We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grande choice”
Review of Hotel Ranola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ranola
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

a beautiful hotel in downtown Sarasota near the shops, banks and beaches more 'beautiful Sarasota. ideal for anyone want to make life including by the sea. in 5 minutes you reach the beaches where you can get free parking conveniently near the sea and restaurants. Beautiful hotel that has nothing to envy of at 'art deco miami. and 'a little gem where colors and details are added together.
and to conclude 'the right choice that made ​​the visit to the city' to the beaches of Sarasota and a wonderful experience. recommended
buona vacanza

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robyVarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Interesting place, Hotel Ranola. The location is excellent - downtown Sarasota, near Whole Foods, tons of good restaurants, etc. The price is right, especially if you want to prepare your own meals. Our room was clean, though it did have a musty smell. The bathroom sported seriously peeling paint. But everything was neat and clean, though “screaming deferred maintenance” as another reviewer put it.

My gripe was with the bed, which had only a sheet atop a moisture-proof cover of some sort - no mattress pad. I started to feel hot and sweaty as soon as I lay down, and it did not make for a good night’s sleep. When I mentioned this to the owner she said I was only the second person ever to complain, then told me about the stresses of cleaning up after tenants who pour wine and coffee on beds, especially since her laundry facilities are limited etc. etc. I told her I sympathized, which I do. My impression is that the business plan involves keeping costs way down in order to offer low-cost accommodations in a very expensive market.

So, cozy romantic getaway? Not the best choice. Super practical accommodations for a low(er) budget vacation? You’ll likely be pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BarbfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed Dec 29-31. Great time close to everything. Drove to whole foods and parked on second floor. Free parking and an easy walk to everything. Next door is a great restaurant call
Star keeper cafe. Great food for breakfast and lunch. Staff was wonderful. Bed
Was comfortable. We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chute_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My husband I and stayed at the Hotel Ranola from Dec 3-8, 2011. We chose the hotel based on the downtown location and the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. In fact, our expectations were exceeded by the huge suite (The Royal Kir) with full kitchen, eating area, king bed, living room, vanity/makeup area and bathroom.The decor is art deco as the building is from the 1920's. Although the building is almost 100 years old, the rooms have been updated and are comfortable, clean and stylishly decorated. The bed is very comfortable and the shower/tub has great water pressure. The bathroom is on the small side but having the vanity area makes all the difference. The location couldn't be better - close to Main St. and all the great restaurants - all in walking distance. Only a few minutes drive to St. Armand's Circle or Siesta Key beach. Kathy is a perfect hostess - ready to give advice when asked but never invading our privacy. We have fallen in love with Sarasota and the Hotel Ranola will be out go-to hotel from now on.

Room Tip: Any room is great here. We were in the Royal Kir suite but we saw the King room which was also larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dorothee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Ranola for the first time Dec 2 and 3rd in the king suite. The room was huge and the decor was unique and stylish. The room had a full kitchen with a little eating area as well as a large sitting area with a bar. We stayed in Room 1 and did not experience any odd or musty smell. On the contrary, the room was very fresh and clean. To be clear, this is an old building which has been very nicely renovated. The wood floors creaked and it didn't have the ultra luxurious finishes that some may prefer in a hotel. The air conditioner in the room is a window unit. None of that mattered to us...it only added to the charm. The hotel was in a great downtown location which allowed us to make the most of our time in Sarasota. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Recently stayed at the Hotel Ranola for the first time on the recommendation of a friend and was very pleasantly surprised. A wonderful staff/owners, electric design and so close to everything. Parked the car and walked everywhere. The room was very clean and roomy and the free internet was a plus. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pasta42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Like others here, I had the same experience with the odd, musty smell. It was not overpowering, but was bad enough to be a little sickening, like an old, bad laundry fabric softener cloth or something. As another reviewer suggested, it might be from the A/C, but even when the unit was turned off, the smell remained.

We bought a giant bunch of fresh basil from the market, and kept that in the room, but its lovely aroma was no match or the underlying mustiness!

The bed was soft and if you got too close to the edge, you immediately rolled off the side! The room looked nice, but again, as another reviewer mentioned, the hotel does not have nice views, being bordered by the post office and Verizon buildings, mostly.

The staff was very nice and friendly, and had good suggestions for places to visit and eat. We've been to Sarasota, which we love, several times, and we've always stayed at the lovely Cypress B & B. Much nicer surroundings and the breakfasts and late afternoon snacks/drinks are awesome!

I was surprised to have such a substandard experience at the Hotel Ranola, since it has gotten such good reviews. But an un-ignorable musty odor can certainly put a damper on one's stay! Although, on the positive side, it forced us out of the room and out into the lovely environs of Sarasota, probably more than we would have done, if the room had been a better-smelling one!

Also, one minor complaint: A light bulb was bad in one of the bedside lamps. I asked for a replacement, and never got one. So, for our 4-days there, one side of the bed stayed dark.

Room Tip: Check the smell of the room first, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Senseruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0telran0la, Owner at Hotel Ranola, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room during your recent stay. Had you called the front desk when you realized there was an issue, we would have been happy to move you to a room that better suited your needs. As always, our goal is to ensure guests have a positive experience. It is impossible for us to correct a situation if we are not made aware of it.

Please feel free to contact us at 866.951.0111, if you would like to discuss the matter further. We certainly appreciate your business, and hope you will return to Hotel Ranola, Downtown Sarasota, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
961 reviews
5.4 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#14 of 51 in Sarasota
283 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranola

Address: 118 Indian Pl, Sarasota, FL 34236-5800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £86 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranola 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only hotel in the heart of Downtown Sarasota, Florida. Walk to dozens of fabulous restaurants. Shops, galleries, etc. Full kitchens, sitting area, spacious rooms. Pillowtop mattresses, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi and more. Minutes to beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranola Hotel Sarasota
Hotel Ranola Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing