We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is now is called Jaleas”
Review of Sangria - CLOSED

Sangria
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Is now is called Jaleas”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We had dinner the other day we loved it
Nice presentation and tasty food, our server was very friendly ,the place wasn't too full so we got served quite fast we also had dessert Witch was lovely . We will go back sometime .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Changed ownership, now called Jalea see reviews on that one”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Not a good change, won't be back. Wish I had read the reviews before we tried it. I gave specific details under Jalea name.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quasibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Restaurant now known as Jalea - read those reviews”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

From now what I've read, Sangria was a place for a good meal. However, our experience October 2013 was that the restaurant is now known as Jalea located at 1532 Main Street, Sarasota and we were extremely disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Quasibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sangria is now called Talea”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our innkeeper at the B&B where we were staying told us that Sangria had changed names and tweaked their menu and was now a Spanish/Peruvian tapas restaurant. We decided to give it a try and we are glad we did!

We ordered a chicken dish, a beef skewer dish, and an eggplant dish to share. All were excellent and served with a smile. We ordered flan for dessert and it was perfect.

The atmosphere is a little blah, but I think that is just from being a newly opened restaurant. There isn't much art on the walls yet and the background music was interrupted by periods of silence. But, I'll take that over being too noisy any day!! We would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHofFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tapas--Small delights in your mouth”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was a great tapas restaurant that we ended up in only because the restaurant that we had planned to visit (Mattison's) had too long of a wait. So we walked down the street and found this little gem. We were very happy at the end of our meal that we had not been able to be seated at Mattison's after all. We ate a baked cheese, yummy potato wedges, cured salmon, and chorizo with manchego cheese. It was a great little spread and we topped it off with some yummy bread. My husband and I love tapas and this is definitely a place we'll come back to when visiting Sarasota.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chictraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sangria also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing