We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a shuttle or a clean floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Shuttle service unreliable and hotel room clean other than the outer edges of the floors. Found a can of chewing tobacco on the floor an also spider eggs along the edge of the inside of the room on the floor. Thankfully, the beds were clean and the bathrooms were clean. Could use some updating of decor but nothing major. During a busy season this hotel is not prepared for a "full house" in accommodating their guests with their shuttle service and providing seating an enough help for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
5  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here with my kids & husband for the weekend? We chose this place because of its close location to the beach, yet it fell way below our expectations. The building is old and right next to it is a trailer parking area which was an eye sore. The first night we arrived we found hair in our pillows and mascara on the sheets! Explained to the front desk we needed clean pillow cases and sheets because ours were dirty and they were just like "ok", no apology, no concern. The next morning we found one of our towels was stained, luckily we found housekeeping on our floor and after arguing with us that she couldn't give us more than two towels (we were four), she obliged. The bathroom had mold growing on the walls and rust in the floor and the sink would clog up every time. We would spend the whole day out dreading the thought of returning to our dirty room, wondering whatever other disgusting stuff might have been concealed in it. Overall we will most definitely not be staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DeeTraveling_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is close to the beach and many restaruants, the free shuttle was great... Love the bartending staff out by the pool...Over all nice rooms, not fancy but good for the price. I highly recommend the sports bar Harry's in front of the hotel; Good food nice staff and good entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place to stay for the money. Clean and comfortable. Blankets on bed were less than adequate but everything else was wonderful. Right across from shopping center and grocery store. Very close to Siesta Key Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

love love this clean great hotel... pool and patio bar so nice. but very disappointed in siesta key, now thats just our personal feeling, but anyway the hotel was a great price, very close to the beaches if you like beaches like that..

would stay there in a heart beat..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btaylorFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I was a guest at this hotel and I brought my own down pillow from home. Unfortunately when I checked out, I left my pillow in the room. I realized my mistake when I got home the next day. I immediately called to inquire about it and I was transferred to the general managers voicemail. I left a voicemail and no one ever returned my call.

I called again today and was told that no such items where reported as found in their log book. So basically whom ever cleaned this room, is a THIEF. So I told the manager that I KNOW I left it in the room so obviously someone on their staff was enjoying my pillow as much as I did and she replied, "I guess so." I will definitely NOT being staying here ever again if this is the way that theft is handled at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Theft9014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our family and I stayed here for two nights. The rooms were very clean. The shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The beds were super comfortable.
The pool was clean and beautiful with a nice little tiki bar and towels were provided as well by the pool.
The breakfast was great. Delicious food and a wide variety too.
The location was perfect by being close to many shops and not very far from the beautiful Siesta Key beach. There was also a free shuttle that would take you to and from the beach, although we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,555 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 50 in Sarasota
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: £100 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing