We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but too pricey for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but too pricey for what you get”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Pros: convenient location, attractive lobby, nice pool with faux waterfall that's really pretty. Rooms are nice, staff was nice and helpful. On site restaurant was good. Parking lot was convenient. Some rooms have good water and city views. Comfortable beds. Nice rooms.

Cons: overpriced compared to comparable properties in the area. They charge a daily "resort fee" on top of the quoted room rate, which is mandatory even if you won't use the things supposedly included with the resort fee. Pillows are not comfortable - they are overstuffed and super plump. Some of the views in rooms are of ugly parking lots, etc.

Check-in and check-out were easy for me, but some members of my family had a long wait and big mix-up when they checked in.

Overall, I can't say too much bad about this hotel, but you can stay at just-as-nice properties in the area for much less.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13ellezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We engineered the resort fee inclusions so that all of our guests can find value in it eg. not everyone will use the water sports but may enjoy the eater and internet in the guestroom. What could we have added to the package that would have made you feel comfortable and seen value int he resort fee? We hope to have you back soon and please reach out to me with any suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    683
    240
    99
    48
See reviews for
476
736
77
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed 4/24 because I had tickets to Van Wezel Theatre production just an easy block walk away. We also found the 10 minute walk to downtown and many restaurants easy, but I'm sure we'd "cab" it in the middle of Florida summer. Like prior reviewer bar nothing special - we did go up for happy hour to find the place deserted, but with a very friendly, pleasant, helpful bartender and staff. Not much of a view and sometimes loud because it's completely in the lobby area. We later found it busy with many folks there for convention/banquet room events. Front desk staff very helpful, patient with our questions. We spent the night on our boat in the small, very protected, quiet marina. I am being specific because we did not have to pay for parking or any other amenities, just the boat slip. Compared to many other marinas in Sarasota area their pricing was a good value. Additionally their dockmaster Tim was very helpful and knowledgeable about how to tie up a boat safely, properly, and not trying to hold the stanchions (bending them) - I had no hesitations throwing him lines, whereas most times we just assume dock ourselves. We're not pool people, but nice if you had a family, huge nice pool area with a hot tub - if that is "your thing". I understood they had showers, but we have our own on the boat so cannot attest to how those were, HOWEVER, my husband did go & visit the gym which he found very clean, ample to do his exercises. If we ever visit again by boat we would stay here again.

Room Tip: From what I saw there were many balcony rooms high enough to enjoy a nice view - watch out though th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Cannot address, did not apply to our marina stay. I perceive that as a reputable Hyatt they follow Hyatt's higher end standards.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quasibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad Tim was able to assist you properly and it was to your satisfaction. Our engineering and housekeeping staff work tirelessly to maintain out hotel and when guests comment on the cleanliness and state of the hotel, it is very rewarding because our staff does care about the facility and the overall experience of guests just like you and your husband. We hope to see you again soon whether you come by sea of land.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the moment we walked into the hotel we were impressed. We were greeted by staff willing to move/park our car etc... Stacey at check in was great. Very personable and friendly and explained everything we wanted to know about the resort. This was a splurge for us for our anniversary and she sent up a bottle of wine and truffles for us. Very impressive and most appreciated.

We had a king balcony with a side water view. Great room. Clean and the bed was very comfortable. The pool was very nice. Unfortunately the weather wasn't very nice so we couldn't take full advantage of the pool area.

Since we stayed two nights I decided to put some clothes in a drawer which I never do. And of course I left them there. I called about 4 hours after we checked out and spoke to Eleanora. She was very helpful and said they have my clothes and they boxed them up and sent them to my home address. I couldn't have been more impressed. I have left various other items at hotels and never have gotten anything back. Thank you very much Eleanora!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Other than the weather I couldn't have asked for anything better!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the great review and we will work on the weather the next time you are in town! I am delighted that you experienced the authentic hospitality that this hotel and Hyatt is all about. Your review has been shared and the employees have been recognized. Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
289 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a nice hotel, but nothing spectacular. Restaurant and bar is just okay. Hotel is pricey, yet they charge extra for internet, parking, daily resort fee, water, etc, etc, etc. It gets old. For the price, it should all be included. Front desk was helpful and friendly. Not much to do in the immediate vicinity but downtown is pretty close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Last year, we added some activities and value ads and created a Resort Fee. It includes, among other items, standard internet, 2 bottles of water per day kayaking, paddle boarding, pedal boating and biking, . The resort fee is $15 and for most, represents significant value to the point that many reviews we are receiving are saying just that. You are correct in that we charge for valet parking however, we do offer complimentary self parking. I’m not sure exactly why you were not offered this package however we will look into that and please know that moving forward, you will have all of these changes wrapped up into a lower cost Resort Fee. In the meantime, if you would like to reach out to Amer Safar, Dir of Operations, he would be happy to speak with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

First time in Sarasota having travelled down from Orlando.
The location of the hotel is great within easy reach of good restaurants and shops.
The choice of restaurants nearby diverted us away from the hotels own restaurant although we did sample the evening bar snacks which were good. As a base this area is well situated to explore . venice- longboat and siesta key all within a short drive.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dutchy996_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for making the trip over to the West Coast! Sarasota has the most Zagat rated restaurants per capita in the state of Florida so I can sympathize with your restaurant dilemma, although Currents is really good as well. It sounds like you got out and really did some of the great outings that we offer but there are many more so I hope we can host you again soon. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is located close to most sites in Sarasota like Botanical Gardens, Mote Aquarium, Siesta Key and Turtle Beach as well as very good restaurants on Main Street like Barnicle Bill's.
The hotel recently completed renovations, but the elevator and room are not very clean or pleasant.
The valet people are very friendly and helpful as well the reception girls. The restaurant at this place is very bad as my ribs were burned and dry with a lot of salt and my wife's fish dinner was also very dry and salty. The staff are very friendly and did not charge us for the chef's error. The swimming pool is very nice and the view from out room was nice as well. The cleaning lady does not clean. We had to tell her to clean the dirt off the switches and floor as well as the stains on the counter. She never vacuumed our room so it was very stuffy and difficult to sleep in.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible and as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
Green Features: did not notice any environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nihonjin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While it doesn't make up for the experience, I'm glad we were able to adjust the restaurant bill to show good faith. This has already been shared with Chef and he has addressed this issue. Housekeeping has also been made aware of the situation you experiencing. We constantly do internal training to ensure our guests have the best experience and feel the authentic hospitality that this hotel and Hyatt Hotels and Resorts strives for at each interaction. This feedback, while troubling, will help us make small the small tweaks necessary to achieve perfection. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very nice and updated with a cozy, beach flare. Beautiful views of the inter-coastal and bay. Pool was relaxing and beautiful, although not enough seating. This property is conveniently located less than a mile from downtown Sarasota and the marina.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The location of the hotel is a strong point as you pointed out, we are less than a mile from downtown and have our own private marina that opens up into the bay. We hope to have you back at the hotel soon and thank you for your feedback on the seating. We will review that during our internal meetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
917 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 49 in Sarasota
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing