We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny and no service”
Review of Lido Islander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lido Islander
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights, no soap, no toilet paper, no room to open your suitcase. Very claustrophobic. No ice, no ice cube trays, internet and TV did not work the second day! Woke at midnight to someone trying to get into our room! They had double booked! Unable to reach anyone as the internet didn't work and you can only email them. We were glad to get out of there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodieliscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Sorry, you did not enjoy our stay and understand the operation of our property. We are a small property and have staff on site to assist you. We also have a self service system, in order to replenish any supplies you need during your stay. If you were lacking anything during your stay you could have asked our staff members or helped yourself to the items. Comcast is the provider for both the interest and cable, unfortunately during your stay they had an outage issue to your location. It was corrected the next day. The property was not overbooked, we simply had a guest that forgot their room number. Once again, sorry you had to encounter these issues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed here twice and have to say the location can not be beat. It is an easy walk to the beach or St. Armands Circle. The Inn itself is mostly self service and was fully booked the 2 nights we stayed. Our room was small but clean and though there was a small table and 2 chairs, you really couldn't really relax anywhere except the bed. It was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Our previous stay a few years ago was in a much bigger unit and I would recommend one of those units if you are going to stay more than 1 night. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Noise can be a bit of an issue if you have noisy guests close to your room.

It isn't luxury but it is comfortable and the location allowed us to eat and drink each evening and walk home safely without fear. Lastly, don't forget the location, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvs_tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Fairly priced, has everything you need - not fancy but very nice and definitely clean! Extra sundries available complimentary. Pool, walk to the beach, and the variety of rooms available makes it easy to accommodate pretty much anyone's needs. Laid back check-in/honor system and just what you might hope for!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Unfriendly: no front desk person, the only way to communicate is by email or phone voicemail. When they reply to your email. No good manners in their communication, for example they don't write Hi, or Mr. Xyz..... They don’t answer your questions and don’t address your concerns. Nobody there to make sure that there is no noise after 11 pm, to follow their rules. The three nights I slept there were awful for the noise until 3 or 4 am. One night I had to call the police to intervene.
Not clean. Black and gray marks on the door and door frame, dirty bedside and dining tables and dirty bed cover. And even though I complained about that the first night by email, nothing had been done about it the next two days.
I don’t recommend it. Next time I’ll come to Lido island I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliseBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidoislander, Manager at Lido Islander, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have staff on site daily to assist you. In order to expedite the responses to your emails, we skipped a formal introduction. If that offended you, we do apologize. When we received your email after your first night, a staff member addressed the issues you had, and checked back the next day (although you were gone during the both days when they stopped by) including the other guest making noise (which you thanked us for in your reply email). Although we made every effort to assist you, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The room was slightly larger than the bed. There was no thermostat control, when we could smell the man in the room next to us use the bathroom, called the manager who was rude and because of the deplorable conditions w could not stay- STRICT NO REFUND POLICY. a stay here is like going to jail in a tropical paradise only smaller rooms and dirtier.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronnyoninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidoislander, Manager at Lido Islander, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

You were scheduled to stay at our property. You arrived to check in on a Friday night, you had booked earlier in the day and were informed at the time the reservation was non-refundable. You arrived well after midnight, being loud and belligerent. You were speaking to the owner of the property. She attempted to address your concerns, while at the same time asking you to calm down so you did not disturb the other guest. However, you did not settle down and in fact disturbed other guest in the early morning hours. Without giving the staff time to address your needs, while still being loud and belligerent, you said you wished to cancel. At this time, you were reminded of the cancelation policy which you had already agreed to. You stated you wish to cancel. As you left the property, you continued to scream and proceeded to kick over trash cans, in front of another guest, as you exited the property (your actions caused people at a neighboring property to call the police and we can send pictures of your damage if you wish). We regret the circumstances of your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

It not a 5 star hotel ,but for the price it's ok,rooms are small but cozy,close to the beach , shopping and restaurant .Check in in the mailboxe was perfect A/C need to be improve and towels ,next time I going bring my own,but we had a nice time there and we save a lot of money .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yohanita72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

After staying four days at this place, I can honestly say that it was not enjoyable. I came in with an open mind wanting to give it a chance, but after the third day I just wanted to get out of there. I didn't like the "checking in through a mailbox" process. It made the place feel cheap.Yes, the best thing about this place is that its walking distance to everything, but that's it! Not being able to control the A/C in your room is a major problem. Trying to sleep in your sweat, even with a fan at max speed, is no way to enjoy a vacation. The paper-thin walls do not help either. The towels that were provided were stained and counted for, meaning bring your own towels. It didn't matter if we could have gotten other towels from the rinky dink towel shed that was on the first floor, those were not cleaned properly either. Having to clean up after yourself is not great either, plus if you don't, your charged with a cleaning fee after checking out. Not saying that we trashed the room we stayed in or anything, but its ridiculous to not have someone come in at least once during your stay to check up on the room. Overall I will not be returning to this place or recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: This place is not for young couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
4.2 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#27 of 51 in Sarasota
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
4.9 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Islander

Address: 528 S Polk Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2037
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £59 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Islander 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful studio apartments to 3 bedroom apartments tucked away on exciting Lido Key. The units are steps from the beautiful white sands of Lido beach, with the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico just beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lido Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Islander Hotel Sarasota
Lido Islander Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing