We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, rude staff, dirty pool” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lido Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, rude staff, dirty pool”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

I was so disappointed with the Lido Beach Resort that I have joined this forum specifically to let everybody know about my families stay at this hotel. I have never done this before.

Our experience (for a 4* hotel) was poor from the moment that we pulled up. There was nobody to help with our luggage and despite it being 3.30 the room was not ready. Both C & M on reception were unfriendly and unhelpful. Questions about the wait time for a room were met with a shrug of the shoulders and a "it will be ready when it's ready" attitude. We had to keep checking back in with reception to see if our room was finally ready. Dire customer service.

The room was an average size. With the exception of a new LCD TV the room was tired and in need of modernisation. The kitchenette was bizarely stocked 2 cups, 7 glasses, 5 salad plates...you probably get the picture! The coffee pot did not fit the machine! Come on guys this is basic attention to detail!

The landing was littered with cigarette ends. For heavens sake exercise a smoking policy throughout the hotel.

Being a family we had to use the dirty family pool. The water was cloudy and the efforts of an employee with a net was never going to sort out the problem. The pool area was full... but not of kids. It was packed with a large group of good humoured but very drunk and noisey adults...in excess of 20. Cocktails and beer were being consumed at pace in the pool itself. We were very unhappy with this as the staff seemed quite content for this to continue. I was not expecting at Frat Party atmosphere when booking.

Lastly will somebody clean the pond that runs between the two buildings. The dark green swamp water is punctuated half dead plants and the occasional piece of trash. How anything lives in this is a miracle... more of a science project than a water feature.

I notice the hotel has not bothered to answer recent comments and I am expecting the same arrogant shrug of the shoulders to this report. Would I recommend this hotel.. NO especially not at $225per night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retreatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I can certainly understand your disappointment after reading your comments. I am very sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. I would be more than happy to discuss all of your concerns. Please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you again for your comments, they are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    441
    229
    115
    68
See reviews for
464
533
23
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We have just returned from Florida to which we spen a couple of days in the Lido Beach Resort the location and the rooms are lovely our only problem to which we raised with the frontdesk on checking out was the blocked toilet and a underlying smell in the bathroom.The rooms generally were imaculate and the staff were very pleaseant.
We paid for an upgrade which was worth the views overlooking the Gulf.
We will definetly revisit on our return next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timsc-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very happy to hear how you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeland, fl
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

This was a nice resort but the hallways needed to be vacummed and the pool was so dirty that I couldn't enjoy it. That was the one real down fall for this resort the very dirty kids pool. The adult only pool was clean but the kids pool was so bad. They came and tried to clean it with the net didn't help. It is real to bad I would have gone back next year but the pool has turned me off.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mmw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay. I can assure you, your comments have been addressed. I am hopeful you will afford us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Very clean and comfortable suite. Wonderful Gulf view from the balcony. It was extremely hot when we were there, so we didn't take advantage of the pool or beach. The pool area was busy with families having a great time with their kids who didn't mind the 100+ heat index.
The Lido Beach Grille on the 8th floor was fantastic. We had breakfast and two dinners there. I had to have the Macadamia Nut Grouper both nights.
Staff was very friendly. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martraTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
Thank you for your kind words and review. We appreciate hearing from our guests and we look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Unfortunately, from the minute members of our VERY group checked in, we heard comments about the rude front desk. Being the people who picked this hotel for the over 25 families, we did not want to hear this and hoped it was not true. IT WAS!! They could not have been any more rude and un-feeling to my sick wife, if they tried. Working at the O'Hare Hyatt, for years in management, the front desk manager would not have lastest a day. When he left, the woman who checked my wife out, continued the rudeness. It was not a busy time at the front desk and even it if were being in the "hospitality" business should mean something, but no your people were just plain rude. Completely understanding you could not accommodate our needs, there was abolutely no reason to be so inconsiderate of a very sick woman in tears at your front desk. Honestly, thinking about it now - there truly is no excuse for this. Any attempt at an explaination will be a sad excuse and any apology will be just un-felt. (Wish we had these employee names)
And for the amazing veiws others are writing on this, beware - you will be charged the same price for the lower floors where you unfortunately cannot see. if you do still stay here, do your homework about the prices, there are lower rates on the internet than we given, get a room high up in the south tower (much more $$$), but nicer than others rooms and be prepared the unpleasant, rude front desk. Hopefully they will print this review and it will help someone!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitesox22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I am quite stunned and very sorry to hear you say our staff was rude to you, your wife, and your group. I would be more than happy to discuss your situation personally in an effort to ensure this type of event does not happen again. I am hopeful you will afford me the opportunity to make things right. I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you again for your comments and I apologize for any inconvenience the hotel may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

The pool area where the children were allowed to swim was littered with cups and beer cans. There was food all over the pool deck and the pool itself was dirty. During our stay we called the front desk at least five times to inform them of this and requested that the pool be cleaned. I truly believe that if we were not persistent in insisting that maintenance come have a look at the condition we would not have been able to allow our children in the water. I am disappointed and expected better service from a resort of this type.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALoRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the Lido Beach Resort. I can certainly understand your disappointment after reading your comments. I am very sorry for your inconveniece. The Lido Beach Resort takes great pride in the level of service and cleanliness we provide our guests. I will be sure to use your comments so we may improve our level of service. Thank you again for your comments, they are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

This place is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beach. The room looked out onto the two pools (one for families and one for adults) and the Gulf of Mexico. The beach was gorgeous. There is also a Tiki Bar in between the two pools with very friendly bartenders. The room was large and confortable with a very nice bathroom. Actually we have booked this hotel now 4 times in a row. There just is not a nicer place in the area. the staff is very friendly. The room was always cleaned quickly while we were at the beach for a couple of hours in the morning. St.. Armands Circle is 5 minutes away; you can either drive there or the hotel will shuttle you there. Unlimited shopping and restaurants to enjoy while you are not on the beach or at the pool. Also downtown Sarasota had great restaurants, shops, antique stores and it is fun to explore that area for a change fomr the beach.
Thank you for another wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sscar1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
Thank you for sharing your comments and for your continued patronage of the Lido Beach Resort. We are so happy to hear how you enjoy your stays. We hope you will continue to come back in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experiences of the Lido Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Property: Lido Beach Resort
Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing