We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour”

Off the Hook Seafood Co
Ranked #122 of 1,030 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "where only the freshest fish arrive, to be dined upon"
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy hour”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The website says happy hour daily 4-7.
Wrong. They don't know what you're talking about if you asked. Lots of other excellent places to go in Sarasota.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LillieUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    39
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unless you are a regular...stay away”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We read the reviews and were anxious to go...we live nearby, but had never been there. We sat and dined at the bar. First a guy was bothering two women at the bar and when they asked the bartender to send him away (he was using inappropriate language which of course we had to hear), the bartender responded he was a friend of Nick's, no way he was going to be asked to leave. The food was as good as anywhere, that was not the problem. Being treated as an outsider, being told by the bartender we ordered something different than we did, being charged for something we didn't order and told we were wrong, feeling like we were uninvited guests...who needs that?? There are too many great places to eat in the Sarasota area to deal with that! We dine out often but will never go back there! Unless you are a friend, don't bother, they probably wouldn't care.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Mitch740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent all the way around!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Sat at the bar for the first visit. Was greeted pleasantly by the bartender, Percy. Percy knows how to pour an excellent martini! In addition, she made the best recommendations for dinner. We started off with the steamed mussels which were a very generous portion and delicious! We absolutely wanted to try the seafood since this place touts itself as a seafood restaurant with all of the decor and the name. Let me tell you, we weren't disappointed! Percy recommended the special of Fried Red Fish & Shrimp Gumbo. Girlfriend.... This was an awesome dish!! Wow! And such a generous portion!! My husband had the Mako Shark which was served with a Rum Pineapple Coconut Sauce and he cleaned his plate. In fact, we both cleaned our plates! Wow! I don't think you will find any reason not to eat here over and over. We'll obviously be back again!

Helpful?
4 Thank SKBeachAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice fish”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Found this place by accident. They have seafood, cocktails and wine. Small. Loved the food. Service a little slow but acceptable. Fresh fish right off the boats. Will fix it any way you want. Spend the time to find this place if you like fish.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Bunny104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beyond Fantastic in all regards”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We decided to try this place on a whim and Wow were we surprised. The decor and atmosphere were inviting, the service was fantastic and the food was WONDERFUL. We passed by dozens of over-crowded tourist places and into the cozy surroundings of a truly local-gem. My Tomato Bisque was amazing, My wife loved her chowder and we shared an incredibly prepared Black Grouper over mashed sweet potatos with grilled asparagus, accented with a Hollondaise sauce. Wow was it good. Even my Manhattan was done just right.
Don't put it off... Just go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank WizardofSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Off the Hook Seafood Co also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Off the Hook Seafood Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing