We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a trash can.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a trash can.”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My my my ,this place is disgusting,we booked a vacation to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.
I booked a suite which on entering reminded me of a foisty pool hall with two tables in it ( these doubled as the beds)
Black fungus creeping up the walls, skirtings all scuffed and in general a trash can.
The elevator was no better,grffitti skrawled into the panelling a sticky carpet and it stank,it would have been at home on a construction site.
Reception was dated and tatty and also had an overiding cold feeling about it and not at all welcoming.
Whilst sat waiting for our room there were numerous folks complaining about all manner of things and i literally felt embarrassed for the staff who attempted to justify this dumps suitability.( the parkin lot was cleaner than the hotel)
This place really is an ecoli outbreak waiting to happen) STAY AWAY
The best thing about our stay here was the refund of our money which was repaid without questioning why. we felt this way,i guess they refund on a regular basis .
A 2 hour stay was more than enough

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spenner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Lots of changes here since September of 2010! We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    412
    199
    82
    43
See reviews for
309
446
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I was lucky enough to have to take a business trip and visit Mote Marine at their laboratory. This hotel was an extreme value and right on the beach of Lido Key. Not only that, you could walk to the little town center. I highly recommend it if staying in Lido.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brettsky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
We love Mote Marine! So glad that you picked us! We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherrill, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

During our recent trip to Florida we drove to the Sarasota area and found this hotel on Priceline. The rate was good and the hotel has a great location on Lido Beach. The staff was welcoming and the room was ok. The bed was comfortable, but the rooms need a bit of upgrading. There was a damp smell when you first walk in, but my wife travels with Fabreeze and quickly sprayed to neutralize! The a/c did not work too good but it was ok for the stay. If they upgrade and spend a bit on the property it is well worth returning to.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailfish91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
We are so happy you found our location and our team so pleasing! We work hard to take care of our guests, and we have a spot that can not be beat! Working towards a "facelift"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn at lido beach through priceline and had a fairly good time at this hotel. It is a little dated but the room was clean. Some rusting/green areas in drains, which isnt unusual. Other than that, it was good. front desk staff was a little bit rude but we did encounter one very nice person. The tiki bar is decent. Noise next door was a little loud. As far as the location goes, its right by the beach and the beach is nice. The area is more suited to older people/families with children but we still had a good time. Daquiri deck was a pretty cool place (St. Armands circle) for the younger, but of age crowd. We enjoyed drinks there. We thought there was a shuttle, but there isnt. Taxi service was decent though.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetbabyglitrgrl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
We appreciate your feed back. Not too happy to know that you only met one nice person at our service desk. That is changing! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

GREAT LOCATION across the street from Lido Beach. Hotel shows a little age but the king waterview room that we had was very big. Flat screen 32 inch TV big bed lots of pillows. Some things that I didn't like: A/C did not work well and the room always seemed warm. The coffee maker worked very slow and there was no tea only coffee. Clock radio looked like something from the 1980's had no AUX plug in for IPAD music. Also work area was very small and I had to unplug a lamp a get a open plug.
I am a Prioity club member so the price and location were good. I wish Holiday Inn would upgrade this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for water view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaZowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Modern Electronics now on our list! Thank you for sharing that one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Location is across from the beach and near
St Armands Cir. The hotel is outdated and poorly maintained. There was an odor in Lobby and hallways that was overpowering with deoderizer. Paint peeling and flaking in very small barhroom. Furniture old with broken draw handles nicks and stains. Pool much smaller than shown in picture and not an attractive area. Balcony chairs and tables cheap flimsy plastic. The staff was pleasant. Would never recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Janc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased that you liked our location and found our staff welcoming. We are aware of the needs of the property and are taking steps towards making necessary improvements. We are certain that you will see changes on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This is an older Holiday Inn that has seen some wear and tear. That being said it is kept up very nicely and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and always helpful. We were here during the summer off season and getting early checkin and late check out was not a problem and, in fact, they were quite nice about it. That may not be the case in season when it is more crowded. We had a room with a beach view and balcony. The wi fi was also very good but you needed to sign back in each time you used it. The beach is directly across the street and the hotel has beach chairs and towels for the guests use. Beach is really great; one of the best anywhere. The pool was nice and clean and they were cooking hamburgers and hot dogs on the open grill on the week-end. The hotel has a restaurant that we only used for breakfast and it was good. The location of this hotel is great as it is not only beachfron but within walking distance of St. Armounds circle where all of the nice shops and restaurants are situated. The price during off season was reasonable and all in all we were very happy with all of the accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you for the great feedback! We are always happy to know that our guests are well taken care of by our team! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,023 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
914 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing