We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Wonderful Stays Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel twice for 3 or 4 day trips over the past couple of months and the staff there is warm, friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are bright and comfortable and the location is perfectly central to everything the Sarasota community has to offer. I ate dinner in the restaurant twice and found it to be reasonably priced and good quality food. This hotel offers an exceptional value and fun, quality accommodations. I would certainly stay here again. One note, it's a bit hard to find the entrance!

Room Tip: Get a room with a fridge, they are bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLSun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

FLSun1, we appreciate your kind review! We’re glad we had the pleasure of hosting you. And that you had two wonderful stays!

Thank you for the feedback about the entrance. We’ll make that a priority in our staff meeting this week. We certainly don’t want guests having a hard time finding us!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

Nice place. They did a great job with the decor, but they forgot the basics - SLEEPING CONDITIONS! Yes, the AC cools (or warms) the room, but it will keep you awake all night. It's really loud. It turns on with a clink and a clunk, followed by a loud hum that continues for about 5 minutes, then it turns off with the same obnoxious sound; 5 minutes later it turns on... and this goes on all night long - on, off, on, off, until you turn it off. I guess you could set the thermostat to 32 and it would never turn off. We finally chose to turn it off at 5am and it got really warm (78) by 6am. It was 60 degrees outside. So my recommendation is to stop by for a look and a drink, then go stay somewhere else to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaxJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

JaxJack, we’re sorry you had this issue with our AC. We agree with you 100% that sleeping conditions are the most important component of any hotel stay. We regret deeply that we were not able to provide that for you.

I will pass this information along to Frank, our Director of Engineering and we will get this fixed. We sincerely hope that you are willing to give us another chance. Please call ahead and ask for Leslie. We’ll make sure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We spent two days here while touring the Sarasota area. It was a perfect spot for us. The decor of blue, white and green, is perfect for the locale & the small dining room is casual but very attractive & features a perfect sit-up bar. Staff and manager were friendly and helpful with site suggestions & directions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel arel quieter. There is both above ground and underground parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you MaryLou! We appreciate you taking the time to review and are grateful for your kind words. We’re pleased that you had such a good trip to Sarasota and are flattered that we were able to contribute. Let us know if you plan on being back in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is more of a boutique hotel and less of your Hyatt/Holiday Inn type hotel, but it's not pretentious in the least. The decor is very Florida; they've used a blue/green beach glass motif and it's really pretty. The lobby has a bar (beer/wine only) and sitting areas as well as the check-in desk. The staff was extremely accommodating (Thank YOU, Avery, for tracking down my sweater!) and professional. Our room did not have a view, but since we were mostly in the room to sleep, we didn't mind. It was a very large room with a refrigerator and coffee maker. The beautiful contemporary bathroom included robes. We walked to lunch in the "downtown" area of Sarasota which has many nice shops and restaurants, but drove to dinner as this time of year it is quite dark there by 7 p.m. Although we could have walked to the opera, the science museum and several other attractions, we drove to the Marie Selby botanical garden (10 minutes) on the first day and on the second, we also drove to the Ringling Museum (15 minutes). Breakfast is not included in your room rate (which was extremely reasonable especially compared to other hotels in the area), but we ate there anyway for the convenience. It's buffet style with omelets made to order. My husband really enjoyed his omelet. I had oatmeal. You can walk to a restaurant that serves breakfast if you like a more substantial meal. All in all, we really enjoyed this quiet little oasis near the heart of bustling Sarasota.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room on the opposite side of the parking area as there is quite a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoscoePound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

RoscoePound, thank you for your kind words! We agree with you on the décor – it is indeed very Florida. And you would know, coming from beautiful Sanibel Island!

We’ll make sure Avery receives your thanks. We love when our employees make a lasting impression on guests and it seems like he did that for you!

Come back and visit us again soon. We look forward to having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My wife and I are snobs. But we don't want top shelf, expensive, lush, [garish] luxury. We want clean, simple, modern, comfortable. That typically means a small boutique hotel - the kind that tend to be hard to find on the interwebs...
Who knew a chain hotel would satisfy these two snobs?
If you want plush, deep carpets go elsewhere. If you want crystal chandeliers, find them down the street. If you want Motel 6, go to Motel 6. But if you want wood floors, simple appointments, a careful design aesthetic, and well thought out bathrooms - come to Indigo.
It's not super elite. It's not Phillipe Stark/Gordon Ramsey high-end. But for the price they do a heck of a job.
It will be my go-to chain from now on.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarryDurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

HarryDurt, thank you very much! Sometimes it’s hard for us to explain the Indigo concept; it’s more of a see-it-to-believe-it kind of place. But you nailed it! And we couldn’t be more pleased that you took the time to share your experience.

Keep coming back – we believe in continuous renewal and will be making some updates in the next few months. We’d love to have your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This property was chosen to accommodate our wedding party and family and it was a SUPERB choice! We loved the BEACHY feel that was chic and classy...pristine clean....and located near just about everything! The wedding took place at the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens just about a mile or two up the street...super convenient! The staff were quite friendly and our hotel service superior.

Only note of caution...be aware that there are handicap accessible rooms and hearing impaired rooms. We had asked for a handicap accessible room for our elderly mother but received a hearing impaired room not knowing the difference. There were no rails in the bathroom or in the shower and she did not shower, only sponge bathed, during our entire stay. When I brought this to the attention of the staff, the quickly apologized and realized that even a hearing impaired room (which many elderly can be) should also have handicap accessiility...i.e. rails to hold on to. Most elderly who need handicap accessibility also need the hearing impaired amenities so I hope they will attend to this issue.

Great job! Loved it! We hope we can stay there again some day!

Room Tip: When asking for a handicap room, be sure to know there are handicap accessible rooms and hearing imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UGottaKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Yougottaknow, thank you for that feedback! We apologize for our mistake between the handicapped room and the hearing impaired room. As always, guest feedback is more important to our operations than most reviewers know!

Thank you so much for all of your kind words. We also hope that you can stay here again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My second stay here. Clean, comfortable, and friendly. Rooms are lovely--not boring, and the shower is HUGE! The furniture is more like a friends' guest room than a hotel. The hotel doesn't have a large bar/pub if that is important to you, but has a friendly little lobby bar. You'll love this place. Nice location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Peter, we love that – “the furniture is more like a friends’ guest room than a hotel.” And we agree! We want all guests to feel relaxed and renewed during their visits and do all that we can to make it feel like home. We’re glad you enjoyed and will see you on your third stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,205 reviews
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
243 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.6 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#12 of 51 in Sarasota
254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-2901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: £141 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing