beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Lido Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Islander Hotel Sarasota
Lido Islander Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing