We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hyatt with great views that could use a refresh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Compared to most Hyatt hotels, this one looks tired. The staff is pleasant enough, but the rooms could use a good updating or refreshing. Bathroom tiles were chipped, water stains covered corners and ceilings in the bathroom, carpets were worn, all cosmetic issues, not functional. The small room refrigerator must have come from Mexico, because it hardly keep things cooler than the room temperature. Our room was behind the elevators and I swear there was a cat caught in there - constant chirping and squealing at all hours. Maybe start the updating with some WD-40 oil! All the rooms had views of the Sarasota Bay. Pool is fine for wading and has a walk out entry at one end and a waterfall at the other. You can easily walk to old downtown Sarasota - shops, marina, grocery, and plenty of eating choices.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your review. While this does not cover all of your concerns, please know that we will be installing new carpet in all of our guestrooms starting in just a few weeks. I will review the other concerns with the appropriate divisions here at the hotel and make sure these issues are corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,437 - 1,443 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a much smaller Hyatt Regency than I have stayed at before but every staff person I encountered was welcoming. From the Valet, to the Front Desk, and the entire food and beverage staff. Zero entry pool was great. One side of the hotel over looks a small marina, and onthe other side you see the bay. Nice, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGM4787YA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for that informative and accurate pool. We find that the zero entry pool is great for all ages and the views from each side of the hotel are fantastic. Our staff tries to make each guest experience exactly what that particular guest is looking for so we hope you return to the hotel sooner rather than later as we would love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Hyatt had a very welcoming staff and everyone was very accommodating during my entire stay. The room was very clean and restocked with a nice balcony looking over Sarasota. The meeting rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was good. I found the bed to be very comfortable. The restaurant kitchen was a bit slow on Friday afternoon, but there were many people at lunch. I did not have the opportunity to use the pool. but I was impressed by the gym and the equipment available. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry you didn't get to relax by our pool, maybe next time right? Thank you for pointing out our gym facility. We think it fits the size of our hotel and having all relatively new equipment certainly helps. If another business trip brings you back, or simply vacation, please think of us as we would love to have you back at the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We live in town, and this was a one night get-away. I haven't stayed at the Hyatt in a very long time, and the room was nicely updated. We had a lovely view of the marina in a very good sized room. There is a shuttle that takes you to the beaches and St. Armand's circle. Saw a lot of people in the lobby and restaurant, but the room was extremely quiet, perfect for a light sleeper like myself. I highly recommend staying here, we will again even though we live just a few miles away!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanS190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are alway interested to hear what our guests have to say but I find the local perspective very interesting so thanks again fro sharing. We are actually planning a carpet renovation in a few months so if you need another staycation, come on back and check us out! Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a family of 4, 2 adults, 2 children for 4 nights. We had 2 double beds with no balcony.

Room: room was really spacious, nice bright decor, missed having a balcony though. Beds very comfy. Includes iPod charger/alarm clock, fridge and coffee machine with Starbucks coffee. Bathroom is on the small side, but the sink is separate from that so you don't feel like you are struggling for room. Our fridge was a bit noisy in the night (think its on its last legs), but no major problem. Could do with a bit more storage space, mainly drawers, but we managed.

Pool: kids really enjoyed the pool. It was quiet most of the time we were there. Not too cold either - I hate a cold pool!! Plenty of sun loungers and there is a spa too. Pool towels are provided for guests. There is a poolside bar, but we didn't use it.

Hotel: the hotel is quite busy, especially at weekends as they seem to have a lot of conferences on, so it can be a little noisy outside. Wifi is charged at $10 a day for your room, but it is complimentary in the lobby. We didn't use the restaurant. My husband used the gym every morning, which he said was well equipped. We had s'mores one night around the fire pit, which was nice. It was $15 for a kit for 4.

Location: the hotel is in a good spot. Although it's not right on the beach, it is a short drive. We walked to Toasted Mango for breakfast which I would recommend. You could also walk to the marina and Main St. where there are a few shops and restaurants. It would be about a 10 min walk. St Armand's circle is a short drive away with lots of boutiques and restaurants and ice cream places.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank cjh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for the review! Wow, it sounds like you took full advantage of what the hotel and Sarasota has to offer, good for you! The fire pit is a recent addition and it gets quite a few viitiors on a nightly basis. Again, thank you for the thorough review of not just the hotel, but Sarasota as well. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The interior was upgraded with nice, modern furniture and accessories but the exterior is ugly and the balcony is so rusty it feel unsafe sitting next to it. The hotel's foods are so bad for such a hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank bichn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You are correct, we did enhance the interior of the hotel and we get many positive comments rearging the design, thank you for pointing that out. If you have a few minutes though, can you please email me and expand on your last comment. I'm not sure I completely understood it. Our F&B team source much of our produce locally and we take pride in offering healthy options on all of our menus. I look forward to the clarification and I hope to see you again at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have stayed here many times while visiting Sarasota. If you care about the beach, this is not the place for you -- it's not on the beach. But they do have a very nice pool. Rooms are good-sized. Service is pleasant.

Parking tip: Valet is overpriced. But you can park on the street directly in front of the hotel -- free, even overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for the review. You're right, if the customer is looking to put their toes in the sand when they step out of their room, this isn't the hotel for them. We offer a shuttle to and from Lido Beach and that takes about 10 minutes each way but thank you you again for giving this review and being a returning guest. If there is anything else we can do to make the hotel feel like a home away from home for you, please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 50 in Sarasota
938 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#12 of 50 in Sarasota
244 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £165 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing