We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last Minute” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Last Minute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went to Sarasota mostly for leisure. Arranged lodgings didn't work out, so it was off to a different spot.

The Hotel Indigo came recommended from several locals, so I decided to give it a try.

Pros:
Very smooth booking and check-in.
Top notch staff - every single one.
Sizable, clean, very well appointed room.
Built-in wall water filter for bottle refill - awesome!
Huge, delicious portions for breakfast.
Ready use of complimentary, comfortable one-speed bicycles.
Easy to control room temperature.
Fantastic shower - both in water pressure in size.

Cons:
Had to re-validate internet login many times, making a long session of reading and writing reports difficult.
Bed was hard, making it difficult to relax and rest for a full nights sleep.
Some loud motor driven machines (branch cutters?) being used around 8am for a few hours further interrupted rest.
View of the street.

Details that would have made it nicer but by no means detracted from the stay:
Bathrobe.
Extra pillows in-room (front desk had them and quickly brought them by request).
Complimentary use of some of the spa services (like steam).

The final call:
Will I return? Not likely - the lack of any kind of view, no real walking distance culture (except the tech museum), plus the stiffness of the bed make the price point not worthwhile for me.

Would I recommend it? Definitely! Hotel beds are either too firm or too soft by design. The convenience of an in-hotel restaurant that's good and the use of a pool (not my thing) with being close-ish to the beach (walked to it, don't go into it) would make this ideal for anyone visiting for the first time, extended stay or with a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear SF415,
Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed review. We appreciate your feedback and would like to address some of your concerns.
We apologize for issues you may have experienced with the internet, we will look into the revalidation issue. Unfortunately the branch cutters were beyond our control as they were located at the property next door. This is not a usual occurrence and we are sorry that your sleep was disturbed. We do have bathrobes available in our Executive level rooms and also available to all guests upon request. We are sorry that we did not let you know about the benefits of our neighborhood. We are situated within walking distance from: Downtown Sarasota, the Sarasota Bay Front, The Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall, The Sarasota Visitors Center, The Sarasota Opera House, over 25 restaurants representing at least 15 different types of cuisine, art galleries, and antique stores – we love our location because of our walking distance culture and the front desk would be happy to provide you with a detailed walking map and some great recommendations on your next visit. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us if you have any other questions or concerns that might prevent you from staying with us in the future as we would love the opportunity to change your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    256
    47
    13
    9
See reviews for
166
375
47
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Visited with Hotel Indigo for two days and found everything to be excellent! The service was great, especially the bar area (read the tip!). The room was very nice and I especially liked the large wall pictures! Would definitely stay again and I recommend staying at the Hotel Indigo next time you find yourself in Sarasota!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowpology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Lowpology,
We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and loved our beautiful local murals and had fun in our bar area. We pride ourselves on excellent service and we’re proud of our team for providing you with a stellar experience. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

From its individually and delightfully styled bedrooms and modern bathrooms, to its friendly welcome and efficient service, Hotel Indigo is a great place to stay and ideally situated for visiting downtown Sarasota. Our only comment would be that the pool area is rather small and lacks shade.

However, the hotel is beautifully decorated throughout, immaculately clean and the breakfast is good with fresh eggs cooked to order. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, so taking everything into account, this hotel well deserves five stars and is good value for money in Sarasota.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear JJglobal,
Thank you for your review. We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our décor, ambience, and service. We are planning an update to our spa wading pool area in the future so we do appreciate feedback regarding possible improvements. We hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notre Dame
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Everything about my 2-night stay here was perfect! The reception staff was not just helpful but also extremely caring and friendly. The room was extremely clean, welcoming, and well-decorated. The breakfast staff was so friendly. Management has really figured out the recipe for hiring the right people. You must try Solomon's cheesecakes too - fantastic! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cangst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Cangst,
Thank you for your perfect review! We can’t think of a better word to describe our talented team than “caring”. We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we promise to keep Chef Sol making cheesecakes every day until your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Visited this hotel for a two day trip! It was absolutely fantastic! The service was amazing and everyone that worked there was always ready to help! The two employees, Scott and Adam, at the bar area were so funny and just made my night even better! Would totally recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Alexis L,
We are so tickled to hear that your experience with us was such a memorable and entertaining time. We think that Adam and Scott are pretty fantastic too! Thank you for your recommendation and be sure to come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful few days. The hotel was clean and fresh. Staff couldn't have been any nicer with an added personal touch. Also enjoyed breakfast every morning in the restaurant. Can't wait to return next year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Kathy M,
Thank you for taking the time to send us such positive feedback regarding our friendly team members and delicious food, we only that you’ll be able to make it back to see us again before next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I visit Sarasota regularly for work and have stayed at many business-approved hotels. Hotel Indigo, while on the high end price wise, is a delicious splurge for business or pleasure. Spacious rooms, luxurious showers, purified water system; the list goes on and on. There only short coming is a tiny pool/sun area. Being only 5 minutes from Siesta Key, it's not a deal breaker. The surprise was the hotel restaurant. It was tiny but served fresh, quality meals at reasonable prices. Would I return? In a minute.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRTVrMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear DRTVrMoi,
Has it been a minute yet? We can’t wait to have you back! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and especially our Chef’s seasonal, local fare. We agree that being minutes from the beach compensates for a smaller pool area and we love our spa-inspired wading pools for relaxing after a long day spent exploring (or in meetings). Check back regularly as rates in Sarasota fluctuate according to season and February and March are traditionally more expensive months for all the hotels in the area. Please feel free to contact our Sales Director, Janet Hansen, to set up a corporate rate if your company is sending you to Sarasota on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Property: Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-2901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing