We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time at a Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Time at a Hyatt”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I arrived at the Hyatt in Sarasota on March 11th 2014 with my wife, 4 year old daughter and 4 month old son to stay and visit some relatives for a couple nights. Upon arriving at the hotel we were treated, almost over treated by the bell staff who were very happy to assist us with just about everything. On our way to the lobby I was impressed by the decor and 2 wall waterfalls before entering. The front desk staff were very inviting and we had our rooms keys in know time at all. We had reserved a room with 2 double beds which were surprisingly very spacious, which we needed because of the baby. The room was standard with a fridge, that was a big plus for us! My only small complaint would be that the bathroom was very small, it was hard not to hit the door with your elbows when drying off from the shower. Other then that the beds, HDTV, Fridge and chairs were all great. At $250 a night it was not that bad of a price. Soon after getting settled we made our way to the pool area which was very nice and they also had a great little bar out there too. If you choose to stay here make sure you order the Miami Vice off the drink menu. The pool was just the right size and had umbrella tables and many reclining sun chairs surrounding it. At night they light up a good size fire pit and you are able to buy smore kits at the restaurant or just snuggle and enjoy the warmth. We were on vacation so I was a little disappointed that the outside bar closed so early, at dusk. It just would have made it easier to get a drink rather then going inside, up one level to the bar then back outside. The location of Hyatt is also great, it is close to shopping areas, restaurants and great sight seeing attractions. We only had dinner there one night and thought the food was good but nothing special. On our last day we went to the breakfast buffet before checking out. The buffet had a great variety choices which was okay for $20 a head. So to sum up the Hyatt, it is a very nice hotel for a family stay and what I could see for a business stay also. The hotel did not look run down, it was quite at night and all the staff were super friendly. If I am in the area again I will defiantly look into staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bondnh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for the glowing review and you are not the first person to comment on the hours of the pool bar so we have made the swtich to leave it open for a few hours more. That decision obviously didn't affect your stay however, you will be able to enjoy the convenience of the bar later the next time you return. Again, thanky ou for taking the time to write your review and we will share this with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    678
    238
    98
    48
See reviews for
474
728
76
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MAINE
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was in town on business, but this is a place I would enjoy bring my family. They have an optional "resort charge" that I thought was a really nice touch for people who want to take advantage of some of the offerings. Pool scene is definitely family friendly. The pool itself is plenty big to accommodate kids on one end and adults in the other end (near the bar, conveniently).

Staff was so incredibly nice and helpful. For example, I asked if things were walking distance at night and they immediately offered me a shuttle to downtown, with advice on either walking back or getting a cab back. That's just one example of top notch service throughout the stay.

As others have mentioned, there is no need to eat here with the offerings located nearby.

Room Tip: Front side has several rooms without balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank withliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We would love to for you to come back down witht he family and take the time really enjoy the hotel and what we have to offer. Also included inthe resort fee are kayaks, bikes and paddle boards so the family might enjoy that as well. We look forward to seeing you again and thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We chose the Hyatt Regency based on its waterfront location, which was just a few minute’s drive via the complimentary shuttle to downtown Sarasota. Our room overlooked the marina and had a fresh modern interior. It was well appointed and even offered a ‘menu’ of extra items such as robes and lighted makeup mirror (!)available if needed...which I requested to test if actually available – they were!

We dined in on our first night, and the food was good, though I felt the restaurant lacked atmosphere. Likewise the bar, which was sandwiched between dining room and spilled into the reception area, was fine for a pre/post drink, but not so much for a full evening. Downtown and its plethora of bars and restaurants are a few minute’s drive away, though just as close is St Armands Circle, just across the John Ringling Causeway. Here you’ll find a number of upmarket stores and eateries. It’s well worth the cab ride. Try and get a table on the terrace at Cafe L’Europe, food is sublime and the people watching not too bad either!

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent, but pricey. So we nipped across the road to a diner on the other side of the highway for typical good value breakfast fayre.

Although the pool area was clean and well designed, it did get busy during our stay due to an influx of groups attending some of large functions taking place, so I’d recommend driving out to Siesta Beach - just 15 mins by car. Classic white sands that stretch for miles, with a basic snack bar and sun lounger/umbrella hire - so was perfect for a day’s R&R. Close to the beach, on Ocean Blvd, you'll find plenty of cafés for a casual bite, drinks etc.

While I personally prefer ‘boutique’ hotels, I couldn’t fault our stay here. The room was plush and comfy, service excellent and the hotel itself was in a good location close (but far enough away from) central Sarasota. And complimentary parking a bonus too!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for the great review and feedback! You hit on some great points about the dining in the area and our proximity to the beaches. We take pride in offering a superior product and have our guests wanting to come back so I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

When we booked this hotel we thought it would be a four or five star hotel, especially for the price. However, it was a three-star at best. The lobby and outdoor areas were lovely, but our room needed some updating. The soap dish in the shower was hanging by a thread and could not be used because everything would fall out. There was also a lose part of the faucet in the shower. These two issues were fixed by the hotel after we pointed out the problem. One day we left our room for breakfast around 9 am and returned about 45 minutes later to find the housekeeper cleaning our room. We asked her to please come back in 20 minutes when we would leave the room again. We returned to the room around 3:30 to discover that our room had not been completely cleaned as yet, there were no clean towels or soap; obviously, the housekeeper had not returned to complete the job. We asked for service, and she did return a bit later.

While we had booked a room with a view and a balcony, we were put in a room without a balcony although it did have a nice view.

It seems to me that problems like this shouldn't happen at an upscale hotel, especially one that is quite expensive. Then there was the snarly clerk at the front desk, although most of the people we encountered were very nice. The hotel is well located a short ride from downtown. There is a shuttle, which we didn't use because it stops running too early.

We loved Sarasota and will definitely return, although probably not to the Hyatt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I agree, the issues that you experienced should not happen at our hotel, regardless of the rate being charged. I am glad to hear that the Engineering issues were fixed to satisfaction hwoever the housekeeping isses are more troubling. I can assure you that your experience is unique and when you do come back, if you could please let me know I would very much like to have you back at the hotel and will personally make sure you have a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spent 6 nights.Staff generally service-oriented. Room was comfortable. The location was close enough to walk to restaurants, many very good (e.g. ROAST, Mediterraneo, Cafe Bijou), and to many of the other attractions. Good access to internet.
The weak spot was the food. We tried the dining room for one breakfast and one dinner and had one other dinner through room service. In our opinion, none of these offerings were up to the standard one would expect at a major hotel; a limousine driver volunteered that at one time it had been considered first class but he had seen it steadily decline.
Sarasota seems to have a strong cultural life, at least in high season. The Selby Botanical Gardens and the Ringling Museum complex were very much enjoyed as was a long walk in Osker Sherer State Park.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sarasota has done a fantastic job in attracting the Arts. You hit two of the best attractions in Selby and Ringling and there is much more to see year-round. Thank you for pointing thos out. You also are correct in that Sarasota has many different restaurants to choose from. I'm concerned about your ecperience in the restaurant however, Chef has concentrated on executing a farm-to-table concept in the restaurant to ensure the freshest product. I wll pass this along to him to see where the inconsistancy is. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and I hope that have the chnace to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while on vacation and overall had a great experience. The rooms are beautiful and the balcony overlooked the bay. The amenities were great including the paddle boats kayaks and fishing rentals. Rob Hobbs who helped us was amazing. We walked to dinner which was a plus but almost got hit by a crazy driver. The cons were we wanted to let our daughter roast marshmallows we have done at a lot of hyatt and the price was three times the amount it is at other hyatt resorts. $16 for a small bag of marshmallows is ridiculous. The other thing was that even though we were checking out housekeeping woke us up at 830am.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tinyrucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the resort fee inclusions. It is a relatively new program however, with Rod handling the logistics, as you experienced, we are getting great reviews. I ceretainly apologize for the disturbance by our Housekeeping Department. We train all of our staff to be respectful of our guests and it sounds like this was not done. Please let me know when you plan to be back in the area and I will make sure your experience exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were at the Hyatt Regency Sarasota this past weekend for two nights, running a half marathon on Sunday morning. The hotel is easy to find, directions on our confirmation email were spot on. We were greeted by a friendly valet who advised us that we could use his services or self park. We chose to self park were allowed to borrow his bell cart and take our things upstairs. Check-in was fast and easy, we had room 305 overlooking the marina with a small "look thru a couple buildings out to the bay view".

Our room had two double beds (we would have preferred a king however due to the race and when we reserved our room this was what was available) and compared to other double rooms we've been in, was very large. Plenty of room to move around both beds, large vanity area with separate toilet, tub/shower. (Fabulous shower with a great shower head with lots of water pressure!:):)) large closet, desk, flat screen TV, small fridge and in-room safe. We also had a small balcony with two chairs and a small table. Room was very clean (window to the outside could have been cleaner though) plenty of towels, etc. The only thing that was a bit odd is that there is no official dresser to unpack your things. There are two drawers located in the same unit that holds the small fridge but otherwise not much storage space for your things. We moved somethings around on the shelf unit in the sink area and made do.

My spouse is a Hyatt Platinum member which came with automatic late check-out of 2:00 pm, free paddle board and free pedal boat rentals. As we were there to run we didn't get to partake of all the cool amenities but would love to come back and take advantage of the beautiful pool and all the toys at the marina. We didn't go down to the pool during the day but it was well used with ok amounts of umbrellas for shade etc. There is a fire pit turned on during the evenings that we did utilize Sat. night. Very fun to sit on the sofas, put your feet up and chat with friends while it gets cool and you stay warm!

We did not use the fitness center or have drinks at the bar.

Currents is the restaurant serving B/L/D. We had lunch after running our half marathons. Hotel restaurants can be hit or miss and this one was a total hit! Really fabulous! The menu was varied and had something for everyone (we're all a bit particular!). The burger people were very happy, said the burgers were excellent and perfectly cooked. The blackened grouper sandwich with no bun person said her grouper was excellent as were the accompanying fries. I had the fish tacos - really really good too. Served with salsa verde and a bottle of a locally made hot sauce if I wanted to try. I did and it was great! Our fifth person did the create your own salad and loved it! Great service went right along with our great food! To say the least we were thrilled!

We've stayed at other Hyatts and this ranks as one of the best! We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
First of all, congrats on being able to run a half marathon! I ran 2 of them about 3 years ago and you have inspired me to get back into 'running shape'. We appreciate that you pointed out the water activities that you would have enjoyed for free because of status. We very much hope to host you again and hope that you get to enjoy our farm-to-fork restaurant again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing