We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An overall great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An overall great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

A series of airport mishaps resulted in us not arriving until nearly midnight, but despite that, Erica at the front desk handled our check in quickly and efficiently. Get a harbor view room if you can, the view from ours was fantastic. The hotel is located in an ideal location for jaunts to St. Armond's Circle, Siesta Key, and numerous other points of interest. Or just stay in, and enjoy the pool, bar, fitness center, and other amenities. I realize that this review is starting to sound a bit like a Hyatt advertisement, so I'll stop here, except to say that the place really did live up to its advertising claims.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the harbor side. The view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry5b6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for the free advertising....we only kid but thank you for taking the time to write your review. While it wsa unfortunate that you had flights delays, we are glad that you could unwind and enjoy what Sarasota has to offer. We hope to see you here again soon and please continue to post because we do review these on a regular basis and gleen whatever we can from the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    668
    235
    94
    47
See reviews for
468
722
76
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
779 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here on points over Christmas for three nights and were kindly moved to a balcony room overlooking the pool - which is a must for enjoying the view. The rooms are nice but showing some wear and the toilet tended to run. The bed was so very comfortable I'd like to know what it was so I could buy a new mattress. . The location is great for walking to restaurant downtown which is very convenient. We will stay here again when in town for the holidays.

Room Tip: You want a south facing room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We're here at dinner on 12/26 & the ONLY music that has played the entire day is Christmas music. It's time to move on.
Rooms nice, warm pool nice, very quiet (except for Christmas music). Very clean. Bay view means view of about 10 boatslips & the Ritz Carlton. Seriously, you look put your window and there is the entire span of the Ritz. Wish there was free wi-fi in the rooms. Instead. All the guests are piled in the lobby where it IS free?????

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fawnlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The hotel certainly looks at the feedback given by customers like yourself and we will look at the timing of when and where we play seasonal music. We have recently added a few attrations to our hotel like kayaking, family activities, etc and one of the items packaged in with the resort fee is wireless internet in the guestrooms for up to 5 devices. Please let us know what you think of it the next time you stay with us as again, we do look at these reviews frequently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We are generally big fans of Hyatt, have attained Diamond most years for many years, and have stayed in Hyatt properties around the world. We have stayed in this particular Hyatt several times, and are sorry that it seems to be in need of revitalization. They say they have spent $22 million in renovations, but the room we had didn't show any evidence of it. The location is excellent and our view of the marina and pool from a high floor room with balcony was superb. That is the only really good thing this trip. The rooms and baths are rather dated. Bathroom is tiny, and only tub, no walk-in shower. Sound-proofing is lacking. You can see light from the hall around the door jamb, and could hear people passing by. In the night and again in the morning we could hear a barking dog in a nearby room. There were renovations (carpet laying we were told) taking place above us, and this noise went on until at least 6 PM and again in the morning. I know renovations are necessary, but maybe not place guests directly underneath. The worst thing was the horrid sulfur water in the bathroom taps. I grew up in Florida and have not smelled sulfur that bad in over 40-years. They must need attention to their filtering devices. They also charge $5 per bottle for drinkable water, and there is no way you could drink that foul-smelling tap water.
We went out to enjoy the firepit, but there was a man smoking a very smelly cigar - despite signs advising the deck was non-smoking. The front desk did call security to ask this person to stop.
The worst experience was in the restaurant. The waiter was not particularly friendly when he heard we were tired and just wanted some drinks and a light meal from the bar menu. We each ordered wine and asked to share a lo-mein. The waiter said he would bring bread, which never did show up. The lo-mein was served in a 1-pint "to-go" Chinese cardboard container. Maybe the kitchen staff thinks it is cute, but when paying $15 for a TINY portion, you expect a classier presentation. The menu did not mention that the dish was spicy, and even though we enjoy spicy food, it was too much for my wife. The waiter brought two sets of disposable chopsticks, but only ONE bowl. When we complained about the taste, presentation and quality, he did have the charge removed. Feel Hyatt management is not paying attention to details in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and view over water are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Hyatt Sarasota was a wonderful getaway from the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping this month. We stayed two relaxing nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The location on the bay is a short walk to downtown restaurants and parks. The Hyatt is also only a five minute drive to St. Armands Circle and Lido Beach. The staff was extremely friendly and upgraded us right away to a wonderful bay view room with balcony. We have decided to make this Hotel an annual Pre-Christmas getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal22SWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review and I'm happy to see that we were able to create such a positive experience that it will keep you coming back year after year. We appreciate your business and if there is anyhting else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know. See you in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

this is a comfortable place,warm inviting lobby,great bar and drinks. Nice pool
and friendly staff. Room was large and I enjoyed the terrace and relaxing in the sun.
My only complaint would be the food in the restaurant. When I questioned the hotel I was informed they were breaking in a new chef. Some thing were fine, like the bread
and flavored oil to dip it in-others were inedible. Portions were small but you didn't care but it wasn't very good anyway. It's a 3 minute drive to Main Street filled with great restaurants. Best advice eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water and pool so you can enjoy the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While I am glad your overall stay was great, the food experience was not up to par. I will certainly pass this along to the Chef and he will address personally. Our restaurant has gone through a recent seasonal change however, the kitchen and servers have been thoroughly trained on the new items so there is no excuse for this. Again, thank youy for sharing your experience and we will use this to continue to refine our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

If your going to charge top dollar you need to actually have a product that is worth the money.This Hyatt is not up to par. Room was fairly spacious but the toilet was falling of the base and kept running constantly.They came up to fix that problem but then it would keep going on and off and still very unstable.Cable TV had very poor reception.We were stationed next to the elevator and had to listen to the elevator bell go off all night.
Ok its a new day but things didn't get any better for breakfast .I am a Diamond Hyatt member and buffet breakfast came with the room..Sat us a t a table that must previously had 10 kids eating at it as there were crumbs all over the carpet. Am I the only one who noticed? Went down hill from there. Buffet was not edible .Bacon was greasy and scrambled eggs were dry and over cooked..Coffee was luke warm. Get me out of this place.

Room Tip: don't get near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#14 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing