We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inviting”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

A few blocks from downtown but walkable. A car is needed for all other pursuits..beaches, etc. the decor was fresh, bright and inviting and the staff friendly. Rooms are well appointed & comfortable beds.i slept the entire night which i never do at hotels. The buffet breakfast was included in our stay. Great variety and tasty too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Annemarie C,
Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review. We love to hear that our guests are getting a good night’s sleep as our ultimate goal is to rejuvenate and refresh your senses. We’re elated that you enjoyed our location, inviting décor, friendly staff, and tasty breakfast. We hope you’ll join us for lunch and dinner upon your return to sample some of our tasty seasonal specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    268
    51
    13
    9
See reviews for
174
390
47
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Not knowing the area, we did not make hotel reservations before traveling to Sarasota. Stopped at the tourist information center and asked for recommendations for lodgings. The staff recommended several places but really talked glowingly about the Hotel Indigo. Though a little pricier than most, we loved this hotel! The staff was wonderful, very professional and pleasant. Our room was adorable with a perky colored motif, large flat screen TV, huge walk in shower and most of all very clean (a must for me)! Free internet was another huge plus as most expensive hotels charge for this service. The underground parking garage was great and we could take an elevator directly from there to our room. I would have loved a down filled pillow but I am a bit of a diva about pillows and usually bring my own from home so I am not complaining about this. Breakfast was not included in our rate but we decided to eat at the hotel anyway as the dining area was so inviting. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced! They have a buffet but we opted for a menu item and really enjoyed our breakfast. Our server was definitely a cut above the rest! All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Indigo. The location was great and the accommodations even better!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Barbara C,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy to have such a great friendship with the Visitor’s Center and appreciate their recommendation. We’re always excited to introduce new guests to our tropical oasis in downtown Sarasota. Thank you for complementing our talented staff and fabulous amenities. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience with your pillows but we do have down alternatives available, so please be sure to request one on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My first impression upon arrival, after a long flight, was, one of a really nicely decorated family room: nice bar, cute little restaurant...the only thing that made it look like a hotel lobby was the registration desk. It's a very charming lobby (and the restaurant food, for such a small hotel, is surprisingly good). The staff were universally friendly, professional, and went out of their way to be helpful. Our room (a "suite" though it was really a larger room with a sofa) was clean, well designed, and comfortable. (Ask for a room on a higher floor -- otherwise it could be noisy). Adequate fitness center; cute little wading pool with a nice patio. We walked everywhere during our four-day stay: extremely convenient. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigangal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Michigangal19,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such positive feedback. We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our great location during your stay. We are exceptionally proud of our staff and we’re thankful that you recognized their talents. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant food as our Chef, Sol, takes great care in preparing fresh, seasonal, local fare for our guests. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived at the Hotel Indigo to warmth and fine hospitality. Our concierge, Erica, was most helpful in choosing artistically-decorated suites for our party of four. Because lunchtime beckoned, we decided to dine at the bar. Bernice, our bartender, allowed us to sample several beers before ordering. We chose the turkey club sandwich and fresh fruit for lunch, and it was evident that only the freshest ingredients were used in preparing our well-presented, delicious meal. Dessert was an especially delectable treat, creamy cheesecake that melted dreamily on the tongue. Eric, also working at the bar, engaged us in lively conversation. We were delighted when Executive Chef Sol came to greet us and ask if our lunch was to our satisfaction. We could not stop compliments from flowing, just as the graciousness of the Indigo staff poured out as well. Kudos to the Hotel Indigo!

Ginny and Bob M.

Room Tip: Your concierge will be most helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed five nights in an executive suite (otherwise known as a junior suite - room for a sofa) at the Hotel Indigo and had their buffet breakfast every morning. The staff was very pleasant, the hotel clean, and the location was a reasonable walk from downtown Sarasota where there is a large number of restaurants and cultural entertainment venues. (The walk downtown wasn't the most beautiful with many empty lots and rundown homes, but it appeared safe.) We did have to wait 1/2 hour past the normal check in time for our room.

The room had a large walk in shower, reasonable bathroom counter space for all your bathroom items, comfortable bed, chair and sofa. There was no drawers to use so you have to live out of your suitcase except for items hung up in the closet.There was almost no noise from outside the hotel. However, we could easily hear people in the corridor and someone next door apparently on a speaker phone. TVs were heard but weren't loud. The TV was decent but had old fashion menu that couldn't be scanned with the remote and the programs offered didn't include some stations that we like such as PBS.

There were small water bottles in the room for guest use but they charge you for using them.

The breakfast buffet was decent, not the worst or the best. The had limited items available but they would make an omelette or scrambled eggs for you in addition to the usual eggs benedict, crepes and french toast. No yogurt, whole grain breads or decent muffins were offered. Fresh fruit was always available and they'd serve you orange juice (which has a sneak $3.50 charge over and above the buffet price).

Check your bill on check out. We had the buffet included with our room rate but they charged us for one of the breakfasts.

Overall, we felt that it was a good hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barely alive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Barely Alive,
First we would like to apologize that you had to wait to check in to your room. Our housekeeping staff works diligently to avoid such an instance and we can assure you that this is not a usual occurrence. We are more than happy to provide extra hangers so that you may hang items that might otherwise go into drawers and there is a channel guide provided with your TV remote. We apologize if you were unable to locate one in your room but we would like you to know for your next stay that we do have PBS/WEDU located on Channel 9 in your room. We would be happy to look into adding any other channels that you feel may be lacking if you let us know which ones you specifically missed. There is a charge for the Fiji water bottles on the bedside tables but the large water carafe that is provided in your room may be filled for free with filtered water from the Hydration Station located in the lobby. We apologize for any confusion but we do offer yogurt, whole grain breads, and a large selection of locally baked muffins and pastries with the breakfast buffet. We apologize if those items were not stocked at the time that you were eating. The price for freshly squeezed local orange juice is listed on the specials board next to the price for the buffet but we do apologize if your server did not indicate this extra charge to you. We thank you for your feedback and hope that you will return again soon so that we can attempt to remedy any of your concerns and improve your overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This was my first opportunity to give Indigo a try. I'm glad I did. It was a great place to stay! From check-in to check-out it was some of the best customer attentiveness I have experienced anywhere in the world. The staff were genuinely friendly, not patronizing from being told what they had to say to guests. It was so refreshing. The rooms were a bit crowded but were certainly adequate. Comfortable beds. Uniquely decorated rooms. The gigantic walk-in all glass shower was a "wow" for me. Quite unusual in this price range. Plenty of free parking, also a bit unusual for a downtown hotel.

Walking distance to great restaurants and waterfront parks. No free breakfast like many IHG properties. The hotel full service restaurant had a great breakfast. I did not have other meals there but the menu made it tempting.

Only one little irritation. Every time you closed your laptop or iPad, you had to go through the wifi log in process again. First time I've experienced that. I'm looking forward to checking out other Indigo properties. Loved it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Ken L,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you chose us to be your first Hotel Indigo experience. We are proud to be representatives of this unique brand. We work closely with our staff and review guest feedback to ensure that we provide our guests with the best possible amenities and service. We are thrilled that you recognize the natural way in which our talented staff interact with our guests as we choose our team based on their desire to work with people. We apologize for the irritation with repeated laptop logins but this is an internet security precaution that has been instituted to protect sensitive guest information. We hope that you’ll join us in the restaurant for lunch and dinner upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is a couple of blocks from the beach and harbour front and is also close to downtown. It is well situated to get to most attractions assuming you have a car. The room was spacious and well decorated. The bar food was good, if a shade pricey. The gym was reasonably well equipped. There is a plunge pool outside, but I never saw anyone in it! All the staff were really pleasant

Room Tip: Get a room facing towards the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear StevenandCarol,
Thank you for staying with us, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our location and décor. Thank you for complimenting our wonderful staff and delicious food. On your next visit we encourage you to try one of the relaxing spa wading pools – one is hot and one is cold so they’re suitable for any kind of weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,058 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
6.0 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.6 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#14 of 48 in Sarasota
209 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Property: Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-2901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing