We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in march nice getaway from the Chicago/Michigan winter. The Hibiscus was clean and comfortable. The employees were very nice and helpful. The pool area was nice place to relax. The breakfast was good. The hotel is a short distance from beach and restaurants. We liked the location cause it wasn't in the hustle and bustle of the down town area. This hotel is not 5 star but a very good 3-4 it's clean the beds are comfortable we don't need much more than that cause u don't go on vacation to stay in your hotel room. The prices are reasonable. We would absolutely stat here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank redpoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra z, Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We would be even more pleased to see you return to us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    145
    69
    24
    26
See reviews for
176
157
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 very relaxed nights. Clean, comfortable accommodation, very comfortable bed, good breakfast, nice pool area, friendly staff. Yes, road noise at the pool but no problem for us. We were in room 201 at the back of the building which was very quiet at night. Could park our car right outside our room. Beautiful beaches and good restaurants a short drive away.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra z, Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the road noise by the pool. Thank you for the review and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The other reviews raved about this hotel, so I made reservations. Had the other reviews been more honest, I would not have been disappointed and probably not have stayed here. I was shocked to see this a good-old-fashioned MOTEL, NOT a hotel, and definitely not "upscale". I had no option as everything else was booked, so stayed.

The staff was exceptional....very helpful and friendly and professional. But do NOT think you are getting an "upscale" or even "nice" hotel. This is an old property-- a MOTEL. Rooms were a good size, but it was old......chipped paint, old fixtures, missing grout, dingy, light bulbs out or not working. It was just ok, safe enough. But don't expect anything other than "OK", a place to stay. There is no reason to get excited about it.

I paid top dollar ($178/night) expecting a comparable value...I did not feel I got it. I had 2 rooms over the course of my stay...the 2nd floor was ok to sleep in even though I could hear barking and some traffic noise through the walls. The 1st floor room had a lot of street noise and the ghastly fumes from the diesel engine on the trash truck overwhelmed my room.

Don't get me wrong....this isn't horrible, its just ok. But the reviews I read prior to going made me think this was a "NICE" place and so it was disappointing. Its a typical Motel, mediocre, needs TLC, attention. If these details were paid some attention my review might be diferent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Awesome photos on the web site show twilight embellishments. Note: only one room has the bamboo beads behind the bed. It is on a very busy road with high traffic volume going 45-50 mph. More plants could help soften the view and buffer the noise. It is not on the key but a half mile away. (Because oceanfront hotels think they own the sunset, access the beach for beautiful views off Midnight Pass Rd through public access 12. It is a sliver of a parking lot visible from Captain Curt's.) Sarah is delightful and very accommodating. Everything is clean and neat and maintained although they should really hire a good handyman and keep him on permanent payroll. It was not exactly a bargain but it was available. Breakfast was mediocre. But the staff made a significant, friendly effort to make things comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moore1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra z, Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Sorry to hear that your vacation was not as enjoyable as it could have been. Sorry about the traffic noise. We hope that you return to us for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STONEHAM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband & I just returned from 2 and a half weeks at the Hibiscus Inn Suites. Neither of us wanted to leave. The suites are very roomy and well appointed with full kitchens, a large bath, 2 flat screen TV's, plenty of closet space,a second sink/vanity in the hall and an attractive living area and bedroom.. Everything is immaculate and the delightful cleaning staff will even wash your dirty dishes! The breakfast is plentiful and delicious. The pool is beautiful, very clean and quiet. The staff is amazing..so accomodating. They will do anything for you. Thanks to everyone! Add to this very reasonable rates for high season, a 15 minute ride from the center of Sarasota, Longboat Key or Siesta Key beaches and you have a hidden gem. We already booked for a month next year and may even stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOYCE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra z, Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for the FABULOUS review. We are delighted to hear that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us. Also happy to see you booked a longer stay with us for next year. We look forward to seeing you and making yet another stay with us just as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The room was large with sizable living and cooking area, bedroom and bathroom. The kitchen had all the appliances although cookware was a somewhat limited. The hotel's breakfast was above average with very good service. We stayed a week and there were some days that we needed to chase down towels or soap but that was minor. The walk to the beach took about 15 minutes - much of that was waiting for the traffic light. It was easier to walk than fight the traffic. A few good restaurants in walking distance as well. We stayed 7 nights and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra z, Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We are sorry about the towels and soap. The next time you return for a visit with us we will have that stuff for you. We strive to get better every day. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
174 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

So this place is on a Main Street no where near the beach
Reserved two beds and when we arrived the only room left had one bed
The pool is the size of a postage stamp
Kitchen is decent.
We did get our money refunded after five calls

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happymallqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra z, Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The pool is an average size pool. We hope that you decide to give us another try next time your in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
4.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
0.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
473 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key

Property: Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Address: 1735 Stickney Point Rd, Sarasota, FL 34231-8844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splurge on your next vacation in the tropical paradise that is Hibiscus Suites! Our hotel is located 1/2 mile from Siesta Key Beach, voted the #1 beach in the United States! All of our rooms are large Suites which include full kitchens, with separate living and sleeping quarters. We also host an outdoor heated pool open year-round, as well as a complimentary continental breakfast each morning of your stay and FREE WiFi access throughout the hotel. Book today, you will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Sarasota
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing