We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Easy access to a couple of different places to eat . The heated outdoor pool was a definate plus in January. The breakfast buffet was wonderfull with plenty of food options, hot and cold. The room was decorated nicely. Quiet stay, alot of older folks and families while we were there,I would definatley stay there again.

Room Tip: I would probably get a room closer to the pool if you go during the winter months. It's a cold w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review and we are glad we were able to meet your expectations. We appreciate the compliments regarding our breakfast and our pool and we hope that you will choose our hotel property again in the future when returning to the Sarasota or Siesta Key area. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

great rate, nice swimming pool. friendly staff. laundry on site. free popcorn. and free full breakfast. I love best western hotels. I always check to see if there is a best western where Im traveling.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review and your exemplary comments about our property and service. We do not really know if we are meeting or exceeding guest expectations until we hear from you. We appreciate your time and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised & impressed with this hotel. Our room was spacious & very clean. The staff were friendly & helpful. The location was great. --so was the price. There was a hot breakfast. Warm popcorn , coffee, hot chocolate, tea, fruit, yogurt & more available all the time. The pool area looked nice, but unfortunately it was cold & rainy .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickyeatergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel property and we appreciate the accolades about our special little touches such as popcorn all day in the lobby, hot chocolate and fresh fruit. We are certainly happy we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope that you will choose us again in the future when back in the Sarasota and Siesta Key area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Unfortunately, we had 3 days of rain and cool weather during our stay. Because of the coolness, I wish we would have had selected a hotel with interior walkways to our room. We overlooked the pool which we heard was heated and very warm -- couldn't believe we saw somebody in it when the temp. was only in the mid 50's. The rooms were on the smaller side but the bed was very comfortable. They have a free breakfast, which they stated the hot items change daily, however, they didn't the 1st 2 days. It was nice to have the free popcorn and coffee. It was also nice to have 3 restaurants within walking distance plus many more a short drive. They have a small tiki bar at the pool and give you a complimentary drink. A nice place to stop when you get back to your room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PASANDYBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate your favorable comments regarding the tiki bar, comfortable bed and the convenience of our location. The first 3 weeks of January were unseasonably cold not only in Florida, but in most parts of the country. It is unfortunate that you experienced this since our typical January is far from the 40 and 50 degree temperatures we experienced. We do hope that when you travel back to Sarasota in the future that you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I found the staff mostly unfriendly and the whole place very depressing. No dining facilities and a breakfast with paper plates and plastic cutlery. Horrible. No information available about things to do, just a map. Staff barely spoke and no help offered with cases etc. Another guest helped me in the end when he saw me struggle. On the positive side, the rooms were clean and comfortable and good Wifi access. but not for me, I won't be returning.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review. Your report, however, seems to indicate your anticipation of a restaurant. Our complimentary hot breakfast seats over 50 people in the dining area off the lobby - more than most limited service hotels can accommodate and operates for 3+ hours every morning. None of our published information indicates that we have a restaurant other than breakfast with ample seating capacity, although we are surrounded by many restaurants all within walking distance. We offer a brochure rack, visitor guides and maps which are all available for our guests in the lobby. The promotional channel in all guest rooms covers information about not only Siesta Key but all of Sarasota as well. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours a day - if we were not helpful when engaged, I apologize. But most of the staff has resided in Sarasota for many years and are well versed in making recommendations if you cannot find what you are looking for in the visitor guides. We appreciate your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My son and I stayed here for a few days in January when we needed to make a last minute reservation. The staff was really friendly and helpful. My son loved the popcorn, cookies and breakfast, and I loved complimentary coffee all day. The pool was simple but sufficient, and the proximity to Siesta Key and all of Sarasota makes this a great loc. I would definitely return with the rest of the family - a nice pool and a good breakfast goes a long way with kids!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LostAcres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel property. We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed all of our special amenities such as coffee, cookies and popcorn and extensive hot breakfast. We hope that we are your hotel choice when returning to the Sarasota/Siesta Key area and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Best location! Great staff and good clean rooms! Fabulous full breaksfasts every morning! We stayed for 4 nights and was made to feel comfortable and looked after from start to finish. Great breakfasts offered daily, coffee available all day. Very accomodating, very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dblws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel property and the wonderful, positive comments you made in your review. We strive to provide the best complimentary breakfast in the area and are thrilled to know that we exceeded that expectation for you. Special amenities to this property such as popcorn, coffee, cappuccino and hot chocolate seem to also be a wonderful surprise for most of our guests. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
242 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 51 in Sarasota
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231-4832 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: £91 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing