We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Hotel with great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Family Hotel with great Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We only stayed one night but will stay longer in the future. We booked this online as a stopover on the way south, but this hotel delivered. We arrived late, and the desk attendant asked us where we wanted to stay (as we were leaving early, we asked for ground floor parking lot view for ease in loading and unloading) The rooms were nicely appointed, however we did note that there were several little worms on the carpet near the door. (we later realized that they seems to everywhere outside--it is Florida after all) We didn't mention the pests and it didn't really affect us.

The desk attendant was very helpful in suggesting a great gourmet pizza shop for our late night dinner (Sal's?) that delivered to the room. In the morning, the buffet served was top-notch, with bacon, scrambled eggs, fruit salad, cereals, yogurt, juices, toast and bagels, and a coffee/latte machine. The pool looked great, and we were provided 2 drink tickets to use at the pool bar. All this for $120? Crazy good deal.

Back next year for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hogtownmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    500
    180
    44
    42
See reviews for
488
508
52
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I booked a room at this hotel through Expedia. I upgraded my room to a premium POOLSIDE room at an additional cost. I paid over two hundred dollars for one night. Upon arrival, I was greeted by an impolite clerk. She gave me the keys to room 308. Much to my surprise, the room over looked the parking lot. I thought she had made an error in my room type. I returned to the front desk and this same clerk became quite rude. She stated, " your room is on the poolside of the building but you just can't see the pool, only the parking lot". The clerk continued on to say I had booked with a "budget" supplier. I would not call over two hundred "BUDGET". She was not going to honor my reservation for a premium room. I requested a manager and was told that there was not anyone available, it was 5 pm. Basically, I was stuck with this room! The clerk refused to be of any other assistance and continued to tell me that I should not be using Expedia. Expedia has a great reputation and I have been using them for over ten years. The hotel was barely a 2 star and the main reason is the staff and room type they sell to their customers. For the price, I want to warn people to STAY AWAY. There are many more hotels in ths area that live up to their reviews. The manager the next morning was made aware of our disappointment and refused to address our concerns. I am a Florida resident and we travel many times a year to different areas in Florida for a get away. We will never recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you book a POOLSIDE room, go look at room before paying for it unless you like to look at a parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank homeaway1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review. It is unfortunate that you did not read the description of your room type that you purchased on Expedia for our hotel. It clearly states, Poolside; not Poolview or Overlooking the Pool. It would have been a better experience for you if you had reviewed the room type details, reconfirmed with us directly or better yet, visited our hotel website to review the many photos and descriptions of our accommodations. Although Expedia is a reputable Online Travel Agency, once you reserve travel with them, they become your point of contact as you remit your payment to them. The hotel does not have any control over the reservation you make with one of these entities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute to escape to a warmer climate and were greatly impressed with the property and it's wonderful employees. The hotel is just 2 minutes from Siesta Key Beach and has many eateries in close walking distance too. This was my Christmas present from my hubby and I loved it! The hotel was renovated and well kept and clean!! There is a nice pool side bar and the pool is heated too. Rooms were nice and comfortable! This a great place to access Siesta Key or Turtle Beach or Sarasota. The hotels has a breakfast each morning that had a good selection of fresh fruits and eggs. This was the first time staying at a BW, and would do so again.

Room Tip: pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernestokarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review. The only way in which we are aware of our service is when our guests are kind enough to provide feedback that can be reviewed by our staff. We are happy that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Excellent Views when you Book Room on Pool Side of this Property. 5 minutes to Siesta Key. Rent a boat from Mr. CB's right down the road over bridge on the left. Publix is close by. Check out Anna's Sandwich Shop on the Key for lunch and Stonewoods is always great for Dinner. It is just a short walk from this Property. Been visiting this area for over 45 years and always love this Property! Great Breakfast is included and is really good. Check out the local restaurants on Siesta Key. If you can't find parking on Siesta Beach you can always head down to the South end of the Key to Turtle Beach. You can't go wrong when you book this location as it is a great value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our location, the extensive breakfast and our proximity to Siesta Key and her many amenities. We hope to be able to continue to provide great customer service to you in the future and that we remain your property of choice when you return to Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the many positive and surprisingly good reviews for a BW property. I would say that this is one of the Best BWs we have stayed at. We had a pool side room on the 3rd floor - I am sure if I were on the other side of the building I would not be as positive. The place was clean and in good shape. I have to call out the helpful staff who did tech support on their computers when I was trying to print out my airline bordering pass (though it appears their computers/printer need some upgrading). Best thing about this hotel is the location just over the causeway to Siesta Key. And the 2 free drink coupon at the poll bar was a nice perk in addition to the hot breakfast.

Room Tip: You want a room on the pool side of the building an at least one floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are proud to be one of the finer Best Western Plus hotel properties in the area and are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. Booking your hotel room directly through us entitles you to several advantages, including free drink coupons to be used at our new poolside bar, the Sand Dollar. We hope that you will return to our hotel property again in the future when Sarasota becomes your destination once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Older hotel that has been renovated. Overall very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location to Siesta Key and resturants. Room was very clean. Pool looked adequate. Nice place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel property. We appreciate that you mentioned our proximity to many things including Siesta Key and restaurants within walking distance. We are grateful for your comments and hope to be your property of choice when you come back to Sarasota again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel was clean and front desk employees were very friendly. The only complaint is that the rooms are very small. The breakfast was more than adequate, and although we were given two free drinks at the pool at cocktail hour, I didn't have an opportunity to take advantage of this, so I cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway

Property: Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing