We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My laptop was stolen and the management didn't seem to care” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Sarasota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Sarasota
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My laptop was stolen and the management didn't seem to care”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I just stayed at the Comfort Inn recently, and I will never be going back. I stayed there because of price but it ended costing me more than $1000 in stolen property right out of my room. If you care about your safety or property don’t stay here. My laptop computer, IPod and some jackets were stolen from my room while I was out touring. The hotel is run down and dirty and I had noticed that our door did not shut well and did not lock unless you pulled until you heard the lock click. We were there 3 days and each day I pulled the door shut and made sure it was secure before leaving. The problem was the maid did not do this one day and when we returned from a day out we found our door open and several things stolen from the room. We reported this to the management, including the owner who was working at the time, and they did not seem to care at all. They told us there nothing they could do and said we could report this to the police if we wanted to. There was no apology or any feelings expressed which really bothered my wife. They also told us that this was very unusual and had not happened before. When we Sarasota Police officers came to make out the report they told us there were several incidents of theft, drugs and prostitution at this hotel and the ones surrounding it and told us we it would be better to avoid this area on out next trip.

Aside from that experience and new found information about this being a high crime area the hotel is really run down. The room we had was dirty, the bathroom tub was pretty gross and our room had stained towels the first day so we had to request new ones, the carpet floor was sticky and you didn’t want to walk barefoot on it. The breakfast a fair but wasn’t kept very well stocked so you needed to get there early if you wanted to eat.

I probably could put up with the filthy room and mediocre breakfast because the price was a little cheaper than other hotels but I will not being staying at this hotel in the future because I do not feel comfortable leaving my belongings in the room and I do not get the impression that the management or owner cared about our problem or had any intention of fixing it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bar_m123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    79
    66
    40
    74
See reviews for
94
72
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
383 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I've stayed at this property many times in recent years, and have normally considered it "excellent" because of its comfortable, clean rooms at what used to be a really good price. Seems as if this hotel, plus its sister properties, the Quality Inn next door and the other Quality Inn a couple of miles north, have all raised their prices in recent months, such that I would now classify the hotel as an "average" value rather than an excellent one.

My room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Bedding appeared to be new (or newer), and the bed itself was comfortable. Bathroom was clean, and everything in the room was in working order. One minor issue - there was a small work area, but the closest electrical outlet was a fair distance away and behind the TV armoire. Rather than trying to make that work, I strung my laptop cord from the outlet next to the bathroom sink. It was close enough that I didn't need an extension cord, but it was not an optimal way of doing things. A bit of thought in the room arrangement - or an extension cord - would have been a nice guest convenience. Sometimes I wonder why things like this get overlooked by those who furnish hotels. Perhaps we'll never know.

Service was pleasant, although the front desk person seemed a bit annoyed when I wanted to pay cash on departure. I told her that I had advised the check-in person that I would be paying cash when I checked out (I used a credit card when I checked in), and had been told it would be no problem. Turned out to not be a problem, but it surprised me a bit that it annoyed the clerk.

Regarding cash - if you check in with cash and leave a cash deposit, it must be reclaimed by 11am the following morning or it is forfeited. I've not seen such a policy anywhere else and am mentioning it for the benefit of any cash-paying guests reading this review.

Overall - not a bad place to stay. Had the prices not gone up, I'd have rated it 'excellent'. With my association discount, the rates used to be in the mid $40's + tax; now, the base rate is approaching $60. Your rate, of course, may vary. There are a variety of discounts available at the brand website, and Choice Hotels often runs some aggressive promotions that are worth taking advantage of when they're available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Okay, so I will say that we traveled last-minute with a group and needed six rooms. They were able to accomodate us and everyone was very helpful and pleasant. Our check-in experience went well, the lady at the desk was very nice and welcoming and the gentleman who manned the desk at night was nice as well. However, the kindness of the staff was not able to make up for the shortfalls of this property. First, the lobby smelled of mold. Most of our guestrooms had the same smell. The rooms felt dank and damp, and my allergies really bothered me during our stay. There were cigarette holes/burn marks on some of the comforters, sheets & pillowcases. The pool area was nice and sufficient, but the laundry facilities left a lot to be desired. There was a washer and dryer available directly outside of the fenced pool area. Not in a separate room in the building, but actually outside on the sidewalk area. You didn't feel comfortable leaving clothes unattended, because someone could just walk away with them. Also, we were traveling with a number of teenagers, and three of the boys were "propositioned" while near the washer and dryer around dusk. A guy rode up to them on a bike and asked if they wanted any "female company" for the night. So that's what type of area you are dealing with.

Like I said, I knew going into this that we were staying at a budget property and really wanted to give the Comfort Inn the benefit of the doubt. However, despite the employees' good attitudes, I must say that I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanROrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms and friendly staff. Not the Ritz but it was only $50.00. Would use this one again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

One of the lesser Comfort Inn's around, and a bit shabbier than it's sister Quality Inn a block or so to the north. The rooms are very worn, and the staff is disinterested/distracted though pleasant. The pool is sloppy, and the location is adjacent to a threadbare neighborhood, and locals walk through gaps in the fencing to shop, get to buses, etc. Yes, there's a museum and airport nearby, fast food, but everything nearby seems sketchy. This is a bit worse than the Quality Inn as it seems quite a few tenants are long term/unemployed. Don't leave leave your belongings in car, and don't plan on walking around after dark. WiFi was OK, and the refrigerator and microwave were convenient. Stayed in January, and there was no public PC or printer at all, and no way to print boarding passes. The breakfast is just OK; the room is crowded, and the single staffer is hard pressed to keep up with the demand.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnAceBuyer_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota FL
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Don't stay here. Our room was very sub-standard for the rate., The bathroom was dirty, coffee pot still had traces of coffee in the bottom, poorly vacuumed dirty floor (or not at all), dirty counter tops.The shower curtain smelled mouldy and the washcloth had some gross stuff on it. We had spent the previous 2 weeks staying in many different Comfort Inns and this one is not in the same league. It is the very bottom of the pile.There are many other places nearby - check those out instead of this shabby place. We could write more but don't want to waste our time.Should have read the other Trip Advisor reviews before stating here. No stars for this over-priced dump.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, New York, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in and they had the nerve to charge 139.00/night. When you pulled on the toilet paper the whole wall moved. The room smelled, the sheets and blankets has holes in them and were paper thin. We tried to move to another hotel but everything in the area was booked. There was a beer party on the back of a pickup truck right outside our room till 2:00 am. You would be better off sleeping in your car than stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
0.4 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#22 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
9.8 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota - Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#34 of 49 in Sarasota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#25 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sarasota

Property: Days Inn Sarasota
Address: 5000 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3875 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Located in the heart of Sarasota, this hotel is within a 10-minute walk of Ca d'Zan Mansion and John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art. Marina Jack and Siesta Key Public Beach are also within 12 mi (20 km). Room Amenities All 96 rooms provide conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi and LED TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find premium bedding, rainfall showerheads, and coffee makers.Hotel Features Along with an outdoor pool, this hotel has coffee/tea in a common area and a business center. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Additionally, laundry facilities, a 24-hour front desk, and free newspapers are onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sarasota
Comfort Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing