We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
ellicott city, md, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great location and pool”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Room was moderate in size but quite comfortable. Pool was great. Quite large and heated to 87 degrees all year round. A really nice temperature. Also loved the location--close to Siesta Key as well as the bike trail from Sarasota to Venice. Found some good restaurants and craft beer places nearby. This is our third stay in Sarasota, but the first time we have stayed here. This is by far our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    500
    180
    44
    42
See reviews for
488
508
52
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After reading some earlier negative reviews, I was a little nervous about staying here. I was pleasantly surprised to find a clean hotel with a comfortable bed. I found the staff to be very helpful. There was popcorn in the lobby. The breakfast provided by the hotel was sufficient. There was a nice selection of foods to choose from. Since I only stayed there one night, I didn't get to use the pool but it looked great. There is a bar right by the pool. I used the free shuttle service to go to Siesta Key. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This Best Western used to be a Holiday Inn. Did they changes affiliations because they didn't meet Holiday Inn standards? This is an old property and it is a destination resort property so it is unfair to rank it as to price against an overnight stay on route 95. They get more because they can. Can't blame them for that. The rooms are a bit dreary. The bathroom area is quite small, and not large enough for two people to maneuver without running into one another. The tub in our room didn't drain properly and we reported it to management at checkout. They seemed anxious to resolve it. Breakfast is included but the whole area is really too small for the number of people using it. Having said that, one can tell it has been recently upgraded which is a positive thing. the whole Siesta Key area is difficult to assess. There are a lot of family properties on the island. We stayed in one of those once and it looked like it was built in the 50s and had no closet and a tiny bath. Compared to that, this property was superior. All in all, it was okay, and I think they try to do a good job. The pool area was nice. Overall Average plus.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms. Not enough light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. Very clean rooms and close to Siesta Key Beach. The free shuttle was great since there is limited parking on the island. Extremely helpful staff and good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I will have to admit when I saw the address I wondered why a Sarasota address was considered Siesta Key. However I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a multi level motor lodge feel with the open balcony walk ways to the rooms. My wife and I enjoyed that feel as it brought back memories of traveling with our parents as kids. We had a standard room with a king bed, fridge and microwave. Everything in the room worked properly and was comfortable. The price was really reasonable for being so close to the beach area. A free shuttle will transport you to the beach or restaurant/shopping areas. The lobby area was very welcoming, free popcorn for the guests, breakfast in the morning. Although we did not eat breakfast there (got up too late). The staff were extremely helpful, as we had a handful of questions and they answered all of them. There is a nice Tiki bar near the pool area. Upon arrival we were each given a coupon for a free beer or wine. The bartender (cannot remember his name) was very social and fun to talk with. I would recommend this hotel for most anyone. If I return to the area I will definitely consider this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jailere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Room was a little small but otherwise it was Ok. The breakfast was really good compared to other hotel chains we have stayed in. The pool area is really nice & the new pool bar makes it a great gathering spot for guests. The staff was very knowledgable and the location was great. Would definetely recommend this property!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Close to the beach and shopping. Clean and nice pool. Free rides to the Siesta Key Beach and shopping. Hotel had a good selection of food to choose from. They have all kinds of rentals in the area for paddle boarding boating and fishing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway

Property: Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing