We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean lines, Big Shower” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Clean lines, Big Shower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hotel Indigo was a very pleasant surprise. The Welcome Centre (across the road) had given us time but not much convincing advice. That said, we tried one of their choices i.e. Indigo and found it extremely comfortable, a helpful staff and reasonable cost in an expensive town. We sauntered around nearby (car drive) where there was an upmarket holiday buzz, good bars, restaurants and parking. We would highly recommend Hotel Indigo as very convenient and pleasant. The best shower in the USA so far! Wifi was free but worked in the room only near the door not at the desk!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear JandJFarnhamCommon
We’re grateful to The Welcome Center for recommending us to visitors who are new to Sarasota because we get to meet many great new guests that way. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our fabulous neighborhood. We apologize for connectivity issues with the wireless, please let us know next time you experience an issue and we’ll do our best to correct it right away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    256
    47
    13
    9
See reviews for
166
375
47
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was really impressed with this hotel. It is the attention to little details that sets it apart from the typical resort hotel. The lobby has a nice semi-circular bar and additional seating where you can order drinks and food. This gives the restaurant/bar area a more casual feel. If you're looking for a formal or intimate dining atmosphere, you may want to venture out for dinner. We did not eat in the hotel, so I am unable to comment about the food. There is an inviting courtyard just outside the restaurant that has two large jacuzzis, one hot and one cold. My five year old enjoyed playing in them. Our room was one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. First, the room was huge. It was cheerfully decorated with white, cottage style furniture. The floors are wood laminate and covered with large area rugs. There is a large, flat screened t.v. in the room. While the room did not have a refrigerator, it did have a coffee maker with ceramic cups. Each double bed had six high quality pillows, which I appreciated. The room was very quiet, including the air conditioner which had a wall mounted thermostat. The bathroom included a six person, glass walk in shower and granite counter tops with Aveda toiletries.

The hotel is conveniently located downtown and many attractions are within walking distance. We walked to the marina for dinner and passed numerous, quaint restaurants on Main Street. We took the free shuttle back from the restaurant (the shuttle will take you within a one mile radius of the hotel and to the airport for free). The hotel also offers free internet and wif but we did not have time to try it out. We did not have time to use the exercise room either. All of the staff were friendly and check in/out was easy. The only negatives I could find were the lack of refrigerator and safe in the room (they provide safes behind the front desk).

I would stay at Hotel Indigo again in a heartbeat and will suggest it to friends staying in Sarasota.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank appeals2me1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Appeals2Me1963, Thank you for taking the time to write this delightful review. We are so thankful that you noticed the small details that we take such pleasure in providing to enhance our guests’ experiences. We are looking forward to your return stay and we appreciate you telling your friends about our location. We do have quite a few upgraded rooms that have mini fridges – should you require one on your next stay please contact us ahead of time to confirm availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I visited this hotel from 11/17-11/19 and couldn't be more pleased. The good things about this hotel are
1. Hugh shower
2. Glass shower
3. No carpet
4. Spacious
5. Clean lines
6. Friendly bar service (until 2am)
7. Nice, Nice, Nice staff especially Ryan & Jessica
8. Best Smelling hotel
9. Clean and Fresh throughout
10. Close to everything!! Siesta Key only a short drive maybe 10 min
11. Comfy Beds & pillows
12. Furniture feel new
13. Deck parking is the BEST!!! Elevator takes you straight to your floor, no need to see a bellman or anyone on those late nights!!!
14. Very SAFE
15. Clean Gym, they provide towels that's chilled in a side fridge, flat screen..ITS AWESOME, not big but clean with the equipment that's needed.

The bad, the only thing I had an issue with was hair on the rug they had on the floor. My advice to management is to do away with the rugs all together, hardwoods are so much cleaner. Provide the rugs optional for the guest that want them. Rugs are hard to clean, hardwoods not so much. However, unlike most hotels the bathroom was clean of hair which matters so much more to me!!!

Also, thank you to Ryan for making my stay even better. I don't like to drink and drive so having a hotel bar open until 2 am was a plus. Ryan gave the bar a Cheers feel!! KUDOS!! Also, Jessica at the front desk is a rockstar, thanks for making my stay pleasurable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the condo parking garage, I stayed in room 302 and the early morning was pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Net D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Net D,
What a fun review, we appreciate the Top 10 approach to listing our best qualities and we’re overwhelmed by a Top 15, thank you! We do apologize for the errant hair on your rug and would like to assure you that we do our best to make sure that the rugs are cleaned thoroughly and often. We understand your argument in favor of getting rid of the rugs entirely but hardwood floors tend to have a noise amplification effect and the rugs help to absorb any extra sound that might disturb other guests. We’re so glad that you recognized the efforts of Jessica and Ryan, two of our dedicated team members and we hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with absolutely beautiful rooms. The staff is very accommodating and pleasant. The room was equipped with a coffee maker an iron and ironing board and a flatscreen TV. The decor really made you feel like you're in a comfortable bread and breakfast rather than a hotel. The outside pool area is rather small and I really just wading pools. I'm also not fond of the hotel that charge you for bottled water in the room. That said I really enjoyed the hotel and it's comfortable setting.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear TY B,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so excited to be likened to a Bed and Breakfast as we truly strive for the atmosphere of a tranquil oasis in our boutique hotel. Our spa-inspired wading pools are a great option for a relaxing dip in Winter or Summer as one is hot and one is cold. We hope that you will come back and visit us soon and we’d like to let you know that the glass carafe provided in each guest room is actually for the Hydration Station located in our lobby that offers fresh, free, filtered water for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I've stayed at Hotel Indigo Sarasota 4 times, (3 times with my dogs). It is one of my all time favorite hotels. There was a discrepancy with the room, as in I reserved 2 beds, and only a king size bed was available when we arrived. We stayed for 2 nights. The management bent over backwards to accomodate us, and remedy the situation (which they did). The management and staff were wonderful. Lots of area to walk the dogs. Love the area, love the hotel. I just wish there were a few more Hotel indigo's in some of the other cities I go to. Definitely my "go to" hotel when I am in Sarasota.

Green Features: They are very in tuned to environmental practices, and they just installed an amazing waterfall drinking water filtration system.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurricane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Hurricane G,
We love it when our guests bring their pets to stay with them in one our fabulously appointed pet friendly, 1st floor rooms. We’re so glad that we were able to remedy the error with your booking at check in and we are happy that you felt our genuine desire to assist you. Hotel Indigo has about 40 locations in the United States, and 20 around the world. Perhaps you could open one in your favorite city? We would be sure to visit you! In the meantime, we do look forward to your next stay with us at Hotel Indigo Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night whilst over in the states and I cannot fault it at all!! Great location! Great service! Gorgeous room! Excellent attention to detail and an uplifting positive feel to the atmosphere! If only I could have stayed longer!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Atkat2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Atkat2008,
Thank you for your review. We really take pride in the little details and we’re so glad that you noticed! Happy guests contribute to our positive atmosphere so we’d love it if you’d stay longer next time too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

stayed two nights at this hotel for a wedding. The rooms are gorgeous too many amenities to tell of. ONe of my favorites is the carafe to fill your water downstairs at their filtered water fall/fountain. Really pretty hotel 5 minutes from downtown. The price was right and we would definately go back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Melissa B,
Thank you for sending us such kind words. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our ‘hydration station’. We hope to see you again soon and perhaps upon your return you’ll take advantage of our Indigo Bicycle Rentals to cruise downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#14 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Property: Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-2901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing