We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice with beautiful pool & beachfront”
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lido Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Rented a single queen in the 4 story for 4 days in early November. The room was nice and airy with no smell but could use an update. However, bought some fudge the first night and left it unopened on the counter. Despite being on the 4th floor, the next morning we had an ant infestation. I only asked them to spray but they insisted on moving us to a suite in the tower. Great parking for the tower room also. A for customer service.

Restaurant was nice and open but expensive. However, our room came with breakfast vouchers so we never needed to pay other than tips. Food was great. Tiki bar was friendly and reasonably priced also.

Both adult only and family friendly pools gave us variety. Both were crystal clear. Plenty of chairs around both.

We liked the proximity to town and shops also. Town center was about a mile down the beach. You could walk, or drive or use the hotel's on demand free shuttle.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Definitely book early for a room FACING the ocean. Side rooms have a view but it's not the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will return, but certainly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We will certainly works towards your next stay being perfection. Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our third visit to Lido Beach Resort in 6 years. We enjoy the quiet family atmosphere of Sarasota and have always had a wonderful time and good weather. This trip was no exception. We stayed in a beachfront with 2 queens & kitchen on the 4 the story of the low rise building. Housekeeping staff was friendly and fast. The room was cleaned each morning while we had breakfast.
The beachfront location is a real treat. We walked everyday collecting shells and talking with other families. We saw rays, small fish & lots of birds. There were even people snorkeling around the rocks that come out about 50 or so feet from the beach next to the hotel. The beach sand is lovely, white & soft.
We're not pool people so I won't comment in that regard except to say that there are two pools, one for families with young children and one for adults. Both pools seemed popular and conveniently the Tiki Bar is located in between the two pool areas. Bar service was fast and friendly. We enjoyed a drink and appetizers during happy hour and enjoyed a Penn State game on one of the big screens. Ping pong tables were popular with the kids.
I have to mention the cleanliness of the beach, pool areas and the poolside restrooms. Attendants circulated through these areas all day keeping things orderly and clean.
Plenty of towels for everyone and never had a problem finding chairs on the beach. The hotel even has select beach toys you can sign out to use. If needed, guests can also rent umbrellas.
No doubt we will stay again when we're in Sarasota in the future.

Room Tip: Beachfront is the only way to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shellgrabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your detailed review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am certain other travelers will find your review helpful. I appreciate your continued patronage of the hotel and look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great 2 night stay, in ocean front junior suite with kitchenette on 10th Floor. Great proximity to fitness centre on 9th floor. Wonderful views of water. Spacious room, with small kitchen, no oven, small dining area and reasonable sized bathroom, with seperate shower and bath. Bathroom showing signs of wear, updating required. Some issues with cracked floor tiles in both bathroom and living space.Well located near restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Request beachfront suite in tall tower with kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am pleased you enjoyed the location and the view. I certainly apologize for the issues you mentioned. We are working towards a full room renovation and will be sharing that information when ready. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Lido Beach Resort offered everything we expected! Parking on premises, comfort, cleanliness, polite and professional
staff, super room service and the best view of the Gulf!!!! Pool and beach area was clean, food and drink service by the pool was great!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dziunka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our first visit to Lido Beach Resort won't be our last. The property is just beautiful. I read where it was outdated but we didn't see it. When we checked in they said they said they had no more junior suites but they had upgraded us to a full suite. It was gorgeous! We did eat breakfast the first day, and while it was good , it was also 45 dollars. Honestly, our all you can eat buffets in Vegas are cheaper. We went to a grocery store and ate breakfast in. The Tiki Bar was very nice and the guys working were congenial and made a mean rum runner. The nachos ruled too! We had a slight issue with or car when we checked in and Gary was extremely kind. We will be back!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room in the south tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and will return in the future. We certainly look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A Breathtaking and Romantic view of the Gulf Of Mexico ocean from our balcony! Our room faces west side of the hotel and hubby and I enjoyed the Picturesque view of the Sunset as well! Stayed in the beachfront jr. suite w/ king size bedroom, has fully equipped mini kitchen including utensils, pots pans, cups etc.
The room is like a small studio.
We stayed on the South Tower which is the taller and 'newer' of the two bldgs.
Only downside was the bathroom- much needed updating. Minor cracks and leaks on the bathroom tiles, walls and fixtures and shower stall.
Hotel is about quarter mile to St. Armands Circle, not a bad walk from the hotel if you are in excellent shape. Hotel offers shuttle bus services.
Two main restaurants in hotel:
Lido Beach Grille has great food. Has lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch.
Cafe Lido I would pass. Breakfast not too good either.
Full Tiki Bar pool side.
Our trip was mid November so not too crowded at all. Hotel beach has white sands and you can enjoy walking down the beach to the adjoining hotels/resorts.
Didn't spend too much time in the water due to stingrays or crabs or fishes along the shoreline.
Hotel is perfect location for driving to Longboat Key side or Siesta Key.
Hotel property overall is kept clean. There are two pools and three small jacuzzis by the tiki bar.
One small gift shop in the lobby.
Hotel staff are courteous and friendly.
We had an excellent, relaxing, quiet and much needed vacation!


  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1ara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for your very detailed and thorough review of the Lido Beach Resort. We certainly appreciate the "10 stars". I certainly apologize for the items you mentioned not being up to standard but will certainly use your comments to improve in these areas. Thank you again for your review and for choosing the Lido Beach Resort for your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent six nights here and had a wonderful time. Some reviews here say that the property is dated, and there are a few dings around the edges, but overall its still quite nice. Any problems with the physical plant are more than made up for by the staff. Starting with Andrew, who helped us at check-in ( he even left the desk and brought our room key out to the parking garage) we had nothing but great experiences with the staff. Another nice bonus is the van which will take you to St Armands and then pick you up when you call. Our room was a 12 floor with a small kitchen that faced the Gulf and had a balcony with a killer view of sunsets. All and all, I was extremely satisfied with our stay here.

Room Tip: We booked through AAA and had an absolutely PRIMO room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort and for recognizing one of our many outstanding staff members. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,556 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 50 in Sarasota
938 reviews
4.7 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £174 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing