We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unconcerned management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unconcerned management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed in this motel on a few occasions, it just keeps getting worse. The front desk are unconcerned, uncaring and not friendly at all. Housekeeping starts knocking on doors at 8:00am and keeps knocking about every 2 hours. When you ask what the want, they pretend not to understand English. The motel is in dire need of cleaning, security and a lesson in customer service. If you stay here, beware, not worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    463
    159
    42
    40
See reviews for
440
465
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We planned a somewhat last minute visit to Siesta Key and were able to find rooms at this Best Western. Accommodations are clean. Pool is heated and very nice. They provide breakfast which is not great but does iniclude both hot items, cereal, yogurt and fruit. Coffee and tea are available 24 hours a day as is popcorn. There are several decent restaurants which you can walk to which is a plus. Overall we had a very good stay. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RochesterRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Pros:
-- coupon for 2 free drinks at pool bar
-- clean pool and pool/hot tub area is open late
-- spacious room (except bathroom is a bit old/tiny)
-- convenient location (although I didn't use the shuttle, I'd recommend using it if you want to go into Siesta Key for dinner)
-- large tv with lots of channels

Cons:
-- bathroom area is a little old/grimy but it works
-- there weren't any clean towels at the pool Sunday night

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

A friendly and efficient check in, and out. A clean, comfortable, quiet and friendly hotel. The work desk could be better located, a bit too close to the bed for someone to get past when the chair is in use, otherwise all amenities were in good working order. The welcome drink by the pool was appreciated, as was the availability of coffee etc all day. The breakfast room benefitted from the fact that the service area was seperated from the eating area and so resulted in minimal disturbance as one ate. There were several restuarants for dinner nearby. We liked Harry's Sports Bar & Grill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

as it was very clean, friendly, everyone is very helpful and had a nice room and pool area. Located in a very convenient area and not far from all the good stuff Sarasota has to offer. Very good breakfast and very good help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Impressive for a 'Road-side' hotel. Especially enoyed the fresh-popped popcorn - a nice welcome. Super convenient to Sarasota venues, restaurants and to the beach without the beachfront prices. Liked it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 512ellenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I've stayed in many Best Westerns, and I'd put this one on par with the rest. It certainly isn't a luxury hotel, but it's a nice place to stay if you want to stay near Siesta Key without spending a fortune. I stayed with my mother for three nights in the peak season (March). The hotel was certainly full and parking was sometimes challenging in the evenings, so we often had to walk a way to get back to our room. We stayed on the second floor and for the most part it was quiet. I recommend not staying poolside because it is quieter. The only downside of facing the parking lot is you have to keep your blinds closed, and then the room gets very dark. The room is rather small, but the beds are comfy enough. The bathroom was tiny but I like that the toilet/shower is separate from the sink. Breakfast is pretty typical continental style, not a lot to choose from but it's enough if you aren't too picky of an eater. Free popcorn all day is very good, we got some several times. Plenty of sit down and fast food eating options within walking distance of the hotel. We didn't take advantage of the free shuttle to the beach since we had a rental car. There's very little traffic in the late afternoon/evening, but if you're going around 10-11AM be prepared for bumper to bumper traffic if you're heading to the beach. Loved the pool area, the bar is great for drinks/snacks and there are quite a few loungers available. Overall I recommend this hotel. Price is high for the quality of the hotel, in my opinion, but when put in context of the location and season this is a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor and poolside rooms if you dislike noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.7 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231-4832 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing