We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE ROOMS, HORRIBLE SERVICE, MANAGER VERY RUDE!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE ROOMS, HORRIBLE SERVICE, MANAGER VERY RUDE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I booked my room 2 months in advance, Non-smoking, King size bed and Pool side. I called the week before and was told every thing was confirmed upon my arrival I was given the TOTAL oppisite room!! My room was a smoking room, on oppisite side of the hotel. The room had such a BAD odor, I called the Manager who was very rude, would not help in any way. His concern was to book the hotel instead of helping me with my problem. I had to cancel and reserve another hotel. I WILL NEVER, EVER STAY IN A BEST WESTERN HOTEL AGAIN!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I had the opportunity to research your reservation and unfortunately, you booked a room through a third party online travel agency that confirmed one of our smoking rooms and not a poolside room. We do not have any control over this type of reservation since it is not made through our hotel. Making reservations directly with the hotel of your choice gives you the flexibility to obtain confirmation directly from the hotel and not the third party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    448
    151
    39
    40
See reviews for
418
452
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Everything is updated, grounds have fresh plantings, good appearance in lobby and breakfast area is well arranged. A big plus and surprise, the welcome drink, the bar by the pool is like a little paradise. ,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel the end of October.
Check-in was easy and fast, and we had booked a 1 bedroom suite and got what we'd asked for.

The 1 bedroom suite was essentially an adjoining room, one with a king size bed, chair, bed, 42(?) inch TV and the room was a good size. On the other side was a pub style dining table, pull out queen size sofa, bathroom, we also had a fridge, microwave, blender, toaster oven and coffee maker which was a very pleasant surprise! We were able to heat up left overs and purchase a few groceries.

The hotel was walking distance to great restaurants, especially the sports bar across the parking lot! Great service with no need to drive!

The breakfast was a hot breakfast with lots of options, good coffee and you definitely never left hungry. I LOVED that they had fresh fruit salad! The breakfast at this hotel was much better than ones in the past. They also put cookies out in the afternoon and keep popcorn made in the lobby! A very nice touch!

The beach is less than a 2 minute drive away and we didn't have any problems finding parking. The beach is beautiful! Most people would think that it's inconvenient to not be walking distance to the beach but it wasn't at all. This hotel's service was so great that it trumps the fact that we weren't on the beach.

The POOL at this hotel was the best part! They recently opened a new bar right in the pool area! CHEAP drinks too! This was a huge bonus! We drank nice cold drinks by the pool and just charged it to our room. We didn't even need to take money (except for tipping). The bartender was great too! I'm disappointed that I can't remember her name. Blonde and I believe that she mentioned she has a 12 yr old (?) child. She was GREAT!
The pool was an excellent temperature, open late enough to make it convenient for people to use it, and it also had a hot tub which was great for sitting in at night! If you're Canadian like I am, you will also enjoy the HUNDREDS of lizzards that also sun themselves by the pool! They're so cute!

The wi-fi at the hotel was perfect. Everything worked great, was clean, staff were excellent. I would definitely recommend this and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The "Executive Suites" are excellent when traveling with kids. They are also the only room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Codester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Family lives close by so I stay here several times a year. Best Western has done a great job since taking it over from Holiday Inn. Hotel is clean, staff is helpful, and location is convenient for me. I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, CO, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Nice Hotel. I've stayed there before and will stay there again. Pretty good breakfast included with room. Reasonably priced for the quality of the room. Good location without being on the actual Seisa Key.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very convenient location to Siesta Key public beach (free shuttle from Best Western) and only 6 miles to Sarasota. Shopping mall across the street has a Publix, Michael's, a few restaurants, etc. - very convenient if some items were forgotten while packing for the trip.

Daily breakfast contained many choices, from bagels, oatmeal or cereal to hot food (omelets, eggs, sausages - different selections every morning). Coffee and popcorn available throughout the day.

Rooms contain a mini-refrig. and microwave. Bed is comfortable and there are numerous pillows.
Convenient elevators for lugging up luggage and shopping supplies.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always nice to know when we've met or exceeded our guests' expectations. Thank you for mentioning the hot breakfast choices since we do try and adjust as necessary based upon traveler reviews. Thank you again and we hope to be able to host your stay for a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was extremely satisfied with the experience at the Gateway Siesta Key Best Western and would definitely stay there again. The room was exceptional and the staff was very attentive at check-in and at departure. I plan to have a group stay at this property in within the next year and I plan to stay at the hotel very soon as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lee Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review. It is a pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations. If you wish to return with a group in the future, please do not hesitate to contact our group sales department in order to accommodate your needs. We thank you for staying and hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.8 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231-4832 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing