We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

either they are overworked, under paid or hate their jobs....so the attitude reflects it!!! We asked for help in redeeming reward points, which we have many since we are Best Western rewards members and have "status" in the program. We had no assistance either in prior booking on line or from the desk staff that was to "help" us. No way did the manager or anyone want to use our MANY points for just one night of our stay. We chose this property as other friends were staying there; otherwise we would have just spent one night and moved on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your most recent review of our property. Redemption of reward points must take place through the Best Western Rewards portal online or by phoning Best Western for availability. We cannot redeem your points at the hotel's front desk. It wasn't a matter of not wanting to help you; we cannot perform redemption on site. We hope that if you intend on redeeming points in the future that you will please contact Best Western or log on to your Rewards portal in order to do so in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

For business purposes this hotel was a little pricey. I would not be able to send my workers to this hotel on overnight work trips. Although the place was clean and nice and I would personally stay here again. Especially since up the road the price of a room jumps to $300-$400/night. Great value for the area, plus free drinks and free breakfast :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jacob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel and we appreciate your positive input regarding our property. We are grateful that you decided to stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations. Please note that you are staying with us during peak season in Sarasota and most other times of the year, our rates will be more palatable for business purposes. We hope to be able to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel when it was Holiday Inn. It has been remodeled and is very clean, nice and welcoming. The pool area, grounds and hot tub are all well kept. The rooms are not as large as we like, but I would stay again if we are in that area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel is conveniently located within 15 minutes walking to public access of Crescent Beach which is part of and south of the Siesta Key Beach. Also situated near restaurants and other shopping. The rooms have beds that are very comfortable, large washrooms, in-room safe. The lobby is welcoming with a sitting area, coffee/tea available 24/7, popcorn machine, cookies at 4pm each day. The pool is large, warm and there is also a hot tub. Cash-less bar service is available beside the pool. The gardens are lush and benches are available on site all around the building. I would definitely book a winter vacation again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for 4 days to run from snow up north. Very convenient location. Rooms bright and very clean. Everything you could want for breakfast. Staff polite and accommodating. Free shuttle to the beach. Convent to oriole park and ringing brothers. Very nice pool. Outdoor bar very nice. Bar maid the best. Will go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunny104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Clean, well-run hotel you can use as base camp for Siesta Key. Rooms open to the outside. Big TV. TV remote control wrapped in a disposable cardboard sleeve for sanitary purposes (first time I've seen that). In-room safe and fridge. Functioning elevator. Three PCs in lobby & free wi-fi. Well-stocked free breakfast with a very helpful lady in charge. Another nice touch: Free popcorn in lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hushaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a quick overnight getaway and had the pleasure of this property. As hotel snobs we were more than pleasantly surprised by the comfort and cleanliness of the hotel.


It's a very busy property and check in was not available until 4pm as guaranteed...not a problem for us. I could not believe the comments made and attitudes thrown towards the front desk as people are just plain rude. The agent took it all in stride and made it almost seem to be an act in a comedy...we enjoyed the added entertainment!

Great location for so many reasons an will certainly be back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Munch1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,553 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 50 in Sarasota
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: £100 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing