We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!”
Review of Flying Fish Fleet

Flying Fish Fleet
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We went on Father's Day with our seven year old. We went on the four hour charter. It was nice because there were a lot of kids there. We enjoyed the boat ride. We caught a total of 35 fish. Nothing overly large but good enough to keep for dinner. The staff was friendly. The boat was clean. Just remember the sun block!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Agb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    4
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Awful! The captain was rude and not helpful. The cook inside the cabin was very rude and unfriendly. They pride themselves on being family friendly yet are not! Before leaving the dock, three small children needed to used the restroom. The captain angrily told them they couldn't go and it would only be 10 minutes until they could used the restroom aboard the boat. It was 45 minutes before they would let the children use the restroom! The deck hands were not well trained. The did their best, but we're not seasoned in their jobs. No one on the boat caught a fish bigger than 16 inches. The trip was advertised as 4 hours, we were only allowed to fish for less than an hour. The rest of the trip was spent getting out to the fishing spot, the boat was relocated 3 times, then the trip back. We will never fish with them again!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson County, CO
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Pros & Cons”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Always enjoy a fishing trip when on the coast so I checked out Flying Fish Fleet.

This is a large boat that takes a herd of people out several miles to sea and you bottom fish. The good news is that this makes for a very reasonably priced trip and you generally catch a good number of fish. The less good news is that the fish you catch are pretty scrawny and 2/3 of the trip encompasses just chugging out to where you drop your line and returning. I enjoy a good boat ride so that is not all bad but four hours is overkill.

Again, fish, mostly porgies and jacks, are so small that when they fileted my eight fish at the dock I wound up with less than a pound of food. Of course, the main reason to go is for the experience but still it would have been nice to actually have been able to stock my freezer with some memories of a successful day on the water. I also caught three red groupers that were the largest fish caught on the trip but were less than the twenty inch minimum and had to be tossed back. On the bright side (???), I was told that they were usually filled with worms!

The crew themselves were mostly very friendly and helpful, if overworked for the large number of passengers. Some could have been more accommodating and cheerful. And there was a generally annoying trolling for tips throughout the voyage.

Bottom line, if you want to catch large fish, my experience has been that you have to go on a smaller craft serving a smaller group of customers. And of course, it costs more accordingly. So applying the principle of "You get what you pay for", adjust your expectations to fit your budget.

Flying Fish is a relaxing day on the waves with a few small fish thrown in. Not great but not bad either.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ObscureDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day on the water!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked the 8 hour private charter with 4 other people and we were all new to a guided fishing trip and saltwater fishing in general. The captain and deckhand were really friendly and were both great at what they did. We caught some really nice fish in the morning (grouper, amberjack and a couple snapper) and tried to catch some tuna and king mackerel in the afternoon but didn't have any luck, but everyone on the trip agreed we would do it again in a heartbeat and all want to make a yearly trip out of it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We went on the 6 hour trip with one of their two larger boats. There were 30 other people fishing onboard and plenty of space. We fished for approx 3 hours and the Captain changed fishing locations every 15-20 min. The two of us caught 20 fish, mostly gray snapper and perch. Based on the amount of fish being cleaned at the end of the trip, everyone did pretty well. Overall we had a very good time

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Fish Fleet also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Flying Fish Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing