We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-1 ALL the way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A-1 ALL the way!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked our stay here after reading the reviews of other guests here on trip advisor. When we first arrived and our GPS said we were arriving at our destination, I thought it was a joke because we drove right by the property! It is a small hotel on a corner, sharing an entrance off the street with two other properties. I have to admit, that I was a little disappointed as we parked the rental car - the property is not big and there is nothing fancy about the outside. That's not to say that it's drab; in fact, it's very tastefully landscaped and the exterior colors are warm and inviting.

Any disappointment I might have had quickly dissipated as soon as we walked into the lobby and were greeted with more warm colors and even warmer welcome(s) from staff members at the desk. Each person was professional and genuinely friendly.

The lobby is laid out with a bar and a lobby restaurant; the lobby itself has over-sized Adirondack chairs with big pillows. The decor is a beach theme and it's done right! Our room was perfect. Not just great, or really great - it was perfect. The bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the room itself was light and roomy. There is plenty of space for your clothes and the bathroom has an over-sized shower.

The meals and the service at the restaurant were what you might expect at a larger, more sophisticated establishment; yet the prices were reasonable - for example, $14.95 for a Saturday or Sunday brunch with everything you need (less than half of what we spent at a Marriott resort for brunch the month before).

As with most of the reviews, I have to say that what puts this hotel over the top is the staff. Nothing is forced, the "hello's" each morning are real. And there is a real concern for each guest's comfort; it's as if the staff has taken on a personal responsibility for each guest's experience. This type of hospitality is something we haven't felt in resorts costing up to three times as much for a night.

I would suggest to the executives of the Inter-Continental Hotels Group (IHG) to use this property as a business model for your brand!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Rusty W,
You have almost managed to render us speechless with your thoughtful and heartfelt review. We are so humbled by your accolades especially regarding our staff’s genuine dedication to guest satisfaction. We’re happy that your initial feelings regarding the hotel’s tastefully nondescript exterior did not prevent you from giving us a chance to exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    263
    50
    13
    9
See reviews for
170
383
47
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at Hotel Indigo on a weekday in September of 2013 for a one-night business trip. First, off, I absolutely loved the room. The decor is light and cheery, with wood floors and Pottery Barn type furniture and decor. The wood floors give the room a very nice, open feel. The rooms are completely different from the standard carpeted rooms you find in virtually every hotel in the country. I had to spend a few hours in the room to do some work, and I can say that I really enjoyed my time in it.

The rest of the hotel is top-notch. It's a fairly small hotel, so you get the boutique feel with big-chain service and amenities. The atmosphere of the hotel is upscale and comfortable, but not pretentious. The staff is very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raoulduke101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Raoulduke101,
We are truly pleased to receive such detailed and excellent feedback. Our rooms are designed with both business and leisure travelers in mind and we are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the time you spent in your room – even while you were working! We are proud to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive and glad that you enjoyed our amenities. We hope that you will return soon and for more than one night next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Excellent hotel to stay to walk to downtown Sarasota. Staff is wonderful and helpful. The lobby and rooms are spacious and beautiful. Wonderful value and we will return to visit downtown and beautiful Siesta Key,

Room Tip: The King Suite is fantastic with a very large shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowncomp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Crowncomp1,
Thank you for taking time to write this complimentary review. We love our proximity to downtown and are always pleased to hear that guests enjoy being able to explore our fascinating neighborhood. We’re happy to hear that will be returning soon and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We cannot say enough about the staff at Hotel Indigo; We came for our anniversary and we were given a complimentary bottle of wine! Also the free shuttle is a wonderful idea, especially since we did not have transportation. The hotel is located in a great area close to beaches and downtown;.We want to give a special thank you to Michael, Ian, Jordan,and Christian. We will definitely come back to this little jewel in Sarasota!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R1972IWjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear John B,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback. We are very proud of our fantastic staff and we cannot tell how much it means, to them and to us, that you made personal connections with Michael, Ian, Jordan, and Christian. That they made such a positive impact on you is wonderful and you should know we take our guests feelings very seriously and we will be sure to acknowledge and reward these exemplary members of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my family after a couple weeks of hard training. I really enjoy my stay and the customer service was excellent. Breakfast was awesome. The hotel is close from Lido Beach. The best part of the room was the shower.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guliver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guliver01,
We’re really happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we helped to relax you after your tough training! We’re glad that you enjoyed our delicious local breakfast items and our spacious shower. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great hotel on main road with easy access to beaches and restaurants, but away from the hustle and bustle of the seashore tourist hangouts. The decor was modern and the room was large and luxurious feeling. There was underground parking which was invaluable to keep the car cool in the heat of the Florida summer. Since it seemed to appeal to an older crowd it was quiet and relaxing to come back to after a day of swimming at Siesta Keys (one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen!) or visiting other attractions.
The only disappointment was that the advertised "pool" was really two hot tubs-though one was hot and the other cold...this should be more clearly stated online. But the staff was friendly and efficient and I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giraffechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Giraffechef,
Thank you for your lovely review. We agree that underground parking is essential in Sarasota’s tropical climate and we’re so happy that you were able to enjoy a nice relaxing stay. We apologize for any miscommunication regarding the pools but our website does indicate that we feature two spa wading pools and the description does include a picture. We hope that you will return soon and treat yourself to a dip in the cold wading pool on one of our tropical Sarasota nights!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed one night at the Hotel Indigo with family and friends while attending the Sarasota Beer Festival. We had a little difficulty finding it, but once we did, we were incredibly pleased. Absolutely beautiful, spacious and comfortable! We ate lunch in the hotel restaurant, and it was yummy!! Our group decided to have an impromptu "birthday party" for two people in our group in the hotel lobby until the "chef" complained. The hotel manager was kind enough to move our "party" to one of the board rooms at no charge, which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Lisa H,
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to the Sarasota Beer Festival. We’re so happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and our fabulous food! We apologize if there was any inconvenience in moving your group to the meeting room as we don’t allow outside food in the restaurant. We are very happy that we were able to accommodate your party and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
6.0 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.6 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Property: Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-2901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing