We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need for a great vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
delafield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a great vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We just got back from a 5 day stay at Hyatt (4/10-4/14) and we absolutely loved it! From the lobby, to the rooms, to the pool, all were outstanding, clean, modern, updated and well appointed. I don't understand why prior reviews stated hallways were tired/outdated??? Not the case at all! Hotel staff all were very friendly and courteous. The rooms are quite spacious, however the only downside were the lack of drawer space for myself and 2 teenage boys. But we made do and used the closet shelf to place shorts/tee shirts, etc. Beds were very comfortable and the view was beautiful, overlooking the marina & pool. Although our room did not have the balcony, which was at a higher rate, the alcove had a lounge chair which made for nice place to relax and enjoy the view. The location was perfect, close to downtown, beach & St. Armand's Circle was a short shuttle ride away and fun place to spend the afternoon shopping, eating, etc. However if you missed the free shuttle, a cab ride was up to $13 for a mere 3 mile ride! Each time we took a cab, the driver quoted me a different price, which was annoying! It would be nice for hotel to consider adding more round trips to/from the circle each day.

Pool servers were always available to bring drinks if you needed and they even had servers offering free popsicles each afternoon to all ages, which my boys enjoyed!

Did not take advantage of the restaurant but did have drinks at Current's bar one evening. Each morning we walked to a local restaurant; Toasted Mango which was excellent and conveniently located right across the street. Great place to sit outside and have breakfast each day. Tip: go early or the wait can be up to 30 minutes, but worth the wait :)

We took advantage of the activities included in the resort fee, which were so worth it! The paddle boats were fun and especially the paddle boarding because we encountered a Manatee one of the days and it was such a treat, as it spent quite a while swimming under our boards and hanging out with the group that were lucky enough to have been in the bay at this time! Made for a great experience!

I would definitely recommend choosing Hyatt Regency if you are planning a trip to the Sarasota area. It was such a great place to stay! Trust me, I am a very picky when it comes to hotels and always expect my stays to be Ritz Carlton worthy and this place definitely is! It is a great place for the price (however I have corp rate so paid signifigantly less).

Room Tip: Although I didn't this time, spend the extra to have an outside balcony. It would have been nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your thorough review of the hotel. You are not the only one who has commented on the lack of drawer space and these reviews are very much taken into consideration when understanding how to remodel or improve the hotel so thank you for that feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    652
    229
    93
    45
See reviews for
446
705
73
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We chose this hotel after opting for a more modern place rather than the tired looking ones that we saw reviewed in the Sarasota area. So pleased we paid the little extra as this hotel was lovely. From the moment we drove up we were greeted with excellant service. Service from all staff was first rate. Our room, 1007 faced the quay and was lovely. Spacious and comfortable. We opted for the Romance package and had strawberries and champers in the room....why not !!!

Pool area was very pleasant and the bar staff were likewise always happy to help. Someone also came round with cold face towels and iced lollies when it got really hot. Lovely touch I thought.

We thought about breakfast in the room but decided to go downstairs instead and we were very pleased we did. The selection was great and the whole experiance well worth having.

We didnt eat at the hotel but the desk staff were very helpful in suggesting other places to go. We went to St Arnands Cirlce using the courtesy bus from the hotel. Big selection of places to eat and loads of shops to keep madam happy. We ate at Crab and Fin first night and then Tommy Bahamas the next night. Would recommend them both.


Only there for two nights but wished it was more. Will def visit again.

10/10

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour. Great View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to hosting you again! St Armand's Circle has many great shops and restaurants so I'm glad you got to see more of Sarasota. Thank you for the lovely comments regarding our staff. They will be passed along in stand up meetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great location, right on a marina in downtown Sarasota. So easy to get around to the beaches, restaurants, baseball etc. Room was big, with a balcony overlooking the pool and marina. Valets, desk and restaurant staff all helpful and friendly. Very comfortable place to spend a week while taking in some spring training baseball games at Ed Smith (go Orioles!) highly recommend.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are worth the premium
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rlclark000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Go Orioles is right! Hanks for posting your review and thank you for commenting on not only the physical property but our staff. The staff is really what makes a difference in this hotel and we feel we have the best. Please consider us again when you return to Sarasota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Worth considering as a waterfront alternative to a beach resort. Friendly staff. Views on both sides are good; the pool (with a waterfall for the kids) looks over a marina. The lobby is drenched in light. Yellow tones in the rooms (which are oddly short on drawer space) soften the modern geometry. The restaurant (with a good grouper sandwich) is a cut above the hotel norm. The Van Wezel performance hall, a kid’s science museum, a tourist info centre and a waterfront walk are steps away. Island Park, the Sarasota Opera House, Selby Gardens and a Publix are manageable by foot. Bike rental is included with a resort fee. Lots of free parking. Comfortable beds round out the positive experience.

Room Tip: Room rates can be higher on the upper floors. We moved down from the seventh floor to the fourth and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albrechtsberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your informative review. I will just point out though that the children's museum across from us is no longer in business. The sign is still there however they are not open. Thanks again for writing your review and I hope we have the chance to host you again when you return to Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Arlington, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was the second hotel of our family spring break trip. I didn't realize how conveniently located this hotel was when I booked but it is so easy to get to wonderful beaches and attractions if you have a car. The room was nice, clean and larger than expected and had a fridge in room. Getting out of the shower and opening the door takes some special yoga moves since it is so compact. Be aware of the $15/day resort fee which includes internet access. With that fee can ride bikes, kayak and other activities although we didn't have time to do any of them. We did see kids playing with an oversized jenga and boccie ball on our first day there but we found out these are available during very limited times. The pool looked nice as well but again, we didn't spend much time at the hotel. Parking was free and plentiful which was a nice surprise as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for the glowing review. We think our location is a great mix of waterfront while being close to downtown so it's the best of both worlds. The resort fee has been a huge success so far and we are always looking at how we can do things better. We look forward to hosting your family again the next time you are in Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel provides shuttle service to St Armand's circle, Lido beach and downtown. I used it once, the drivers were very nice. The pool and the area are lovely. The only 2 downsides are the location and food choices - you have to drive everywhere ( you can walk to downtown, it's not very far, but this is not very practical with young children. ) The breakfast in the restaurant is very pricey. You can't walk out of the door and eat it somewhere else, you have to drive. The restaurant is serving teeny tiny portions.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank icecream79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It was very thorough and concise. While we are located downtown, I agree that the trek with small children would be a bit much. Thank you for mentioning our shuttle service as an option as well. I will give the food portion feedback to our chef so he can take this into consideration. We hope that we have the chance to host you and your family again the next time you are in Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I booked a room for my son for his wedding night and he turned up there with his new wife at midnight only to be turned away as he wasn't the one who made the booking. Not only do they ask for a cell number when you book which I provided they didn't call to rectify this and when I asked why my son and his wife were turned away and why they didn't call me I was told 'that is not in my job description'
Their wedding night was ruined and they had nowhere to go. They wouldn't even accept my sons credit card as payment.
Apparently we had to fax them a document but this was nowhere to be seen on the reservation system or confirmation.
They have happily taken $400 from my credit card though
All in all. I would never give them my custom again.
My son and his wife had to sleep in their car
DISGUSTING

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jolly1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and articulate the issues that your son experienced. It is never our goal to have a dissatisfied customer especially on the night of their wedding. While we can certainly sympathize with your dissatisfaction with your son’s experience, we would like to confirm that, at no point, was your credit card ever charged because your son never checked in and no charge was made at the time that you made the reservation. Further, I understand that the Front Desk Manager has been in contact with you and if there is anything else we can do, please let us know.
If you would like to discuss further, please reach out to out Director of Operations, Amer Safar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing