We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - close to airport, restaurants and sights”
Review of Golden Host Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Host Resort
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed 7 January 2014

As a frequent visitor to Sarasota, my go-to hotel in the area is the Golden Host Resort. It's consistently clean, comfortable and convenient to all of my favorite places including the Ringling Museum and downtown. Checked in and found out I was upgraded to a pool side room! Great rate, pool side room and sunny Florida weather - what's not to love?

Room Tip: Ringling Museum is just down the street. John Ringling's beautiful oceanside mansion is a beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

My boyfriend and I spotted the Golden Host "Walk-In Special" sign while en route to a nearby hotel that had quoted us a rate $30 higher per night.

We decided to stop and check out the room, and when we saw that it was clean and equipped with a solid, comfortable bed, we decided to stay there instead of the other place.

After one night, we opted to stay on for a second night. After a week of travel around Florida in different hotels, we agreed that the Golden Host gave us the best bang for the buck.

The pool was crystal clear and beautifully maintained, and for the price we paid, we were surprised to discover that the breakfast bar was a solid selection. Good orange juice, too-- not sugary mix that we've had at other places.

The AC was a little noisy-- but hey, guess what? It sounded like an AC usually sounds! And it worked, which was the main thing!

The staff were all extremely pleasant and professional. It felt like genuine human interaction, and we appreciated that. (Again, after a week of different hotels every night-- that was a refreshing and unexpected experience!)

For the money-- this place is a gem! I would totally recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It's cheap so I didn't expect the Ritz......but it's filthy. The rooms smell of mould and musty, part of the bathroom probably haven't been cleaned in 10 years.
The pool was clean but only because the cleaner had come the day we arrived. The lobby staff were "interesting" .....more interested in smoking and drinking. Stay away.........especially with children.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jacknclare8289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel on our road trip of Florida. It was pretty much as expected and good value for the price. The swimming pool was out of action but otherwise we were more than comfortable in our room which while in need of a spruce was clean and spacious. The staff got us a fridge even before we arrived which we appreciated. Not a wonderful area but we found two excellent restaurants withing walking distance - The Yummy House Chinese was full of people and served great food and there is a good little Vietnamese restaurant across the street from the Chinese place.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and polite. There is a nice little pub with a happy hour etc. I would definitely stay here again. Clean up the pool and you are looking at a good value hotel with easy access to the beautiful surrounding areas of Sarasota.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

2 years ago we stayed there for 1 night. We needed a double room, so we called them in advance to let them know we were going to get there after midnight. When we arrived there (around 2 am) they didn't have our key and the room available had only one bed, so one of us had to sleep in the floor!

This year we had to stay at this hotel again because the super 8 next door didn't have rooms available.
When we got to our room we noticed the air conditioning was not working, when I try to get the phone a lizard came out from the bed!!!
They moved us to another room. But, this time the room was even dirtier, the toilet had stains of poop and the bath tub didn't drain. That room had not been cleaned in months!!!

WE'LL NEVER AGAIN STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!

Room Tip: If you want a clean and nice place DO NOT STAY HERE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolaina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrGHR, General Manager at Golden Host Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We are very sorry and deeply apologize that you had such a horrible experience at our hotel. All rooms should have been inspected by Head of Housekeeping before the guest arrives. We are investigating the matter and will be taking appropriate actions. There is no excuse for the room to be in such condition. Please contact me directly at hotel for a full refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

First of all we book throug booking .com never again ,theres 80 rooms and only 24 where booked ,the need to updated the pool was green it was nasty i have never seen anything like i call th health department on them the room smell the staff stuipe as hell ,i will never go there and will let everyone know that place should be close! iwas staying for 4 DAYS AND LEFT THE NEXT DAY I WAS NOT GOINT TO BUT MY GRANDSON IN DANGER .

Room Tip: no room are dont go there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RICKY628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrGHR, General Manager at Golden Host Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We are extremely sorry for your very negative experience and we profusely apologize. Here in Sarasota we have been having endless rainfall and thunderstorms. Consequently, the chemical levels in the pool dropped significantly causing the pool water to turn green. We have professional pool service and with lot of effort we have the situation under control. Your comments about housekeeping and front desk have been noted and appropriate action is being taken. Again, we deeply apologize as we should never have our guest have such a bad experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here over Memorial day weekend due to a last minute trip to Florida to see my dying brother. My mom wanted something close to the beach and we just picked this motel looking at the pictures and the price on line. It is no where near any beach and down right depressing. The air conditioning really didn't work, the doors and windows had huge cracks between them and doorjamb/window frames. It is painted a prison beige with nonpainted spots,so not welcoming. The pool had black spots on the side and bottom, I did not go under due to that. The breakfast is free, but it once again had the air of prison-danish,bread for toast,oatmeal and cereal. It was an extra charge for a person and another for a rollaway bed- not the bargain we signed up for. The same dirty spots stayed on the bathroom floor,the towels rough and thin. I saw the other guest taking rolls of toliet paper with them when they left-perhaps the price warranted that? I hope to never visit Sarasota again and if I ever pull up to another place that looks like this,I turn around and leave,with no regard to a refund. I wouldn't reccommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Try another hotel,anyone about a $100 a night- you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ILteacher052000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota
#32 of 50 in Sarasota
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#29 of 50 in Sarasota
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#40 of 50 in Sarasota
252 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#30 of 50 in Sarasota
131 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Sarasota
Ramada Sarasota
#37 of 50 in Sarasota
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Host Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Host Resort

Address: 4675 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3895
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: £49 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Host Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Host Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Host Hotel Sarasota
Golden Host Sarasota
Golden Host Resort Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing