We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok Restaurant

Bangkok Restaurant
Ranked #150 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our GPS brought us to this restaurant but it was not well signed in the small mall area. This was our first visit to Sarasota and so the first visit to this restaurant. We had lunch there and my husband had a Massaman Curry which he said was comparable to one he had eaten in a Thai restaurant in Shanghai. I had a Green Curry which was good but since it was not spicy enough for my taste I had to add some of the pepper sauce.
We both enjoyed our meals and the ambiance of the restaurant. We liked the traditional touches and the eclectic use of chandeliers above a few table nooks. The wooden carvings on the table tops which were glass covered were also very interesting as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scotgrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    55
    18
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty good but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We have been going here for many years in November while in the area. The food was good again, but was not exceptional as it has been in past years. Think we'll try a different place next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank dj1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thai Food Lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We read the review on this restaurant and decided to try. It's about 2 miles from our condo beach. The food and service were very good. This is the only Thai Restaurant that is open on Monday in Sarasota, Florida. The rest closed on Mondays.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Proudl2BPinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Back again for more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with friends who are very keen on Thai food. we have been several times and enjoyed the experience. Loved the ambiance and the servers in Thai dress, which suited the opulent and comfortable interior. Situated on a small mall, don't be put off by the exterior. We all enjoyed a variety of appetisers and curries and plan to visit again shortly with our friends who were very enthusiastic about the flavours in their dishes. Very reasonable prices too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vixmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bad, sad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This place was recommended by a friend from Sarasota while we were visiting. We ordered pad thai, the cucumber lime salad, and the Bangkok Night (Mild yellow onions, sweet red and green bell peppers, straw mushrooms and bamboo shoots). The salad was literally a shredded cucumber with 2 slices of tomato for 8 dollars. The pad thai was uniformly dark brown and had no vegetables in it. The stir fry was sad, stinky, and looked like it had old vegetables and shrimp in it. I really thought this place was gross. I'd never go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank grlantrn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bangkok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing