We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst of all worlds” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Sarasota

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Days Inn Sarasota
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst of all worlds”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2007

Stay here because of price only. Hotel has worst staff ever, rooms you get are not the rooms you book online, much of the basic equipment (like the bed, fridge, micro, TV) does not work.

Airconditioned (barely), running water, dry place during rainstorms is best this place has to offer aside from price. They are the cheapest in the area and they know it. OK for one night stay, get in late, leave early. Just be advised they may give your room away if you are too late, regardless of what they tell you on the phone.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — quality
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AARFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    81
    66
    40
    75
See reviews for
96
75
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GEORGIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2007

*** DO NOT STAY AT THIS PROPERTY ***

BOOK YOUR RESERVATION AT THIS ONE INSTEAD:
8305 Tourist Center Dr, Sarasota, FL 34201

We made our reservation through the 800# and thought they booked us at the Comfort Inn and Suites that is just off University Parkway. WRONG!!!!

When we got to the hotel and saw that we were booked at the wrong property, we explained the problem and asked the manager if she could kindly cancel our reservation. Her response - "Sorry, I can't cancel your reservation". We called Choice Hotels customer service (which I now refer to as customer NO SERVICE), and they not only told us the same, but when I asked them if they were willing to lose a customer for life, they told me that they have to "stand behind their management". So much for the customer always being right!!!

We ended up staying at this lousy property, and IT WAS AWFUL!!! You could see daylight from the door, the carpet was old. The bathroom was disgusting - all the metal was rusting, the mat in the tub as well as the tile grout was very moldy. The ceiling desperately needed a paint job, not to mention that while I was taking a shower and looked towards the light, I saw a hair stuck to the ceiling!!!

DO NOT STAY AT THIS PROPERTY. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Liked — Nothing. They don't know anything about customer service
  • Disliked — everything. do not stay here
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pman103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2007

This is nothing short of a dive! Mold in the bathroom, dirty bathmat, filthy overstuffed chair, bugs flying about the desk area, phones didn't work (no dial tone), Desk Clerk unsympathic to the problems! Never stay there again! Stay in the car first!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler063-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2006

This hotel made for a surprisingly nice one night stay. We were a little apprehensive after seeing some of the reviews online, but decided to give it a shot. The hotel itself is in a nice area and was very well maintained on the outside. The heated pool made for a great night of swimming!

The room itself was large with a king sized bed. It also included a desk, minifridge, and a recliner. The bed was comfortable (other than the fact that the sheets kept coming off). The room was overall pretty clean. The bathroom has some rusty spots on the sprinkler head and around the door frame, but in otherwise good shape.

The hotel staff was pleasant and best of all was the breakfast. The hotel served a full continental breakfast including -5 different types of cereal, bagels, bread, a waffle station (to make your own fresh waffle), fruit cups, juice, coffee, and pastries. We were very happy with the selection and the quality of the food.

My wife and I would surely make the trip back to Sarasota and the comfort inn. The hotel was a steal for 65 dollars. Make sure to stop by Anna Maria Island if you get to Florida.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runninreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2006

Comfort Inn in Sarasota Florida did not have my reservation when I arrived late at night. They claim I gave the wrong date when making reservation. We found another Hotel but Comfort Inn still charged me and would not reverse charges after calling them. They claim to make no mistakes. I will never use this hotel chain or any affiliate again and encourage the same for those who do not want to get ripped off.

Helpful?
1 Thank bobmvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONGMEADOW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2006

BEST - The hotel has a great, location, next to the airport. The also offer, shuttle to airport. Good for a business traveler, who is there only for one night.

Worst.

When we arrived, I went to turn on the shower, and the shower was broken. The water, wouldn'g go down, and it started to overflow onto the floor. The airtraffic, was very noisy, very close to the airport you could walk but very far from the gates area. They offer free continental breakfast, all it is cearal, OJ, and very small share.
Berger King, is like 5 blocks away. Better food. We ate there. This hotel is right on a strip mall, area, very busy for traffic, very hard to get onto the street.

The hotel is not really labeled well. But its on Rt.15.

The rooms are not safe at all, don't leave any valuables. Also, entry into rooms, is from the parking lot, meaning you go from your car, to your room. Very small, lobby area.

I don't request, this for familes, and people on vacation. Only one night kind of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2005

My husband and I stayed on a Friday night and a Sunday night, while visiting with our granddaughters who were at the Bolletieri Tennis Academy nearby. We had a different room each time but they shared a common denominator --uncomfortable beds. It's time to rotate new beds in, it seems. The staff was helpful, the breakfast just enough to start the day. Our middle night was spent at a Comfort Inn in Clearwater, FL, that had wonderfully comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
0.4 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#23 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
9.8 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota - Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#34 of 49 in Sarasota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#25 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sarasota

Property: Days Inn Sarasota
Address: 5000 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3875 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Located in the heart of Sarasota, this hotel is within a 10-minute walk of Ca d'Zan Mansion and John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art. Marina Jack and Siesta Key Public Beach are also within 12 mi (20 km). Room Amenities All 96 rooms provide conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi and LED TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find premium bedding, rainfall showerheads, and coffee makers.Hotel Features Along with an outdoor pool, this hotel has coffee/tea in a common area and a business center. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Additionally, laundry facilities, a 24-hour front desk, and free newspapers are onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Days Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sarasota
Comfort Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing