We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice with just a few drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent choice with just a few drawbacks”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while on vacation and overall had a great experience. The rooms are beautiful and the balcony overlooked the bay. The amenities were great including the paddle boats kayaks and fishing rentals. Rob Hobbs who helped us was amazing. We walked to dinner which was a plus but almost got hit by a crazy driver. The cons were we wanted to let our daughter roast marshmallows we have done at a lot of hyatt and the price was three times the amount it is at other hyatt resorts. $16 for a small bag of marshmallows is ridiculous. The other thing was that even though we were checking out housekeeping woke us up at 830am.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tinyrucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the resort fee inclusions. It is a relatively new program however, with Rod handling the logistics, as you experienced, we are getting great reviews. I ceretainly apologize for the disturbance by our Housekeeping Department. We train all of our staff to be respectful of our guests and it sounds like this was not done. Please let me know when you plan to be back in the area and I will make sure your experience exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    702
    247
    105
    53
See reviews for
500
758
78
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were at the Hyatt Regency Sarasota this past weekend for two nights, running a half marathon on Sunday morning. The hotel is easy to find, directions on our confirmation email were spot on. We were greeted by a friendly valet who advised us that we could use his services or self park. We chose to self park were allowed to borrow his bell cart and take our things upstairs. Check-in was fast and easy, we had room 305 overlooking the marina with a small "look thru a couple buildings out to the bay view".

Our room had two double beds (we would have preferred a king however due to the race and when we reserved our room this was what was available) and compared to other double rooms we've been in, was very large. Plenty of room to move around both beds, large vanity area with separate toilet, tub/shower. (Fabulous shower with a great shower head with lots of water pressure!:):)) large closet, desk, flat screen TV, small fridge and in-room safe. We also had a small balcony with two chairs and a small table. Room was very clean (window to the outside could have been cleaner though) plenty of towels, etc. The only thing that was a bit odd is that there is no official dresser to unpack your things. There are two drawers located in the same unit that holds the small fridge but otherwise not much storage space for your things. We moved somethings around on the shelf unit in the sink area and made do.

My spouse is a Hyatt Platinum member which came with automatic late check-out of 2:00 pm, free paddle board and free pedal boat rentals. As we were there to run we didn't get to partake of all the cool amenities but would love to come back and take advantage of the beautiful pool and all the toys at the marina. We didn't go down to the pool during the day but it was well used with ok amounts of umbrellas for shade etc. There is a fire pit turned on during the evenings that we did utilize Sat. night. Very fun to sit on the sofas, put your feet up and chat with friends while it gets cool and you stay warm!

We did not use the fitness center or have drinks at the bar.

Currents is the restaurant serving B/L/D. We had lunch after running our half marathons. Hotel restaurants can be hit or miss and this one was a total hit! Really fabulous! The menu was varied and had something for everyone (we're all a bit particular!). The burger people were very happy, said the burgers were excellent and perfectly cooked. The blackened grouper sandwich with no bun person said her grouper was excellent as were the accompanying fries. I had the fish tacos - really really good too. Served with salsa verde and a bottle of a locally made hot sauce if I wanted to try. I did and it was great! Our fifth person did the create your own salad and loved it! Great service went right along with our great food! To say the least we were thrilled!

We've stayed at other Hyatts and this ranks as one of the best! We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
First of all, congrats on being able to run a half marathon! I ran 2 of them about 3 years ago and you have inspired me to get back into 'running shape'. We appreciate that you pointed out the water activities that you would have enjoyed for free because of status. We very much hope to host you again and hope that you get to enjoy our farm-to-fork restaurant again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Lovely hotel with balconies and views of bay. Nice pool area and great location! Close to downtown and beach. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. The restaurant is nice and food is good, too. The decor is very beachy and fun. I would return!

Room Tip: Request high floor with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiebella7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank for for your review. We very much apreciate the positive feedback about our physical hotel and the staff. We take great pride in making our guests feel welcomed and love when they return! Have a wonderful weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gautier, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Other than losing our reservation (again), this was a very pleasant stay, as always. Hors d'oeuvres by the pool and cocktails at the dock make it tough to stay at a budget chain. The rooms are always clean and room service gets an A+. Eggs Benedict for breakfast is a must.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoughWaterMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I certainly apologize for the reservation mishap but it sounds like it was figured out and you had a wonderful time. We appreciate you business and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This place is a dump. The water smells and I cannot get the taste out of my mouth. The rooms are old. I talked to the staff and they said they are getting the same comments. It needs work. Not sure why they do not fix the issues or apologize. They also charge you a fee for water in your room.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David9619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am sorryt o hear that your stay was less than satisfactory especially when it came to the water quality. Have checked into this and we did not receive any other complaints of the water quality so it sounds this was an isolated incent however this is still a concern to us because we want each and every guest to have a wonderful experience. Please let us know when you will be back in the hotel andwe will make sure your stay with us far exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Walking in you're surrounded by the sound of water cascading over rocks which was very nice. Walk inside I felt like I was in one of those luxe Miami hotels with the modern tropical feel. The breakfast buffet was free with triple AAA and it's a good one (but our waitress never even went to our table for breakfast and ignored us pretty much, had to get drinks ourselves). Dinner was pretty nice too a little pricey but healthy food so it's hand in hand, our server was very good for dinner. When we went to checkin all went smoothly for my checkin but my friend who assigned a balcony overlooking the bay next to ours for some reason was re-booked... Meaning her room was no more by their error and there were no rooms nearby ours with a balcony view so she had to pick one without a balcony which was closer but not in the same hall even... So that's my only complaint really was the booking mishap. Room design was very nice for the ladies, not sure how the gentlemen would feel (or necessarily care even). Lilly Pulitzer (hope I spelled that right) designed pretty much the entire interior design of the hotel so that should give you a good idea what to expect. Nice free Starbucks coffee maker in the room and the bathroom felt very clean to me. Overall I would stay here again when in Sarasota.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabeerart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comment regarding the helthy menu options in the restaurant are both accurate and refreshing. I'm glad to hear when our guests notice the farm-to-table concept that Chef has brought to the hotel. We will certainly try harder the next time you come to get your friends closer as you had requested but until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Husband and I needed to get out of polar vortex so found this hotel. I didn't want to rent a car so needed a place that A.offered ability to do things without a car B. offered fun amenities C. spacious pool and hot tub. Hyatt delivered all of the above, the shuttle service afforded us ability to visit lido beach by day and historical sarasota for dinner. The town also was walking distance and safe- so we even walked home one night after being out. The kayaks and bikes which are included in resort fee, gave us some other fun options during day, aside from reading next to the clean, spacious pool. The pool even has a "lane" for laps. the resort activities/fitness staff were very nice and super helpful, there is a 4 mile run (one way) you can do over the causeway, past bird key to armbands circle and they have a little map for you if you are ambitious. we ended up the riding bikes to armands for lunch- they provide helmet and bike lock. My only CON- we got shooed from the cabana's (which i understand are supposed to by rental/reserve only), however there were NO OPTIONS for sitting at pool as people had towels on empty chairs, so felt a bit pissed that the staff couldn't have assisted me instead of scolding.

Room Tip: ask for open balcony, some rooms don't have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upstater114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write your post. It sounds like you really mad ethe most of your time wich is great to hear! Thank you for commenting on our new resort fee program. We have had positive feedback about the program. We do not condone placing towels on unoccupied chairs on the pooldeck and do our best to control these situations. Nevertheless, you should not have been made to feel like you were intruding in the cabanas and I apologize that you were made to feel that way. While I certainly hope for you sake that the cold weather doesn't continue, please think of us the next time the snow starts falling and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 48 in Sarasota
928 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
205 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing