We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold, Musty, Used Condoms”
Review of Days Inn Sarasota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Sarasota
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Poteau, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mold, Musty, Used Condoms”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Check in was fine, we got to the room, it didn't smell clean (musty & moldy) The bathroom was moldy. The last night my dog brought me a used condom. I would not recommend this hotel. The outside of the hotel needs a lot of cleaning, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    94
    79
    50
    81
See reviews for
115
89
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

The room we stayed in smelled musty/moldy. Mold was in the washroom. The telephone did not work at all times. Service was horrible after we reported insufficient toilet paper no one came to give us supplies. The only consolation was a referral by a friendly desk clerk to a nice local Chinese restaurant called yummy Chinese food packed with snowbirds and retirees.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daoisttaiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Where to begin....Drapes broken and nailed to wall, cigarette burn in god awful filthy chair, stains on comforter that would scare a CSI team, cigarette butt floating in toilet, mold on shower curtain, filthy refrigerator, shower head height is ok if you are vertically challenged (like under 5 foot tall), and slept with light on and chair and table propped in front of door....was hoping not to end up on an episode of Cops. If there was a highlight. ..The girl at the front desk was nice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank imissmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

When we walked into our room, there was a used bra laying on one of the beds, there was a huge stain on both comforters, the towels in the bathroom had been used, three cockroaches came up from the sink and shower, and the toilet did not work. I went and asked for a different room, only to find out that our next room was just as bad. In this room, there were huge stains on the comforters, our door would not fully shut or lock, there was a dead bug smeared on one of our sheets, and the toilet stopped working again. The next morning we told the staff how awful our experience had been and she was extremely unprofessional about the whole situation and argued with me when I asked for a refund. I would rather be shot in the foot than stay here again. Lastly, if you are a family wanting to stay here, I would highly advise you not to because a family would not be safe staying here.

Room Tip: Just pick a different hotel to stay at. Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alonzo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
396 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I used to stay here frequently on visits to Sarasota when this property was branded as a Comfort Inn; this was my first stay here as a Rodeway Inn. Other than the signage, I noticed no real changes between this stay and my previous ones.

My room was a large with one king bed, second floor. The room and bathroom were both clean, and unlike the experience of some other reviewers, I had no complaints whatsoever about the room, the quality of its furnishings, its cleanliness, or its aroma. The internet connection worked flawlessly. The bed was comfortable and I got a good night's sleep.

Room had a coffeemaker, ironing board, iron, and a fridge but no microwave. The TV is an older tube type, not flat screen.

I've included some pictures of my room as it was when I checked in, so that those reading these reviews can get a first-hand view of what to expect when staying here.

The one minor thing to be aware of is that the toilets sometimes require multiple flushes to dispose of their contents - seems to be a design issue, as I remember encountering the same problem on other stays. It's no big deal unless they clog; last time I stayed here (as a Comfort Inn) I had to fetch a plunger from the front desk. This time, I didn't have to do that.

I did not sample the breakfast and so cannot comment on it.

Other reviewers have commented on the neighborhood, and, yes, it's not the greatest part of town. The motel is located just a few minutes drive from the Sarasota Bradenton Airport, at the north end of a rather long strip of inexpensive to moderately-priced motels along US 41/Tamiami Trail, and while there are a few other branded properties nearby (such as Super 8), there are quite a number of older motels, some of which are quite run down, and many of which attract ... well ... a certain type of trade. I did not notice any activity at this motel, and, for the most part, it's probably sufficiently north of the more seedier parts of the strip, but those who may have concerns might want to do a drive-by or two of the neighborhood before deciding to stay at any of the properties around here. Having said that, I don't wish to imply in any way that any inappropriate activity was taking place at this particular motel, but I do think it's appropriate to pass along general observations of the neighborhood in which it is located for those who may be considering staying here.

For those who are members of the Choice Privileges frequent guest program, be aware that the rebranding of this property from Comfort Inn to Rodeway Inn does directly impact one's earnings in Choice Privileges both from a normal point accumulation standpoint as well as during bonus promotions. For example, Choice Privileges often offers various flavors of a "stay twice, earn a free night" promotion, which can be very lucrative for even those who travel infrequently. At Comfort Inn, a "stay" is typically considered 1 night, but now, as a Rodeway Inn, a "stay" requires two consecutive nights instead of one. For those who care about such things, it is often more advantageous to pay a little more and stay at the nearby Sleep Inn, particularly when such promotions are active, since a "stay" at Sleep Inn only requires one night.

Various discounts (AAA, AARP, association) are available when booking at the brand website.

Room Tip: For those concerned about the neighborhood, a second or third floor room might be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We were very surprised when we stayed here. Nothing was clean. Sheets weren't clean. Sheets were stained with cigarette burns. Bathrooms were not clean. We had to leave. Ask for our money back. It's not in good shape.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amls127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My overall experience with this hotel was horrible there was nothing to enjoy.The food was stale,the coffee tasted like black mud, the entrance smelled of musk and mildew. The service was horrible when we asked for towels no one was ever available to bring them. When we asked for a microwave for our room or a room with a microwave we didn't receive that which we needed because the breakfast they served was horrible, why would you have bagels but you don't have cream cheese or butter that's just ghetto. Mildew on the sheet spreads and they also smelled like they haven't been washed since the last visitor, me and my girls were afraid to go to sleep it needs a lot of updating. I stayed that night and left the next morning. Will not be back ever.

Room Tip: No tip, except stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#37 of 49 in Sarasota
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
0.4 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#29 of 49 in Sarasota
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota - Siesta Key
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sarasota

Property: Days Inn Sarasota
Address: 5000 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3875 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Located in the heart of Sarasota, this hotel is within a 10-minute walk of Ca d'Zan Mansion and John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art. Marina Jack and Siesta Key Public Beach are also within 12 mi (20 km). Room Amenities All 96 rooms provide conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi and LED TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find premium bedding, rainfall showerheads, and coffee makers.Hotel Features Along with an outdoor pool, this hotel has coffee/tea in a common area and a business center. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Additionally, laundry facilities, a 24-hour front desk, and free newspapers are onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sarasota
Comfort Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing